Making A Will

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    23 Posts 8 Posters 22.4k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

How can it be 200% le? Everything must add to 100%. Umm, tell DH no need to think so much, if he want to incorporate all this, it can be done, just add clauses. In event of death of 1,2,3, then the estate shall be divided into… This will complicate wills and I think lawyers should then be consulted. Don’t scarly choi choi happens and your kids get nothing (unless that was original intent).

Yes, each time there is change in family composition, should update will.

• O Offline
        osim

Canvas:
        I made a will b4 marrying DH and I paid the lawyer $250. It was a simple will and the lawyer said I could do one myself using the same format the next time (old wills are void when you marry)just need to find 2 witnesses. Now that I have 2 kids I am going to rewrite a new will and will probably also attach pictures of my jewelry etc. As for the executor, I informed since you will need the NRIC number etc. DH is using an online template but it looks very vague & good thing he showed it to me first, he actually wrote 100% to his brother and 50% to each child and I was shocked. My dh thinks too much, what he thought is in the event that I died,and the kids also died then his bro gets everything. SIAO! You don't put in this way I feel. Online templates can be quite misleading, I am using my own to make sure it is clear as crystal.

I am also thinking along the same line. Get lawyer to do the basic first, then after that I add my own residual clauses as an update.

Thanks for mentioning taking picture of jewelry. A picture speaks a thousand words.

Canvas

hquek, yalah! my eyes literally popped out! I asked DH what made him think that his 41yo brother will outlive our 10yo DS & 3yo DD... :stupid:

osim, what i intend to do is to attach a page of material assets but in their individual boxes, I will probably include a note (for e.g, diamond necklace for DD's 18th birthday etc) That is of course in case i go \"home\" earlier than I planned lah. The best scenario will be me being able to give away all of them to DD myself but no one knows what happens tmr. 😓

Am going to make an appointment soon with my previous lawyer for DH. It is now high priority because DH is the sole bread winner. While we cannot have a joint will, at least our new wills will tally in terms of who takes care of our children in case we are gone suddenly and how our assets will be managed to make sure our children get their fair share. A will is mostly straight forward, just have to make sure to include the important points (assets, beneficiaries, trustee, executor etc).

• O Offline
            osim

Canvas,

Thanks for sharing, I see you are very 细心. Agree your hubby’s idea was quite strange.

Canvas

Thanks for your compliment, osim :oops:

radiantmum

Anyone knows if you can appoint law firm or a neutral organization (instead of individuals) as trustees?

pacetone

osim:
                  BTW, how does the IPTO register your Will. They give you some kind of registration number, then you paste on your will, or what? They don't keep a copy so how to prove the copy you have is the valid one.

I'm keen to know this part too, can anybody help?

TIA

If you own a hdb flat, and inherit another hdb flat, need to sell off one?

If sell off the inherit hdb flat, will part of the money bounce back to parent’s cpf account and distribute to siblings?

• O Offline
                      osim

Www:

If sell off the inherit hdb flat, will part of the money bounce back to parent's cpf account and distribute to siblings?
                      I am not sure but I don't think you need to sell off the inherited flat as you don't inherit the flat per se but you inherit the money when the asset is liquidated.

Those who inherit this asset has to agree to sell and the money is distributed according to the dead person's will or whatever rule applies for someone who died intestate.

osim:
                        Www:

If sell off the inherit hdb flat, will part of the money bounce back to parent's cpf account and distribute to siblings?

I am not sure but I don't think you need to sell off the inherited flat as you don't inherit the flat per se but you inherit the money when the asset is liquidated.

Those who inherit this asset has to agree to sell and the money is distributed according to the dead person's will or whatever rule applies for someone who died intestate.

http://askhdb.hdb.gov.sg/FA/Hybrid/Themes/HDB/displayresult.asp?MesId=4671012
                        Not allow to own 2 hdb flat after inherit.

Anyone knows if sell off the inherit hdb, will the money bounce into the parents' cpf account and then distribute according to the cpf will made?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3