Craze for Children's Books!

133 Posts 37 Posters 52.9k Views 1 Watching
      schweppes

A bit paiseh, but then HP is yet another of my craze. It's the one series where I would pay full price just so I can be amongst the first to get it. 😛
      Woohoo!! hquek :hi5:

I'm also a HP fan. Normally, I wd borrow books from NLB or wait to buy soft cover versions as not willing to pay the price for hard cover books. The only exception was the HP series.

I put my name on wait list and willingly paid full price for the book. I still can remember the last book purchase. I was one of the :siao: parent queueing outside the Popular bookstore @Sengkang before 7am. The only difference was that I was buying the book for myself and not for my kids. :roll: It was about the rare occasion where I was unconcerned about my girls' breakfast. Just told DH to settle the kids the next few days.

Was home before 8am and \"hid\" in my room to read the book the whole day. Went into withdrawal after I finished the book 😐
      First few books are ok cos the books fairly thin and quite 'tame'. It's the latter few books
      - book 4 someone died + a bit of he like she like,
      - book 5 teenage angst (the one I hate most),
      - book 6 a bit deep (cos there is a bit of unravelling of those past histories), finally
      - book 7 (a bit cheem, I had to keep going back as to how it died, and quite many died in the last part).
      Haha :hi5: again, agree with you on all the above.
      Did not enjoy Book 5 too. Found Harry to be rather annoying in that book.

So nice to reminiscence about the series again!! :celebrate:

schweppes

Quite take up space, but i was crazy about the series...and ever meaning to re-read those books (although I seldom get the chance to do it...there are too many new books I hadn't read).

Just read Neil Gaiman's \"Odd and the Frost Giants\" yesterday. Yet another fun read from NG (quite thin - only 100+/150 pages I think). Found it at Toa Payoh library.

Synopsis:
        Odd's luck has been bad so far. He lost his father on a Viking expedition, his foot was crushed beneath a tree, and the winter seems to be going on forever. But when Odd flees to the woods and releases a trapped bear, his luck begins to change. The eagle, bear and fox he encounters reveal they're actually Nordic gods, trapped in animal form by the evil Frost Giants who have conquered Asgard, the city of the gods. Can a twelve-year-old boy reclaim Thor's hammer, outwit the Frost Giants and release the gods?
        Sounds interesting!! Will go check it out!! :lol:

kids_r_innocent

HyperKiasu:

have ur kids tried 三国演义 (学生版)? how do they find it?
          which level is it recommended for ? mid level or upper level? :?

thanks

Think the nice mummies have discussed somewhere in the other thread though not in details. If i am not wrong, it should be for upper level.

Busymom

A.A. Milne's Winnie the Pooh is also very good. Total 2 books - the originals I mean. Stories also in chapters.

Hi hquek,

I saw Winnie the Pooh, hardcover, white in colour at Popular. Is that what you are referring to?? Think the publisher's Egmont.

In fact, there were several books by A.A. Milne's if I am not wrong. How do I know if they are original. Wanted to buy but I remembered the KSP forum, so I thought I better confirm first 😄

Yes, the white hardcover book selling in Popular is the original. The good thing about this edition is that it has coloured illustrations. You could also find the same publisher for A.A. Milne's poems/verses - When We Were Very Young and Now We Are Six. The latest Winnie-the-Pooh book is Return to the Hundred Acre Wood, but this is not written by A.A. Milne, just commissioned by his estate (if I remember correctly).

HyperKiasu

kids_r_innocent:
              HyperKiasu:

have ur kids tried 三国演义 (学生版)? how do they find it?
              which level is it recommended for ? mid level or upper level? :?

thanks

Think the nice mummies have discussed somewhere in the other thread though not in details. If i am not wrong, it should be for upper level.

perhaps i need to check with threads about chinese books.

thanks

autumnbronze

Busymom:

[quote=\"hquek\"]A.A. Milne's Winnie the Pooh is also very good. Total 2 books - the originals I mean. Stories also in chapters.

Hi hquek,

I saw Winnie the Pooh, hardcover, white in colour at Popular. Is that what you are referring to?? Think the publisher's Egmont.

In fact, there were several books by A.A. Milne's if I am not wrong. How do I know if they are original. Wanted to buy but I remembered the KSP forum, so I thought I better confirm first 😄

Yes, the white hardcover book selling in Popular is the original. The good thing about this edition is that it has coloured illustrations. You could also find the same publisher for A.A. Milne's poems/verses - When We Were Very Young and Now We Are Six. The latest Winnie-the-Pooh book is Return to the Hundred Acre Wood, but this is not written by A.A. Milne, just commissioned by his estate (if I remember correctly).[/quote]Busymom,

Thanks so much for clarifying :celebrate:

Tri-mum

if you like stories about naughty little kids, try Dorothy Edwards \"My Naughty Little Sister\".

Thanks for your recommendation. I finally found this book at MPH and bought it for my DD (P1) and I would say it is written in simple english and easy to understand....at least she read with understanding unlike other princess book like tiara club which she has to keep asking me what it mean :slapshead:
                  [quote] \"Nicholas\" by Rene Goscinny (same guy who did Asterix & Obelix) is fantastic read. :love: About a little boy and his life in school and at home. Very funny cos the perspective is from that of a little boy who doesn't always know what he's doing wrong. And the stories are in chapters (ie one chapter one story) so it makes for easy light reading. I liked it so much that I went ahead to buy the whole set from
                  quote]

MPH is out of stock for this book and is selling at $45....it's so expensive for a children book. Beside online purchase, any idea where can I find this?

Angelight

Hmmm…from some of the posts here, I realise most of the good children’s books are expensive. Been toying with the idea of writing and publishing my own children’s books (Spore-style) and at affordable prices so most kids can get to read. Wonder if there are any parents here who can do the illustrations for the children’s books??

mumma_bear

My 2 yr. old DS and I loves to go to bookstores or at least I encourage him to. He seems to be enjoying himself everytime we pick out books, I do buy books for him but he has to pick one that he’s interested in and is within the budget too…ehehe. He loves books about cars, by the way!

kams

My 6yo & 8yo boys are currently crazy over \"Beast Quest\" books. Every time we go to shopping centres, they will ask if there's any Popular Bookstore there, so that they each can wheedle a Beast Quest book from us. Each book costs $11-13. There's like 6-7 series with 6 books per series. My kids intend to collect all the books. Can go bankrupt! :shock:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 14

Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79