Hanging out with intelligent friends makes children smarter
sinoboy:
To me there is a difference between promotion for overseas scholars and grads and local grads. Overseas scholars and grad promotion is an entitlement and it's assumed they can do no wrong. NATO never mind, just talk more to be more high profile and promotion will be faster. Judge by basic degree or MBA can already no need to look at capability. To the local grads they will say promotion is based on merits and you have to earn it by having right EQ and delivering results as we are a meritocrazy system. It's competition at different level and it happens year in year out. If given a choice I want to study overseas and have priority treatment also, right? :lightrod:[/quote]Sinoboy, given your strong view about overseas education, are you planning to sponsor your DC for an overseas education? since you are a parent now.
Perhaps we need to temper our observations with the fact that overseas scholars probably have more to prove to themselves and therefore work harder, which naturally means that they would seem to be more competent for that promotion. Unless, of course, we feel that they don't deserve the promotion because they are less capable than others?ChiefKiasu:
[quote=\"Joule\"]...
and yes, I agree that really, especially in govt and stat boards, the overseas scholars get promoted first.
... -
wonderm:
Yes and desperately saving up for DC to study overseas to ensure a higher chance for my DC to have a decent quality of life in the future. My DC already cannot compete with foreign kids in primary, secondary school and JC. Heard local uni already got a lot of foreign scholars paid to study here competing with locals. I might be wrong but if I don't arm my DC with an overseas degree, and given a few more years when population increase with influx of more qualified people, I don't think my DC can live comfortably. :scared:
Sinoboy, given your strong view about overseas education, are you planning to sponsor your DC for an overseas education? since you are a parent now. -
sinoboy:
There is one small problem. Not all overseas universities are equal. To get into the kind of overseas universities you want for your DC \"to ensure a higher chance to have a decent quality of life in the future\", your DC will have to compete with the same kind of foreign kids they \"already cannot compete with... in primary, secondary school and JC\". So how? :scratchhead:
Yes and desperately saving up for DC to study overseas to ensure a higher chance to have a decent quality of life in the future. My DC already cannot compete with foreign kids in primary, secondary school and JC. Heard local uni already got a lot of foreign scholars paid to study here. I might be wrong but if I don't arm my kids with an overseas degree, and given a few more years when population increase with influx of more qualified people, I don't think my kids can live comfortably. :scared:wonderm:
Sinoboy, given your strong view about overseas education, are you planning to sponsor your DC for an overseas education? since you are a parent now. -
pirate:
There is one small problem. Not all overseas universities are equal. To get into the kind of overseas universities you want for your DC \"to ensure a higher chance to have a decent quality of life in the future\", your DC will have to compete with the same kind of foreign kids they \"already cannot compete with... in primary, secondary school and JC\". So how? :scratchhead:[/quote]Good question. Not all overseas unis are equal. But in Singapore any kacang puteh university overseas degree from Europe, US, Australia is stronger than local ones, with the exception some protected segments like legal or medical profession. But somehow overseas trained lawyer or doctor also regarded as more qualified over here. Also a lot of people who experienced overseas education said foreign uni less stressful easier to compete because foreign kids don't study as hard so Singaporeans tend to do well even though they are mediocre back in Singapore. My DC are as hardworking and as kiasu as me so I think they would compete well overseas. Rather than letting my DC compete with fully paid Indian or Chinese scholars here to raise local uni standard, let the DC take a more relaxed path. After they come back from overseas they should climb faster and earn more than their peers. :celebrate:
Yes and desperately saving up for DC to study overseas to ensure a higher chance to have a decent quality of life in the future. My DC already cannot compete with foreign kids in primary, secondary school and JC. Heard local uni already got a lot of foreign scholars paid to study here. I might be wrong but if I don't arm my kids with an overseas degree, and given a few more years when population increase with influx of more qualified people, I don't think my kids can live comfortably. :scared:sinoboy:
[quote=\"wonderm\"]
pirate:
There is one small problem. Not all overseas universities are equal. To get into the kind of overseas universities you want for your DC \"to ensure a higher chance to have a decent quality of life in the future\", your DC will have to compete with the same kind of foreign kids they \"already cannot compete with... in primary, secondary school and JC\". So how? :scratchhead:[/quote]For a moment I was wondering if one can buy a place into those top foreign universities or any foreign university grad means more prospect than our local grads.
Yes and desperately saving up for DC to study overseas to ensure a higher chance to have a decent quality of life in the future. My DC already cannot compete with foreign kids in primary, secondary school and JC. Heard local uni already got a lot of foreign scholars paid to study here. I might be wrong but if I don't arm my kids with an overseas degree, and given a few more years when population increase with influx of more qualified people, I don't think my kids can live comfortably. :scared:sinoboy:
[quote=\"wonderm\"]
Sinoboy, given your strong view about overseas education, are you planning to sponsor your DC for an overseas education? since you are a parent now.
Dun scare me leh. :scared: i dun have means to send my kids overseas, so die die have to look at local Uni only. -
sinoboy:
Good question. Not all overseas unis are equal. But in Singapore any kacang puteh university overseas degree from Europe, US, Australia is stronger than local ones, with the exception some protected segments like legal or medical profession.
Alas, you are seriously misinformed. -
pirate:
...... I have seen too many overseas grads having hard time landing a job, especially those pumped-money-grads. Perhaps those are not in sinoboy's radarsinoboy:
Good question. Not all overseas unis are equal. But in Singapore any kacang puteh university overseas degree from Europe, US, Australia is stronger than local ones, with the exception some protected segments like legal or medical profession.
Alas, you are seriously misinformed.
..... yet!
pirate:
But I look at ranking for NUS and NTU not very the high leh internationally. Can't even find SMU. MP in parliament also a lot from overseas. Got local grads but those are doctors and lawyers. I confess that I didn't go overseas so I am not very qualified but these things tell me foreign better.sinoboy:
sinoboy:
But I look at ranking for NUS and NTU not very the high leh internationally. Can't even find SMU. MP in parliament also a lot from overseas. Got local grads but those are doctors and lawyers. I confess that I didn't go overseas so I am not very qualified but these things tell me foreign better.pirate:
[quote=\"sinoboy\"]Good question. Not all overseas unis are equal. But in Singapore any kacang puteh university overseas degree from Europe, US, Australia is stronger than local ones, with the exception some protected segments like legal or medical profession.
[/quote]I also think you are misinformed. I worked in a few MNCs before. Only overseas scholars are regarded higher than local grads. Overseas self funded grads are looked down upon because everybody knows that they cannot get into local universities so they have to use mummy and daddy's money to go overseas.
sinoboy:
Good question. Not all overseas unis are equal. But in Singapore any kacang puteh university overseas degree from Europe, US, Australia is stronger than local ones, with the exception some protected segments like legal or medical profession. But somehow overseas trained lawyer or doctor also regarded as more qualified over here.
You are mistaken. Those hiring in the big organisations know that there is a pecking order of overseas universities, and the university matters. Not all overseas universities are ranked ahead of local ones, and they also look at the 'A' level grades that the applicant got to get into the universities.sinoboy:
Again, it depends on the university. At the top overseas universities, many students there work extremely hard, not just Singaporeans or Asians, and Singaporeans are by no means the hardest workers or the highest scorers.Also a lot of people who experienced overseas education said foreign uni less stressful easier to compete because foreign kids don't study as hard so Singaporeans tend to do well even though they are mediocre back in Singapore.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.