Share your labour experience
My second labour experience was so much better. This time, I knew I wanted an epidural without waiting for the nurses to suggest it. (The last time, they did so cos the labour was sooo long, they were afraid I couldn't rest and have enough energy to push later; they were right though.)
I had a show 4 days before DD2 was due so I calmly called the clinic and was told to wait for other signs like cramps, contractions, water bag bursting, etc. I wasn't sure when DD2 would choose to come, especially after the bleeding stopped, so to prevent myself from becoming dehydrated and starved like the first time, I told myself constantly, \"If need to eat, go eat; if need to use toilet/shower, do it now!\" Thank goodness for that. I had an early dinner at 5:30pm and soon after that, the cramps started. Luckily, the clinic was still open when I called them and the nurse just told me to keep track of the contractions even though I said there was no pain yet.
Now, earlier in the day, I called sashimi after I called the clinic about my bloody show and he immediately asked me if I needed him to return home. I told him no point, and I was right. Luckily, DD1 was with my PILs that day and would only be returning at night.
By the time sashimi returned home, I was propped up on my bed with my notebook and a clock next to me to track the contractions. After the cramps, the pain gradually came and intensified. However, I told sashimi to go have his shower and dinner first. He did so but he was rather skeptical since I tahan pain quite well (no screaming, etc) and he reminded me that for my first time, I didn't even know I was in actual labour (I thought they were false contractions mah). So he went to contact his parents and I slowly changed my clothes and packed the last essential stuff into my bag.
At 8+pm, PILs arrived and we headed for the hospital. Luckily, it was after peak hours and it was a Monday cos earlier on, I heard on the radio that there was a traffic jam near the hospital. At 9+pm, I reached the hospital and refused the offer of a wheelchair this time. I just walked slowly to the delivery suite. (I really must applaud the hospital for using the pre-registration method nowadays; last time still must wait for staff to direct me and sashimi had tonnes of paperwork while I was in labour.)
Staff said only DH allowed to stay in delivery room so sashimi had to pacify DD1 before she willingly went off with my PILs. This time, I knew what I wanted (epidural, not gas cos I hate nausea) so I requested early. My doc was out of town but I was told beforehand who would take over. The doc who saw to me was (IMHO) much nicer than my usual doc.
Even the doc who came to do the epidural was very experienced and motherly so I recovered so much faster this time. Unlike autumnbronze, I knew I wanted to rest instead of an active birth and this time round, I did get to rest. (Yay, me! :lol: )
Unfortunately, doc suspected that DD2 was distressed so she broke the water bag to check. Sure enough, she said that there was meconium. Later on, DD2's heart rate plunged and doc told me to be prepared mentally for an emergency c-section. My heart sank as I didn't want one but I nodded my head since I knew it was best for DD2. My contractions by then were not close enough nor was I fully dilated so that was the best option. Fortunately, soon after that DD2's heart rate shot up miraculously and stayed up. We were relieved and the doc tried to help me speed up the dilation manually.
What followed was a blur. I only remembered that labour was much easier this time even though I couldn't feel the contractions. The difference is that I knew how and where to push so labour was halved.
This meant no forceps/ventouse and so far, my recovery is faster (according to sashimi). I had stitches again but this time, I didn't feel the needle going in and out. Phew! I didn't want to relieve that sensation again. :roll:
Even though labour, delivery and recovery were much better this time, sashimi and I agree that we shall have no more. I think DD1 agrees too. I even asked the doc when I could use Mirena again. :lol: -
I can't remember mine in exact details but remembered that it was lots of pain (even after epidural) and the nobody tells me before that delivery can be sooooo long even after water bag breaks! When my DS is out, first comment from the gynae was she didn't expect (bb) to be so big for my size & at that moment, I remembered felt like beating her (for the \"sufferings\" ) ... just couldn't find a rod near my bed

Wah, I'm impressed by all the mothers who can remember lots of details about their births!
For all three of mine, I can only recall the mad dashes through ice and snow to the hospital (always winter!), hollering at dh to drive carefully and not to ask stupid questions such as \"Are you all right?!\" and lots of pain! And I always had quite a crowd around watching because it was a teaching hospital and I went for the less common (where we were) unmedicated births i.e. no epidural etc. -
of my three deliveries, my second one was most memorable..
