Me Time!
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1950385\" time=\"1574931940\" user_id=\"43981:
We met a couple like that too..seems only the flat is holding them on..deferred the finalisation of ownership at least one time we heard. Both already living like ..emm..even not good friends also more cordial than them. Quite sad lor.[/quote]Sad way to live. Hv house but no home. Emptiness in heart is the hardest. Hope they can let go of past & move on with life.
Unker sian at work so come in to kpo mah!Nebbermind\" post_id=\"1950336\" time=\"1574925589\" user_id=\"15571:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=1950331 time=1574924738 user_id=17023]Hello, don’t ask so much lah...
I have seen a few young couples broke up before their BTO arrives -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1950408\" time=\"1574936623\" user_id=\"66413:
Sad way to live. Hv house but no home. Emptiness in heart is the hardest. Hope they can let go of past & move on with life.[/quote]I didn't check their latest status.. .see them remind myself when we are older and have our dil/sil, must try give them the freedom and we try not to give too many 'suggestions'..it is their life ultimately..
We met a couple like that too..seems only the flat is holding them on..deferred the finalisation of ownership at least one time we heard. Both already living like ..emm..even not good friends also more cordial than them. Quite sad lor.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1950385\" time=\"1574931940\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=Nebbermind post_id=1950336 time=1574925589 user_id=15571]
Unker sian at work so come in to kpo mah! -
@ MKS Agree we shld not meddle how they shld live or establish their family. Just stay away & best live our own retirement & go over only when invited or asked us for help. Then asks specifically how they like to be helped. Not easy when in action.
Neice married to Aussie doc & both work at the hospital so SIL share grandparenting roles with husband’s parents. Wonder how the other side actually feels coz they’ll hv Aussie grandparenting style whilst SIL will be Asian/Chinese style. In our recent visit, SIL brot loads of Chinese Herbs for her to tonify till she delivers her 2nd boy. I know she hv straight instructions for SIL tt she only allows her 1st child play with physical toys & not watch TV & SIL had to control herself fr YouTube or TV Programmes. They try to respect & accommodate daughter’s style of parenting & think its good they rotate with other in-laws when they travel back to SG to visit nephew, so conflicts reduced. So, I must rmbr to find our own life & activities & go on vacation or journey away fr home do don’t be too prying or sticky to our grown up kids’ lives. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1950464\" time=\"1574955602\" user_id=\"66413:
But hor, need great 'kungfu' to not not meddle..now teaching to us like nagging to them..you are right , we got to find own life, good for us and good for them..
@ MKS Agree we shld not meddle how they shld live or establish their family. Just stay away & best live our own retirement & go over only when invited or asked us for help. Then asks specifically how they like to be helped. Not easy when in action.
Neice married to Aussie doc & both work at the hospital so SIL share grandparenting roles with husband’s parents. Wonder how the other side actually feels coz they’ll hv Aussie grandparenting style whilst SIL will be Asian/Chinese style. In our recent visit, SIL brot loads of Chinese Herbs for her to tonify till she delivers her 2nd boy. I know she hv straight instructions for SIL tt she only allows her 1st child play with physical toys & not watch TV & SIL had to control herself fr YouTube or TV Programmes. They try to respect & accommodate daughter’s style of parenting & think its good they rotate with other in-laws when they travel back to SG to visit nephew, so conflicts reduced. So, I must rmbr to find our own life & activities & go on vacation or journey away fr home do don’t be too prying or sticky to our grown up kids’ lives. -
lc, I saw the Suzuka on this Qxx black fri offer and suddenly it hits me that you asked about it on hair right…ok it has roller brushes to sweep so I guess the some hair will entangle around it but I dont think it will cause it to stop working just that you need to clear it after a while…using it at another place that has mainly dust and it works ok…on hair, based on shorter period trials, looks fine too.
Mums tend to meddle not bec we are more KPOs but we care and love more easily.
jedamum, your dc also 4 yrs apart arh..at one stage should be very cute right as you could see one big and one small ..I sometimes fascinated forgetting that the elder one is still a kid lor.. I see and think..why can play till like that arh
I notice school holidays are the time for kids to strengthen their relationship. During school terms,
usually will be busy and younger one will go and look for friends to play with.. and this morning, dh says try not to let dd1 take public transport on own else she thinks want to go out she will go out on her own lor..and last night reminded me to spend more time with kids else in a while more she will not need us as much... see, one hand we hope they be independent but on another, we feel reluctant to let go.. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1950486\" time=\"1574986463\" user_id=\"43981:
we are always contradicting ourselves. the fact is, we find it difficult to let go. my younger one who just turned 15 is still very much a kid herself and it is frightening to let go completely. teenage stage is so much harder to handle than terrible 2s.
jedamum, your dc also 4 yrs apart arh..at one stage should be very cute right as you could see one big and one small ..I sometimes fascinated forgetting that the elder one is still a kid lor.. I see and think..why can play till like that arh
I notice school holidays are the time for kids to strengthen their relationship. During school terms,
usually will be busy and younger one will go and look for friends to play with.. and this morning, dh says try not to let dd1 take public transport on own else she thinks want to go out she will go out on her own lor..and last night reminded me to spend more time with kids else in a while more she will not need us as much... see, one hand we hope they be independent but on another, we feel reluctant to let go.. -
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"1950485\" time=\"1574986026\" user_id=\"14025:
yah , i think i will until abt 19yo - for ds to go NS then by 21 he should be grown adult with own responsibility to himself, family , society - we did tell him that from 21- he is himself, he manage himself - if he dun eat, dun bathe - i am not going to nag cos by then he own himself lor.
Mums tend to meddle not bec we are more KPOs but we care and love more easily.
we should let go . my parents let go of me at abt 21/22yo to find frens, socialise, get married etc but then after married n have kids, my folk helped to look after my first born ( prob not so correct choice)- then my parent start to meddle into our life n parenting style, house chores daily routines... i and dh are just closing our eyes sometimes to maintain peace, harmony & sort of appreciate the help in kids. I really hope some one can tell my parent to respect my (our) privacy , give me personal space etc I hope we dun grow into nosy & difficult in law/ parent as we age gracefully
my son is 19. I do not interfere much in his life although I do ask if he is doing ok. he has given me the assurance he knows right from wrong. i am grateful he is mature and doesn't give me much problems :xedfingers: but I can't say the same for my younger one. on one hand, she tries to be mature but there have been several occasions which scare the hell out of me.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.