Me Time!

36.2k Posts 331 Posters 3.2m Views 2 Watching
    • zac's mumZ Offline
      zac's mum @lee_yl

@lee_yl I thought their facial ID database is so extensive/reliable/accurate that some train stations use it at their gantries for passengers to enter/pay?

MyPillowM lee_ylL 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • bbbayB Offline
        bbbay

Allow me to share how I think the CCTV can work.

If the suspect face is covered , the many CCTV around can still trace the movements of the suspect. The system can scan the clothing and color, walking pattern etc of the covered up suspect, and use these info to again auto scan all images on system to quickly pull out locations images that contain figure that fit the scanned profile, to arrive at the location the suspect goes to after committing crime.

But I would still encourage people to still play it safe by not wondering around late at night.

doodbugD 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • doodbugD Offline
          doodbug @bbbay

@bbbay Certainly, I agree.

Most of us would be too tired to be wondering out past midnight, given the 20-30k steps one usually clocks in the day time while seeing sights or exploring a place.

I guess my safety yardsticks are compared to Europe/US or even most parts of Asia. I still consider China very safe.

I have to say I do find it very intrusive having to do all the facial scans and ID checks while taking even a simple 15 minute high speed train ride. I’ve not encountered these scans in metros and buses as yet.

• doodbugD Offline
            doodbug

BTW ChiefKiasu, I was out of Singapore for two weeks, and could not access the KSP site from the UK at all. Are the security settings very strict?

• MyPillowM Offline
              MyPillow @zac's mum

@zac-s-mum said in Me Time!:

@lee_yl I thought their facial ID database is so extensive/reliable/accurate that some train stations use it at their gantries for passengers to enter/pay?

i did not hear my dh said this face recognition in metro fr the last two trips to Xi’an city this yr. he took metro back to city hotel fr office.

i also think any city ,try not to wander out late night. usually w are back to hotel around 10pm+ , my trips were usually in winter, actually abt 8pm+ it is alreay bitter cold. But now my boy is big , i dun think he willing to go back hotel that early, unless they want to play games.

lee_ylL 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • lee_ylL Offline
                lee_yl @zac's mum

For us tourists, we can also board their train, just buy their tickets and upload our info and facial ID to them. This is a 1:1 matching problem with the person seeking access to the train being cooperative to have his facial photo taken under proper lighting and correct position. On the other hand, someone with criminal intentions will take evasive measures so facial recognition will be more challenging.

A 新疆 citizen without criminal record can also travel freely (for now) but that doesn’t mean this 新疆 guy has no intention to go to Xi An or Xiamen to commit crimes. The systems are not likely to proactively flag up anyone without a criminal record

Years ago, there was this car driven from 新疆 to 天安门 to commit a terrorist act. Yes, camera lights kept flashing along the highway but as long as one doesn’t have any criminal records, no red flag will be raised.

Recently a Jap sch boy was stabbed to death in 深圳. Over at 苏州, a Chinese lady went to defend a Jap mother and child under attack and she ended up being killed. With CCTVs, there’s a deterrent effect but violence and crimes can still happen and it’s always safer to be cautious.

• lee_ylL Offline
                  lee_yl @MyPillow

@MyPillow

Aiya, if yours is a boy, then you no need to be scared lah. If yours is a girl, better don’t let her wonder solo on the street after midnight.

I am not familiar with tech stuff but DH says CCTVs in a controlled environment can work very well. However, on the streets during winter snow, light drizzling or sand storms, images captured won’t be clear. China with so many CCTVs installed on the streets, how good is their maintenance and calibration of these equipment, we don’t know. Maybe China busy saving their property market, no money to do regular servicing liao. Some counties even owe local teachers salary!

• zac's mumZ Offline
                    zac's mum

Just a shout out to any parents of Express (G3) or NA (G2) kids, if u are looking for exam/academic resources or just want to connect with a similar community (i seriously could not find any active parents from Express here on KSP), please drop me a PM to find out more. We have a FB group of >100 parents (and some tutor-parents) sharing tips and resources. Mostly for lower sec but we will extend to upper sec soon. Cheers!

1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 2
                    • Liew Nga WingL Offline
                      Liew Nga Wing @sharonkhoo

@slmkhoo Thank you all for your advice. I have been thinking this for a few weeks.

For TCM, they have their whole theory how to cure illness and western medication also have their system. The things is whether you trust which one?

Maybe you all have the luck to meet very nice family doctors, but for me, the experience with western doctors are terrible.

Nowadays, when I go to any clinic for consulation, the doctors are different every time as these clinic are operated by medical groups and the doctors are rotated between clinics. When I explained my condition to them, all of them, no even looked at me. They just typing what I said into their computer, use the pressure monitor to take my blood pressure reading or take my blood for screening. Then, don’t even say what I have to do besides asking me to take their medicine for life.

It seems that is their standard procedure in their medical groups. When I asked when they come to the same clinic next time so that they can follow up my case. They just say no need, my info is already in their server and any doctor will know what to do. How can this kind of doctors really taking care of my health beside asking me to buy their medicine forever.

However, for my TCM doctor, she is always talked to me and find out why I fell ill and have provide me very good advice.

Anyway, I am not saying western medication is wrong but only not suitable for me.

sharonkhooS 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • sharonkhooS Offline
                        sharonkhoo @Liew Nga Wing

@Liew-Nga-Wing That’s the problem with these groups. And typing things into the computer! But last time, doctors would be scribbling on their cards, so not too different. If you want to see the same doctor each time, I guess you should look for those HDB clinics where they have just 1-2 doctors who have a fairly regular schedule. That’s what I do unless I need to go to the polyclinic.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3606 / 3616