PCF/PAP Kindergartens

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    888 Posts 230 Posters 522.1k Views 1 Watching
      spring

Hey mrswongtuition,

Thanks for ur reply regarding blk 103 pcf kindy! I hav only been to blk 124 and 103, and found 103 to be better. Do you hav any pcf kindy to recommend in sk/pg/hg area, so tat i can go hav a look? The one at punggol blk 303, do they hav N1 class?

mrswongtuition:
        Hey Buds,

Yeah, starting to find my faith in PCF after visiting many many many pCFs in HG/SK/PG area. But I'm very particular about many things & so far some are really not up to standard 😛

But my hb also has no faith in PCF & he said that if he were to enrol my boy in PCF, he'll definitely give him alot of enrichments.
        Can share what are the particular things? :evil:

mrswongtuition

1. Quality of Principal - Some of them have great love for the kids, but no management skills or forsight. Some of them totally lack the love, can tell from their attitudes.

2. Quality of teachers - Some centres have very old teachers who still cling on to traditional methods of teaching & punishments. Very disturbing.

3. Hygiene - Noticed some centres do not have a proper pantry area to clean the kid’s utensils for tea break. Noticed very dirty food prep areas too. I noticed some centres actually do a ‘wipe down’ before the commencement of the next session. This is more hygienic as the kids need not have physical contact to pass diseases.

4. Classroom decoration/Letters to parents - Spotted many basic spelling errors. I’m alright with the occasional errors but with techonology, letters to parents or publications like newsletters should not have errors in them.

5. Time allocation/classroom management - Some of very terrible timetables. Their activities are in 45min - 1 hour blocks. At that age, the suitable time frame is 30min per activity & move on. Even primary schools tries to keep it to 30min per period! Some centres have great timetables but the teachers do not have good classroom management skills and alot of time is wasted ‘waiting’ for the next activity to happen. Could be due to lack of teacher assistants?

6. Lesson content - I requested to see their lesson plans for the whole year. Some readily dished out a set & explained, some were hesitant (most likely, ill-prepared). Those that were hesitant were not able to give me specific examples of what is being taught in lessons but just kept repeating that they follow PCF’s syllabus and the kids will be well-prepared for P1. Some were very willing to show me student’s works, their workbooks and explain about any external systems they are adopting (Jolly Phonics, Ednoland, etc).

There were some principals that even asked me for suggestions and improvements upon finding out that I’m a teacher. They were very open to suggestions to improve their centre & they were even taking down notes when I suggested that they update themselves on the standards of P1 by looking at assessment books & past year papers. Some even asked me where to get the past year papers and which assessment books they should look at.

So it’s not that all PCFs are not good. It’s highly dependant on the P and the staff there.

ky_har

Hi

I’m moving to springside estate. Does anyone know where is the nearest PCF kindergarten ? Preferably with direct bus there. The buses i have are :

167, 169, 980.

Or any other nursery or K that you recommend near there ?

Thanks

chixchix

Hii all my boy will be starting first day tomorrow for K1 but I wasnt informed whether he needs to report to school in white shoes or not… i was just told they dont have to bring a bag to school as all worksheets will be in school.

Any idea about the shoes ??

Also, can anyone share what they learn for English & Maths so that I can coach him at home…when I asked the school teachers, they said they were not sure as the whole syllabus had changed.

Champion

chixchix:
                Hii all my boy will be starting first day tomorrow for K1 but I wasnt informed whether he needs to report to school in white shoes or not.. i was just told they dont have to bring a bag to school as all worksheets will be in school.

Any idea about the shoes ??

Also, can anyone share what they learn for English & Maths so that I can coach him at home..when I asked the school teachers, they said they were not sure as the whole syllabus had changed.
                Hi Hi! My 2nd gal will be starting her K1 as well; she will be at PCF Boon Lay Blk 262. I understand from the teacher that children are required to wear white shoes with white socks or the PCF socks purchase from the school.

On the 1st day, i.e. tomorrow - they are required to bring back all the books with Name and Class written on and give them to the teacher for safe keeping. The school did give up a leaftlet saying that tomorrow will be just orientation day and the teachers will be able to answer to parents queries. Thus, I think you may be able to know from the teacher the syallabus that they will be learning. As far as I know, the teacher will paste the syallbus to be taught in the 1st semester on the handbook later.

little doggie

Hi

my son studying in N + E3 at blk 662B Jurong west, he need not wear white school nor wear sock leh.

tamarind

mrswongtuition:

So it's not that all PCFs are not good. It's highly dependant on the P and the staff there.
                    I totally agree. My girl's teacher Jenny at JW Blk 662B PCF was the best pre-school teacher I have every encountered. I am very satisfied with what she taught and how she handled the kids. She even taught the entire P1 maths syllabus 😛 Sadly, she has already left that kindergarten. I don't think new teachers will be as good as her.

My younger son is now in another PCF full day kindergarten, from 8am to 5pm. He has one hour nap time in the afternoon. It is still too early to tell whether it is good or not. But my boy seems to enjoy his school. The teacher is not the very loving type but I am fine, because my boy needs someone \"fierce\" to control him.

Charmaine_chong

Hi Tamarind,

May i know how much do you pay PCF for your son since he is on full day course?

I am considering to put my son in full day if there is a good one near Geylang/Macpherson area. Yet to find out.

The PCF that my son enters (Geylang Serai Blk 31) cost only $50 a month. I am not sure about the standard yet. When asked the principal, she wasn’t willing to talk much. Her answer is always it depends, not sure, dun know yet.

The teachers don’t speak very well in English. Only soso.

I am watching closely.

tamarind

Charmaine,

I pay about $350 per month, it is like a childcare center, except that they don't bathe the kids.

You will need to speak to your son's teacher directly to find out more. The principal doesn't teach, so she will not know. Different PCF kindergarten have very different standards, you need to follow up with what your son is learning very closely.

I send my kids to kindergarten purely for social interaction, so I did not even ask the teacher what they were going to teach when my kids first started 😉 We get what we pay for lah, I did not expect much when I was paying only $100+ last year for his half day K1 class. So long as the teacher is nice to him, then I am happy. My girl's PCF kindergarten was $250+ per month, so they were definitely better.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 38 / 89

Sleep1essmumS
                        Sleep1essmum