books for 10-12 year old boys

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    41 Posts 17 Posters 65.8k Views 1 Watching
      Attolia

heyhoe:

Heyhoe,

My boy likes books with weird sense of humour too. Like lemony snicket style. Can you recommend some of such books? Thanks!
      His list of likes includes The Templeton Twins by Ellis Weiner, The Genius Files series by Dan Gutman.

Hi Jedamum,

My ds likes Big Nate. It is more of comics so I will not really encourage that.

He read these books from the library recently:-
      1) Flying Thumbs by Steve Cole
      2) Time Catcher by Marie-Louise Fitzpatrick
      3) A beet around my bum by Willy Waggle Edangger.

Really weird :slapshead:

I used to love Paul Jennings' books when I was younger. They were so weird. Do kids still read those?

reiner:
        kpo here...

hi jedamum,

can show the pics of the Guardians of Childhood series?
        Reiner
        The books are under JS section in the library, not J section.

http://www.theguardiansofchildhoodbooks.com/north.php

happyheart

psst, the best library I find for kids books is at Geylang East library. they have a big space and plenty of available books. Now cat is out of the bag, I probably can't count on that place anymore. Another place I feel got a lot of kids books is at Jurong - but it's far for me.

Yes agree 😉 We visit library regulary and my both my kids like Geylang East library the best!

keroppi

happyheart:

psst, the best library I find for kids books is at Geylang East library. they have a big space and plenty of available books. Now cat is out of the bag, I probably can't count on that place anymore. Another place I feel got a lot of kids books is at Jurong - but it's far for me.

Yes agree 😉 We visit library regulary and my both my kids like Geylang East library the best!

Can share where you park your car? Is there a carpark nearby? Thinking of checking the place out tonight with my boy if I'm not going for a movie. Thanks!

By the way, the library my kids and I like best is the Queenstown library. Boh nan one ... we usualy can find all the books there.

hquek

There is a HDB carpark behind the library, quite big but some lots are red - so be careful where you place your car.

If you going for makan, can always park near the Aljunied mrt - there is a pretty good Penang food ‘restaurant’ along the stretch where 7-11 is. Can’t recall if parking is free after 5pm.

Queenstown I think is quite ok but we seldom go there because parking seems tough and it’s far for us (not sure if this has changed, last time we were there was a few years back). Think Jurong library tops the list of variety of books - but that one too far. I went once when I visited Science Centre…big big…

keroppi

Thanks, hquek. Will bear in mind.

Thanks also for the restaurant recommendation, we're
                running out of eating places to go to on weekends.
                I'll check out the restaurant another time perhaps, so
                scared that I'll get lost.

Not sure if Geylang East is safe at late. :skeptical:

hquek

That part of geylang east is safe lah…if you are referring to the roaming chickens. Should you go to that penang restaurant to eat (it’s quite near the mrt station), from the station, just walk diagonally across a field towards the library. it’s a bit quiet but definitely safe. just watch out for the cyclists on the road.

Shan

Shan:

My 12 yrs old son likes Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket as well.

Now he is into 39 Clues series.

Shan,
                    My 11 yr old is not into 39 Clues.
                    Lemony has a new book - All the Wrong Questions.

Thanks, Jedamum. Got that book but DS have not touch it cos busy reading 39 clues.

Yes, DS also enjoyed reading The Indian In the Cupboard series by Lynne Reid Banks.

sundaymorning

Thanks hquek for your recommendation 🙂

takedad

My kids like 'The Magic Car Bed'

http://Www.fathtag.com

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 5