Newton Kindergarten

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Kindergartens
    525 Posts 65 Posters 234.0k Views 1 Watching
      MummyThreeStreams

greenbean2011:

Em, Jazz, MummyThreeStreams, octbride, DesertWind, smurf, Mimama, kerbaya, Jazzychloe, phtthp, 25hrmaid, lil_jade, Bigdevil, yamdrink, moom, autumnbronze, durianbei, mum05, laughingcat, auntieM, are your kids into - Montessori Maths, Kumon, MPM, CMA or any other Maths enrichment before ? how you feel ? how about other parents here ? 🙂
      No math enrichment for my kids. They have sports and music classes though. However, I'm thinking of enrolling my DS2 for the apple pie Chinese drama classes at newton kindy. He's quite the drama mama (takes after mummy!) and loves to talk. I thought might as well send him for the Chinese language one at the school. Anyone's got experience with the class to share?

jazzychloe

Hi all, today we brought our DD to visit Newton Kindy and met up with Mrs Tan.

She mentioned that they will not have 3 hr programme for pre-nursery in 2012 onwards. So all will be 4 hr programme. Reason being this year they have a mix of both, and it was quite messy. Some of the kids who are in the 4 hr prog, may think why their classmates can leave earlier? Do they have to stay later cos they are being punished? So from next year onwards, all pre-N and N will be 4 hr programme and for the AM session (8am-12noon) they will have lunch there.

I also asked her about the max no. of students per class and she mentioned around 17-18? Is this true?

She also mentioned that this is the 1st year they are setting a date (5 Jul 2011) for public to register, hence she does not know how the turnout will be. Whether do we need to reach very early or not cos of some kiasu parents who might reach at 6am in the morn?? :shock:

Then i told her about my DD's seperation anxiety, she suggested my DD can start class on a later date when the rest of her classmates are more settled down already. However just now she saw my DD who also went into the classroom with us to take a look, and commented that she is still not that bad. Cos there were some who are so afraid that they don't even wanna step inside the classroom. Told her that probably bcos it has been a few months already since DD's traumatic childcare experience... Asked her about trial lesson and she said no they dun cater. And she's also not sure who will be the teachers next year for pre-N.

Btw Greenbean you mentioned that they will hv the same teachers for pre-N and N is that right? Cos i forgot to ask Mrs Tan earlier... :oops: Didn't ask much about their English standard or ask to take a look at their worksheets etc. too...

Called Mr Ong about the timing for bus route from Newton to Aljunied, and also how much is it for 1-way? Anybody knows?

Thanks. 😄

greenbean2011:
          hi octbride, it’s ok to ask – not OT, because we are all Newton parents here. At Newton thread, we wish to learn from the precious experience of one another, as well as from parents who had gone before us. It can be on any topic for our kids concerned. For me, I am currently a trial and error method mother...

Dear greenbean2011, while we appreciate your excitement in sharing enrichment classes with others in the community, specifically \"Newton Kindergarten parents\", we must remind you that you have to post these classes in the right place. If it is an erichment course which has nothing to do with commercial service, in this case Newton Kindergarten, please do not talk about it in this thread. Doing so will only confuse the service providers and others.

General rules:
          - If it is an event you are promoting, please post it in the Happenings Forum.
          - If it is a mind training service, please post it under a proper thread in the Math, Intellectual, Thinking And Mind Training Forum.

Any cross-posting of events or advertisements across multiple threads in KiasuParents.com will earn the poster a permanent ban from KiasuParents.com, because you are creating a lot of work for the moderators who have to keep the Forums clean so that people can find information they need.

As you have repeatedly persisted in such cross-postings despite our reminders, we have suspended your account. We have also removed all your posts regarding out of topic service providers in this thread.

MummyThreeStreams, jazzychloe, you got pm!

MummyThreeStreams

MummyThreeStreams, jazzychloe, you got pm!

Replied! 😄

there is mention of our kindergarten here:-

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21313

Jazzychloe, you inquire about maximum no. of students per class ?

class size / ratio for:
                  ==============
                  N1 (Pre-nursery): max 18
                  N2 (Nursery): max 24
                  K1: max 26
                  K2: max 26

each class has 2 teachers – permanent Chinese teacher & English teacher. They are permanent inside each class, not floating around type …. unlike those you see in some other kindergarten.

this Term 2, parents warmly welcome new changes for school. For the AM session children who stay back behind for enrichment lessons - lunch is provided, something new! Our in-house school cook, Auntie Lilian, has kindly agreed to cook extra lunch, for this group of pupils. Each meal costs only $1.

parents just need to help their kids bring along a lunch box. Label their child’s name and class, then pass to either the class form teachers or the kitchen, on the day of the enrichment class. Many parents rejoice at this new change …. so convenient! Piping, warm food ready to fill the kids’ hungry, growling stomach.

here, do not be surprised to find some Newton kindergarten kids attending > 1 kindergarten. These parents have lots of $ to spare (no issue)! Some kids in fact attend 2 kindergarten. Nowadays, maybe attending more than 1 kindergarten … is a common sight.

