Glory Kindergarten

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    39 Posts 9 Posters 45.6k Views 1 Watching
      luvmum

Dear panicmum & kaitlynangelica,

Thanks for all the sharing. I went for their orientation last Fri and for the 1st time met up with the Principal, not the typical principal you wld have expected, she seems to be casual. However, can see that majority of the parents have continued to be with the school as they are there to buy uniform unlike newbies like us who need to buy all. While bringing my gal to her classroom to meet her teachers, I was quite unhappy when one mummy cut q and the teacher also din do anything abt it. I only see the chinese teacher not the teacher one. I just hope my gal can benefit from the school.

I've always wanted to enrol my child to church kindy environment as I like the way they are exposed to bible studies and inculcate of good behaviour. My girl has been on full day childcare since she's 2. I enrol her for full day care as I'm currently FTWM and instead of idling at home, might as well stay in school and learn more stuff. To be fair, she did learn quite a fair bit but I feel considerable time is spent on bathing, eating, napping. Also, childcare teachers have too many things to handle that they tend not to focus tat much on their academic understanding. That's how I feel.

Come next yr I will be SAHM, timing is just nice. Morn in kindy, aft nap, thereafter I can coach her and spend more time with my children. Now after my work and her full day care, both of us are bashed yet still need to go thr study time at 9pm each day. Wanted to change such unhealthy lifestyle. :roll:

luvmum

[My boy will be in K1 next yr, has attended the school for abt a yr. No major problems noted. But he did get bullied in school by a particular boy and I have sounded the school and the teachers. So far, it has not detered him from wanting to go to school. Still, I am not too satified with how the scholl has handled the matter, there was no feedback voluntarily from the school/ teachers. I had to call and discuss with them to get some feedback. ]

Hi panicmum,

My girl is oso in K1 next yr, she is in Joy class. Scarly same class as your boy? πŸ˜› What did that bully do and how you get to know it, from your child? Even at my girl current childcare though it's a premiere school, once where my girl comes home with a cut on her lips, another with her legs full of mozzie bites, check with the school, no one knows what happen and nobody tells me, I have to chk with the school. Guess so long as the overall is ok, we cannot expect perfection, wherever right? πŸ˜‰

U must be staying near to Toh Yi, I like Pei Hwa but I'm staying outside 2km, no hope liao. :twisted:

kaitlynangelica

luvmum:
          Dear panicmum & kaitlynangelica,

Thanks for all the sharing. I went for their orientation last Fri and for the 1st time met up with the Principal, not the typical principal you wld have expected, she seems to be casual. However, can see that majority of the parents have continued to be with the school as they are there to buy uniform unlike newbies like us who need to buy all. While bringing my gal to her classroom to meet her teachers, I was quite unhappy when one mummy cut q and the teacher also din do anything abt it. I only see the chinese teacher not the teacher one. I just hope my gal can benefit from the school.

I've always wanted to enrol my child to church kindy environment as I like the way they are exposed to bible studies and inculcate of good behaviour. My girl has been on full day childcare since she's 2. I enrol her for full day care as I'm currently FTWM and instead of idling at home, might as well stay in school and learn more stuff. To be fair, she did learn quite a fair bit but I feel considerable time is spent on bathing, eating, napping. Also, childcare teachers have too many things to handle that they tend not to focus tat much on their academic understanding. That's how I feel.

Come next yr I will be SAHM, timing is just nice. Morn in kindy, aft nap, thereafter I can coach her and spend more time with my children. Now after my work and her full day care, both of us are bashed yet still need to go thr study time at 9pm each day. Wanted to change such unhealthy lifestyle. :roll:
          Luvmum,

To be fair, I donno if I was just unlucky. Maybe I am just extra fussy because I want extra attention on my daughter. Ultimately, I just felt that the teachers don't care. But most other pp felt that Glory has a good curriculum and the price is very reasonable as well. From what I know, starting from K1 onwards, they also have full-day programmes.