1st dd : normal delivery about 12 hours. Bliss after epi, but because was too numb, could not feel contractions and could not push. So epi was turned off
. was in pain for about half an hour bef dd came out.
2nd dd : normal delivery. I know second and subsequent labour will usually be fast, so i was prepared to go in early. My water bag broke at 5am and contractions started within 5 min. Quickly woke dh up (he dutifully did). Made tea for him (he needs the caffeine to drive) and sat down on the sofa to wait.
dh : should i bring my manual camera or digital camera?
me : anything la.
more waiting ....
dh : did you see my digital camera?
me : dunno la. dunno where you put.
more scurrying around ..... getting more painful....
dh : found it. eh.... CF card very full leh, got time to download or not?
me : ok la, hurry up la... :faint:
more waiting... pain getting really bad, cannot stand up already...
me : why you download so long?
dh : finish already. but stuck at the shut down screen, i think computer hang.
me : JUST LEAVE IT AND GO!!!! :x
when we reached hospital, already very dilated. no time for any pain relief (only can use laughing gas, but i hated it so didn't use). dd2 was out within half an hour.
3rd dd : normal delivery. 2 hours. this time dh learnt his lesson, made sure his camera bag packed and card ready. made it to hospital much earlier. because of previous short labour, gynae and dh talked me out of epi. was glad they did so, because the post-delivery recovery was much faster :celebrate:
haiz.... men -
waynemum:
Girlmum, waynemum,
U had 30 stichs, guess mine?girlmum:
I had 30 OVER STITCHES. Guess what I told doc after hearing, \"Doc, are u doing embroidery?\" He was like :!:
It took the doctor more than 4 hours to do the stiches!!!!
In my daze mode, i heard the doc telling the other doc that this is the worst tear she had ever seen in her life!
And u guess what?! She was talking on the mobile while doing stiches for me at the same time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And she even walked in and out of the ward to answer phone call. Th other doctor beside her nvr say anything and she was there to learn and i even heard the doc doing stiches for me ask the learning doc: U wanna try? I grabbed the doc hand and told her: No! U do it!
After the incident, i always joke abt it with my DH and said the doc had stich up my _ _ _ _ _ _!
Sorry abt the post delivery experience of yours.
My gynae/obs also mentioned to DH that I had a bad tear (i did not opt for episiotomy, btw) but she did not tell me how bad or how many stitches when I asked her. The impression I got from her attitude was like \"its all over, just focus on the now ie baby.\" So I just let it be. All I remember of that period was holding and cuddling the baby while she was stitching. After, she advised me to sit on a tub of water filled with salt to allow the healing to be faster. -
waynemum:
4 hours!! :!: she stitching flowers arh?
It took the doctor more than 4 hours to do the stiches!!!!
In my daze mode, i heard the doc telling the other doc that this is the worst tear she had ever seen in her life!
And u guess what?! She was talking on the mobile while doing stiches for me at the same time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And she even walked in and out of the ward to answer phone call. Th other doctor beside her nvr say anything and she was there to learn and i even heard the doc doing stiches for me ask the learning doc: U wanna try? I grabbed the doc hand and told her: No! U do it!
I recall during my first delivery, they prepared my arm for drip. This young doctor came in and poked and all - it was a bit painful but I thought that was natural. Much later on, an experienced nurse came in, saw the doctor's handiwork and told me she'll adjust it so that I cannot feel it. At that time blur like sotong, but it's true, there is a painless way about it. I love these experienced midwives!!!!
Anyway, first labour took 24hours in delivery ward. First 18 without epidural. I kept hearing babies cry and wondered when will be my turn. After 18 hours, still 3cm dilated. I gave up and went on epidural. Then things went on much faster and smoother although I had to imagine baby coming out.
2nd labour was induced. Total leadtime was 3.5hours. This time without epidural. Midwife kept asking if I wanted, I wavered but hubby kept insisting not to opt for it. The feeling when baby comes out - priceless!
Also months after first delivery (with epidural), there was a niggling back pain; but there wasn't after the 2nd. -
From starting of contraction till birth, its about 15 hours. Had epidural and dd was forceps out with a tong looking thingy. So it actually left two marks beside her eyes but eventually disapper after all these years. Lucky, if not I would be guilty forever.
