Making A Will
heyhoe:
Did you have to seek permission from that relative before putting his/her name down as the guardian / trustee for the kids? I want to add this clause too in case the pple I don't like end up with my kids if we choi choi...Ours was just a simple will but we got it done thru the lawyers.
Besides our only property and CPF, our main reason was to ensure that our children are well taken care of by either one of our trusted siblings should something unfortunate happen to us.
Normally if no will, which side will they give the kids to? Father's side or mother's side? I will flip if my kids end up with my husband's weird bro... eeewww -
Hi cherrygal,
Yes, consent is a must.
I thought I’m the only one that is particular on who my kids ended up should something happen. Choi!
For your info, we chose 2 guardians - one from each family side. -
heyhoe:
Trustees must be able to manage the funds well. If they don't do properly, kids can sue them, example if they don't disburse funds timely and sufficiently for their needs and any other reasons that made life difficult for them.Hi cherrygal,
Yes, consent is a must.
I thought I'm the only one that is particular on who my kids ended up should something happen. Choi!
For your info, we chose 2 guardians - one from each family side.
Anyway as long as we start talking about will and insurance, all the choi choi situations start to get mentioned.
BTW, how does the IPTO register your Will. They give you some kind of registration number, then you paste on your will, or what? They don't keep a copy so how to prove the copy you have is the valid one. -
I made a will b4 marrying DH and I paid the lawyer $250. It was a simple will and the lawyer said I could do one myself using the same format the next time (old wills are void when you marry)just need to find 2 witnesses. Now that I have 2 kids I am going to rewrite a new will and will probably also attach pictures of my jewelry etc. As for the executor, I informed since you will need the NRIC number etc. DH is using an online template but it looks very vague & good thing he showed it to me first, he actually wrote 100% to his brother and 50% to each child and I was shocked. My dh thinks too much, what he thought is in the event that I died,and the kids also died then his bro gets everything. SIAO! You don’t put in this way I feel. Online templates can be quite misleading, I am using my own to make sure it is clear as crystal.
How can it be 200% le? Everything must add to 100%. Umm, tell DH no need to think so much, if he want to incorporate all this, it can be done, just add clauses. In event of death of 1,2,3, then the estate shall be divided into… This will complicate wills and I think lawyers should then be consulted. Don’t scarly choi choi happens and your kids get nothing (unless that was original intent).
Yes, each time there is change in family composition, should update will. -
Canvas:
I made a will b4 marrying DH and I paid the lawyer $250. It was a simple will and the lawyer said I could do one myself using the same format the next time (old wills are void when you marry)just need to find 2 witnesses. Now that I have 2 kids I am going to rewrite a new will and will probably also attach pictures of my jewelry etc. As for the executor, I informed since you will need the NRIC number etc. DH is using an online template but it looks very vague & good thing he showed it to me first, he actually wrote 100% to his brother and 50% to each child and I was shocked. My dh thinks too much, what he thought is in the event that I died,and the kids also died then his bro gets everything. SIAO! You don't put in this way I feel. Online templates can be quite misleading, I am using my own to make sure it is clear as crystal.
I am also thinking along the same line. Get lawyer to do the basic first, then after that I add my own residual clauses as an update.
Thanks for mentioning taking picture of jewelry. A picture speaks a thousand words. -
hquek, yalah! my eyes literally popped out! I asked DH what made him think that his 41yo brother will outlive our 10yo DS & 3yo DD... :stupid:
osim, what i intend to do is to attach a page of material assets but in their individual boxes, I will probably include a note (for e.g, diamond necklace for DD's 18th birthday etc) That is of course in case i go \"home\" earlier than I planned lah. The best scenario will be me being able to give away all of them to DD myself but no one knows what happens tmr.
Am going to make an appointment soon with my previous lawyer for DH. It is now high priority because DH is the sole bread winner. While we cannot have a joint will, at least our new wills will tally in terms of who takes care of our children in case we are gone suddenly and how our assets will be managed to make sure our children get their fair share. A will is mostly straight forward, just have to make sure to include the important points (assets, beneficiaries, trustee, executor etc). -
Canvas,
Thanks for sharing, I see you are very 细心. Agree your hubby’s idea was quite strange. -
Thanks for your compliment, osim :oops:
Anyone knows if you can appoint law firm or a neutral organization (instead of individuals) as trustees?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.