Now that she goes to cc, I actually feel that my daughter has progressed a lot more acaedemically. She has progressed in her reading and mandarin. In terms of maths, she is also learning how to add, subtract and do multiplication. But this cc I also noticed that in terms of food and child-care, not that great. They only offer cereal for breakfast and nothing else. Lunch cooked by the auntie not great either. Greater emphasis is placed on academics thats why I like it.

panicmum

luvmum:
            [My boy will be in K1 next yr, has attended the school for abt a yr. No major problems noted. But he did get bullied in school by a particular boy and I have sounded the school and the teachers. So far, it has not detered him from wanting to go to school. Still, I am not too satified with how the scholl has handled the matter, there was no feedback voluntarily from the school/ teachers. I had to call and discuss with them to get some feedback. ]

Hi panicmum,

My girl is oso in K1 next yr, she is in Joy class. Scarly same class as your boy? πŸ˜› What did that bully do and how you get to know it, from your child? Even at my girl current childcare though it's a premiere school, once where my girl comes home with a cut on her lips, another with her legs full of mozzie bites, check with the school, no one knows what happen and nobody tells me, I have to chk with the school. Guess so long as the overall is ok, we cannot expect perfection, wherever right? πŸ˜‰

U must be staying near to Toh Yi, I like Pei Hwa but I'm staying outside 2km, no hope liao. :twisted:
            Hi Luvmum

My boy was in Love N2. Going to Hope K1. Too bad diff class.... Son was poked by pen with at least 20 pen dot marks around his rib cage. Another time, he had a few long pen lines drawn on his legs and arm. I was pretty angry seeing the lack of action from the school. But then, my son likes the teachers there, so what to do... and he gets to eat snacks, like porridge, cereals and bread on different days, so he likes it there... Yes, I stay at Toh Yi, and my children walk to school, which is a stone's throw away. That is the blessing... hee hee.... so my gal who is in morning class since this yr gets to sleep until 6:30 and walks down to Pei Hwa at 7:10 am. I save quite alot on transportation too.. πŸ˜‰

I heard that Pei Hwa has a large capacity, is there no chance? I have no issue enrolling my gal cos I am an old gal there.

panicmum

IMO, I feel that childcare has benefitted my gal a lot more. She is an only child at the moment so I like her to spend more time in school. Otherwise, will just keep on watching TV when she goes home[/quote]

Hi Kaitlynangelica

Thanks for ur sharing. I had listed Faith as one of my choices too if I want my son to attend a cc. I had toyed with enroling my son in cc since last month, but had not decided cos he has two other siblings to play with at home. He is the middle child. I am careful not to aggravate the middlechild syndrome. He may feel unwanted if he is the only one going to cc and the others stay at home. Yet I feel that he has a lot of spare time wasted at home. Mostly just playing his toys, and at times, he gets to play DS and Wii. Tough decision…

luvmum

[quote]Hi Luvmum

[Son was poked by pen with at least 20 pen dot marks around his rib cage. Another time, he had a few long pen lines drawn on his legs and arm. I was pretty angry seeing the lack of action from the school.]

[I heard that Pei Hwa has a large capacity, is there no chance? I have no issue enrolling my gal cos I am an old gal there.[/quote]Hello panicmum,
                That's really too much, I will demand an answer from the principal and teacher if it happens to my girl and will request to speak to the bully mum. No wonder you are so angry, i think if this happen to any other mummies child, no one will keep mum abt it. U mean the school really did nothing abt it? I wonder if this boy is still continuing with the kindy, hopefully not. Has he bullied your child for a long period? I mean I can understand sometimes when children play, they start to be rough but to this extent is really unforgivable lor. :rant:

I did write in for PV but looking at past stat, over 2km has no chance or ballot...so I think I might as well go to somewhere where my chances is higher lor. So lucky, no need to go thr the agony of Phase 2C.. πŸ˜‰

luvmum

Hi panicmum,

Tot of sending your son to enrichment class after his kindy so at least aft time is being occupied than idling at home. Actually when he has companion, at least not that bored afterall in the afternoon. Playing is also a form of learning. πŸ˜›

spikey

i am considering sending my DS and DD to this kindegarten next year. Anyone have any updated reviews?

there is no priority to Pei Hwa pri sch

spikey

there is no priority to Pei Hwa pri sch

i know...it's the closest kindy to my new home

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 4