• Fractions Topic Checklist for PSLE Paper 1

Primary 6 & PSLE
    0 Votes
    1 Posts
    CrystalxiuC
    Hi Parents I am Teacher Crystal, provided Singapore-based Math tuition for Primary students. I would love to share with you the Factions Topic Checklsit for PSLE paper 1. Can whatsappp “Fraction” at +65 8520 8282. I will send you the PDF. I do offer : - 1.5-hour weekly live online classes in small groups Students are able to subimit their work online and get Immediate feedback during my online lesson. MOE syllabus-aligned for P1–P6 I do offer a free trial class so your child can experience our system before committing. Happy to answer any questions in the comments!!
  • 0 Votes
    44 Posts
    1k Views
    thebottomsupblogT
    @sharonkhoo Just to update that I found bookbinding quite tricky — requires good eyesight, and precision cutting/crafting skills, which are clearly my gaps haha! No fault of the instructor, it’s more that I don’t have the patience for fiddly things, and tend to wing it! For everyone else sharing any feedback on courses, do feel free to post the link of the course that you did, and also to let us know honestly what you liked and didn’t like regarding the teaching style, schedule, etc.
  • Sec 1 Math tuition recommendations

Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    0 Votes
    13 Posts
    3k Views
    MerlinxieM
    One tip I learn: for Sec 1 Math, actually the foundational stuff matters most. If your child didn’t master things like fractions, decimals and area perimeter properly in primary school, they will really struggle when Sec 1 starts ramping up. Maybe consider doing some diagnostic assessment first to identify the weak spots before spending money on a full tuition programme. Btw I also tried OmniBox Tutor for my boy — quite handy for quick homework help when I can’t figure out his questions myself. Anyway good luck with the search!
  • Young mothers in Singapore

Relationships
    0 Votes
    2 Posts
    thebottomsupblogT
    I just read it and I get what you mean! This is why I prefer to read NYT — very personal stories too, but the angle is clear. I had my first kid at 29, so not young at all, in comparison! But that feeling of not being prepared is universal…
  • 0 Votes
    7 Posts
    thebottomsupblogT
    Has your child noticed that food or other items are more expensive? This is a teaching moment that you shouldn’t miss! https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/ask-mr-money-when-your-child-asks-why-food-costs-more
  • How much do you spend on the kids' tuition/enrichments?

Money Matters
    -1 Votes
    142 Posts
    48k Views
    MerlinxieM
    Wah this topic really make me think damn lot sia lol. My two kids both in primary school and I spend around $800-$1200/month on tuition and enrichment combined. For primary school can start with one tuition subject then add more as they go to higher primary lah. For enrichment, don’t need to overload them. Better to find something they actually enjoy and can stick with for long term. My daughter she loves art class so we keep that, but for academic tuition I only do English and Math. Science can wait until secondary school if needed lor. One tip I learn: always try the free trial first before committing. My son went through like 3 tutors before we found one that click. Sometimes it’s not about the qualification but whether the tutor can connect with your child, mah. Btw anyone tried online tutoring platform? I been hearing about OmniBox Tutor from a friend lah. Seems quite convenient cause you can match with tutors based on your child’s specific needs. Might be good for busy parents who don’t have time to travel to tuition centres. Anyone has experience with it? Would love to hear sia~
  • 0 Votes
    2 Posts
    MerlinxieM
    Hi lynnandaure, great question! My son went through the STEM DSA route last year (Sec 2) and I can share what we observed. The programs do help, but mainly in 2 ways: (1) they give structure and accountability — kids who self-learn coding often drop off after a few months, and (2) the portfolio becomes more organized with a coach reviewing the projects. That said, the actual interview matters a lot too — some kids with impressive portfolios fumbled because they couldn’t explain their projects well. My honest take: if your child is genuinely interested in STEM, the programs are worth it for the mentorship and portfolio polish. But don’t sign up just because everyone else is doing it — schools can tell the difference between genuine passion and a packaged portfolio. One thing that helped us at home: we used OmniBox Tutor (tryomnibox.com/tutor) for general STEM questions and homework help. It’s free and the AI explains concepts step by step, which took some pressure off during the DSA preparation period. Wouldn’t replace a proper program but great as a supplement.
  • Past Year Exam Papers

Primary Schools - Academic Support
    0 Votes
    804 Posts
    575k Views
    MerlinxieM
    Hi, sharing some tips on finding past year papers in Singapore: 1) School teachers often have compiled papers — ask during parent-teacher meetings. 2) Popular books like “Topical Test Papers” from SAP/CASCO/EPB available at Popular bookstore cover P1-P6 all subjects. 3) Community libraries sometimes have reference copies. If your child needs more structured practice with feedback, working with a tutor who has compiled materials can help too. Platforms like OmniBox (tryomnibox.com/tutor) match you with tutors who specialize in exam prep and have their own practice paper collections. Free for parents to try. Good luck to your kid!
  • 0 Votes
    1 Posts
    HalfHalfParentingH
    Hi mums and mums-to-be! Sharing a FREE wellness event that might interest you. Bloom Into Motherhood is a complimentary wellness afternoon for expecting and new mums, happening on Saturday, 18 April 2026 at voco Orchard Singapore. What to expect: 5 expert speakers on motherhood wellness topics Complimentary buffet lunch at voco Orchard Exclusive goody bags for all attendees Lucky draw prizes A supportive afternoon to connect with other mums Details: Date: Saturday, 18 April 2026 Time: 11:30 AM – 4:00 PM Venue: voco Orchard Singapore Cost: Completely FREE Seats: Only 60 available No sales pitch, no hidden costs — just a beautiful afternoon dedicated to you and your wellness journey. Register here: https://halfhalfparenting.com/campaigns/bloom?rf=hhp Hope to see some of you there!
  • 0 Votes
    2 Posts
    sharonkhooS
    To close the loop - after posting, I did more looking around online and discovered that there are A LOT of old treadle machines on sale, many in much better condition! So restoring is probably not really worth the effort. Anyway, someone came to collect it, to put a top onto the legs and make a bench table. Good to know that part of it is being reused.