I remember, I kept telling hubby, \"very pain, very pain\". Hubby kept answering \"I know, I know\". Throughout the whole night, that was our main conversation.
Then I sent hubby to ask my mum (she was waiting outside), what to do as I was very pain. He came back with this reply \"Your mum say, its like that one.\" ** faint **
Highlights of the whole process. When dd was out, gyne throw her on my tummy - nice warm feeling because I have been feeling cold all the while.
When I saw dd at the first sight, I was thinking \"why dd so purplish? Like newborn piglets and rabbit\". From my understanding, after baby come out, mummy should not feel pain anymore but I was still in deep pain. Not long after, gyne told me, my placental was stuck inside, it did not come out. He asked me to bear with the pain for a while more as he was going to put his hand in to remove it. The whole process was fast and tata, there gone the pain. I felt so relieved!
My mum told me before, when she gave birth to me, her placental also stuck inside. At that time, she was frightened to death because the junior midwife told her \"Auntie, sorry, I not purposely one hor, your placental stuck inside\". The she went to look for an experienced midwife and they managed to remove the placental out. -
I must really thank God that both my labours were short. Really short.
For #1, waterbag burst at around 8pm (after I had finished my dinner at my in-laws and suddenly felt myself leaking). Actually thought I had loose bladder and that it was urine. Then realise that it cannot be the case since I never had that problem before. Unfortunately, hubby was out for dinner with friends then. So I took a quick shower, had a bottle of brands essence (thought I would need the extra perk since don't know how long I would be in labour) and called him to rush back.
Was at hospital by 9pm. By then contractions started and then it got too painful that I did not allow mid-wife to check the dilation. Did not want any painkiller except the gas but it did not help so midwife had to call the gynae to persuade me to let her check. after a discussion (amidst all the pain) I finally agreed to the epidural (cannot tahan the pain). By which time, I was already 8cm dilated. Midwife commented that actually I don't need the epidural if she knew I was already 8cm :stupid:
Shortly after that, gynae came and then #1 popped out at 11.35pm, 3.5 hrs after waterbag burst. Everyone was stunned at how short the entire process was since it was the 1st time for me and #1 was a big baby. Even gynae said, \"see, big baby right? told you to control your weight! \" and midwife said,\" wah, your labour so short/easy. can consider #2 'cos will even be shorter.\" :x
For #2, had some bleeding so I checked myself in after dinner. but no contractions and was only 1 cm dilated throughout the night but as baby's heartbeat was really low, gynae became worried. So was induced at around 7+/8am before his clinic was opened. 2.5 hrs later, #2 pop-ed out. No painkiller used except gas mask.
So my labours are relatively short affairs -- like shelling peas!

ponyo:
So envy !!!!!
So my labours are relatively short affairs -- like shelling peas!

tired mom:
dh : should i bring my manual camera or digital camera?
me : anything la.
more waiting ....
dh : did you see my digital camera?
me : dunno la. dunno where you put.
more scurrying around ..... getting more painful....
dh : found it. eh.... CF card very full leh, got time to download or not?
me : ok la, hurry up la... :faint:
more waiting... pain getting really bad, cannot stand up already...
me : why you download so long?
dh : finish already. but stuck at the shut down screen, i think computer hang.
me : JUST LEAVE IT AND GO!!!! :x
haiz.... men
:faint: Yeah lor, men! :siao:
Anyway during labour no cameras are allowed right? I can't rem for DD1 but for DD2 the nurses reminded me.
Anyway, we live in an age of powerful mobile computing alr, so no need to pack camera nowadays. I had an 8mp camera phone when DD2 was coming. In fact, 23 mins after her birth I MMSed her first photo out into the world to my mom and sis-in-law!
On the subject of the internet, I did something this time round with DD2 which was new and unique to me. On the way to the hospital I posted an update on my Facebook account. After she was born I posted another update. All in all, I received a ton of well-wishes from many kind friends online. I showed them to schellen while she lay in bed, hoping it would give her some encouragement.
If I had my iphone then (bought it 3 days later on 19 Dec cos I refused to queue at M1), I would have done the same on KSP (my old phone's browser is crap) instead of doing at home later at 4+am. :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.