Facebook & maid

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    44 Posts 22 Posters 27.2k Views 1 Watching
      Linlin

At the end of the day, it's up to how the employer manages the FDW. It's how you choose and train your FDW, right from their basic bio data until the day they arrived at your house and start doing chores. Close supervision is needed not only from the start but until the day they stopped working for you 😄

• DesertWindD Offline
        DesertWind

popireis:
        Linlin:

If u willingly to give your maid anything like hp and off day then u must be prepare anything might happen and if they run, got BGR problem, sudden change and expecting more and more.

Is it our call to NOT give them offdays and hp? Can we say no? Even if employers willing to pay for their offdays, if they refuse and wants to take their days off, which is mandatory by MOM law, do we have the right to say No?

Can we refuse to let them hv hp too? Will they hv a case if employers \"keep\" their phones or do not allow them to buy phones with their own salary?

Frankly, I doubt most employers \"willingly\" do the above, but wat can employers do? There r so many activists out there fighting for the \"human rights\" of the fdw, do we hv an orgn fighting for the rights of the employers?

Agree.
        :goodpost:

• DesertWindD Offline
          DesertWind

Recently encountered disapointment with my maid. She with me for 5.5 years already. After her initial two years of no handphone and excellent service, we passed her all our unwanted handphones so that she can use and also to give to her daughter, uncle back home etc... And our handphones were those constantly upgraded ones hence quite new. We spare no expense to give her gifts and rewards whenever we can. Two week ago, on her birthday, at her request, we actually bought her a Samsung TAB as a gift and she can use the house' WI-FI internet connection to surf the web and watch youtube Korean/Indo dramas etc!

But just the day after we gave her the TAB, her boyfriend called and scared the hell out of us! Spurned lover on a rampage to spill-the-beans. He sms us telling us maid supposedly got two Facebook webpages. We did not bother to go take a look because don't want to see any sickening pictures of her and Bangla. if any.

Told maid sarcastically that now, she is now even better off than me, whom did not have a TAB and only ONE handphone.

After treating her so well in the past years and she being such an excellent and \"guai guai\" maid for first 4 years, now facing this issue is like a slap to my face for believing the best in her. Her contract due in 2 months' time.

Right now, emergency is to instal more grills and cameras and pray that the spurned bf will not come to our house. Today, second Sunday after the spurned lover's phone-calls and sms to us (Sunday Bangla off day I would presume), my hubby gave me such a fright when he shouted very loudly and fiercely this morning towards the back door, for someone to GET OUT! HOW DARE YOU COME INTO OUR HOUSE! :nailbite: :yikes:

Turned out he was shouting at a cat.... :faint: 😓

nms1

My maid can access FB on her phone and she now also has a tablet that she bought/was given by a friend so I have set that up to connect to our wireless internet. I wouldn’t let her use the home PC but the wireless is OK as there is no additional cost to us and it’s much faster for her than using the phone. As far as I can tell she is quite disciplined in using it so no worries so far.

silverhorse

My helper too, access FB on her S3 and she has her own lap top. Access to lap top is in the night after all her work is done, and while I’m revising homework with my kids. She’s pretty disciplined. Anyways, we are facing a bunch of Gen-Y maids nowadays and I think access to social media is unavoidable.

syen27

Your maid probably has a fb account before she came here. Mine has a fb account, also email account and hp back in Indo, Cirebon. She could not bring her hp over to work… So she tahan for one year and 4 months (in between she changed 3 employers before me) before secretly went to buy a hp. She could buy because she started to get her full pay recently. But she got found out within a week of buying it. I was so pissed with her and also the second hand telco shop that sold her the hp. She did not have her work permit with her so by the law, she should not be able to buy the sim card. But the shop owner probably used someone else ID to get a sim card for her.

She did not bring her indo hp, but she brought her memory card which has songs and her contacts. So she got into contact with all her friends back home. Her so called uncles are actually friends who are guys… One she like, he dun like… One like her, she dont like… Heng all are in Indo, not SG… How I what goes on in the sms? I painstakingly took snap shots of all the sms, arranged them in word doc, printed and asked my malay colleague to translate for me…

After I found out she bought a hp, I confiscated it for one week. When she got it back after one week, she can only use it at night from 9pm onwards and must return it to me in the morning. She must rest by 10.30pm every night. If I found out she played hp after that, I will confiscate the hp for 1 week again. So far, i saw one sms that is timed after 10.30, I issued a warning. Another time, I will confiscate. She topped up a few times, eveyr time $8… Dunno how she use, but can finish $8 in one night… Now, she got another sim card of her own by using her own work permit yesterday.

I can see that she is addicted to the hp. She begged me for the hp to use during the day this morning. I firmly said no, just like how she said no to me when I asked her to cut her hair. Lets just see if she violate the rule of stopping hp at 10.30… I will only have time to check during the weekends…

syen27

I definitely won’t let her use my wifi and computer… If she wants to go online, she better afford it on her own. She has to learn on her own that she is spending all her hard earned money… And if she wants to spend like this, so be it… it is her money… There is no point bending backwards to help her… She may not appreciate it. Like how she bought the hp behind my back.

POA Teacher

syen27:

After I found out she bought a hp, I confiscated it for one week. When she got it back after one week, she can only use it at night from 9pm onwards and must return it to me in the morning. She must rest by 10.30pm every night. If I found out she played hp after that, I will confiscate the hp for 1 week again. So far, i saw one sms that is timed after 10.30, I issued a warning. Another time, I will confiscate. She topped up a few times, eveyr time $8.. Dunno how she use, but can finish $8 in one night.. Now, she got another sim card of her own by using her own work permit yesterday.

I can see that she is addicted to the hp. She begged me for the hp to use during the day this morning. I firmly said no, just like how she said no to me when I asked her to cut her hair. Lets just see if she violate the rule of stopping hp at 10.30.. I will only have time to check during the weekends..
                    Errr, you think your maid is stupid? Even if she made/ received calls/ sms after 10:30, you won't be able to find out by checking her phone. She can just delete it mah. Only if she forgot to delete it, then you can find out.

syen27

No leh, she quite stupid in that way… Esp for sms to those she like, she dont delete them… She keep them to reread again later… She refuses to tell me her screen lock password, but she willingly unlock the screen for me to check her sms and phone calls. Maybe she thinks I dunno how to read malayu… If she want to play prank again, I will not also be nice anymore.

syen27

Anyway, not worth it to spend too much time and attention on maid… I will close some eyes sometimes… I have better things to do lor… and I still need her for a while, but cannot let her think i so desperate for her…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 5

gessell10G
                        gessell10