AM - the kids attend some Montessori pre-school, nearby Newton circus vicinity. There are quite a few Montessori schools nearby our kindergarten, if you observe /notice around.
                  PM – then the kids come back our school, to attend 4 hrs Newton kindy.

this way, Montessori mathematics would have taught these children very clear, concise maths concepts, from base or ground 0. In fact, it would have prepared their kids very well up to Primary 3 standard, way beyond Primary 1 schools’ requirements & expectations. The child’s Maths foundation is very solid!

the other way round – for AM session kids who attend 4 hrs here. In the afternoon, their parents may sought Montessori enrichment / tuition for them elsewhere … further up Bishan, where all the good Primary /Secondary schools / Junior colleges are located.

school bus transport with Uncle Ong (he is in charge of Bishan area) - can also be arranged to bring the kids direct to the door step, for PM Montessori enrichment.

one of these enrichment / tuition schools where you can spot kids from Newton kindergarten going there is …. Totsville Montessori. If you go Totsville in the afternoon, you can spot them there. Either school bus bring them there, or their parents or househhold helpers bring them there. The Principal (Serene) is one of high noble calling, who make sure that kids learn and benefit from her lessons taught. Here is her school website:-
                  http://www.totsville.com.sg/index.html

parents who wish to send kids nearby our school for Montessori pre-school, pls consult our school Principal first. She has obtained lots of feedback from many parents (our predecessors who had gone before us) which Montessori pre-schools around Newton vicinity is good, or which ones no good ? Expensive doesn’t necessary always mean good. Most important is what is the teacher-children ratio like, and most important … who / how is that particular teacher handling your child like ?

however, please bear in mind that attending 2 kindergarten may make your child very tiring. Unless you think it’s really necessary…

• G Offline
                      GuniBabe

hi mummies!

my DS is attending playgroup at Newton and we love the teachers who are so caring and nuturing. problem is we’re moving soon and there’s a church kindy down the same road at our future home. am in a dilemna now as I’m not sure if I should change school to save the time on travelling. my FIL who currently live near us sends DS to school everyday as it’s 5 mins away.

any children who takes the school bus? my new place is at serangoon north, am wondering how long the bus journey will be like and if I should change school.

hi GuniBabe,

Auntie Ong reply she fetch students from Serangoon North to Newton kindy. However, she not sure if your child is currently in AM or PM session. So she say it’s better that you contact her directly at tel: 9455-3509.

you may ask her … is it possible to arrange for a a trial run school bus trip, to test out actual journey from your new house in Serangoon North to Newton? You can do the trial run anytime, no need to wait until shift house.

inside school bus, you can see many kids socialise / network amongst themselves. Some kids are siblings (one or 2 years apart). Once board school bus, the siblings start to throw handkerchief at one another. Others soon join in the fun, giggling, laughing all the way … soon, the whole school bus becomes like a fish market, very noisy, all the kids chit chatting, at the top of their voice.

as parents when you sit there watching, you smile… they are happy. Before you know, the school bus has reached, turned into Newton school compound. You ask – eh, why so fast, arrive school ? Thot journey was at least half an hr ? when kids have fun, entertaining one another, they din realize … how time flies ! Thus, you may take it positively … that school bus ride can be fun for kids.

after the trial run, then you decide - change or stay put ?

in changing kindergarten, may want to consider following factors:-
                        ===============================================

a) you changing from 4 hrs Newton kindy to another 3 hrs kindy or child care centre around your new house in Serangoon ?

examine the new school’s core curriculum, in detail.

if change to a child care centre that runs from 7 am to 7 pm, that has got good enrichment meaningful programmes in the afternoon that benefit your child, then perhaps it’s worthwhile.

but if it’s those ccc where afternoon not much enrichment except sleep, wake up tea time drink milo, nibble some biscuit, sing some nursery rhyme then let just kids watch TV just to pass time till 6 pm or 7pm, then it makes no difference whether is it ccc or kindy ?

if change from 4 hr to a 3 hr kindy, how comfortable are you ?

after minus off (half hr makan, 15 mins toiletry, another 10 mins pack school bag, singing Good-bye teacher, Goodbye friends song), the 3 hrs kindy effectively is reduced to only … 2 hr to 2 and quarter hr kindy, everyday. As you know, 2 hrs pass very quickly. How much does a child learn everyday ? i not sure…

bottom line: if you change to new place where standard, quality >= Newton, then it’s fine! But if new place standard and quality < Newton, my 2 cents worth … maybe, stay put.

b) for crucial K1 / K2, what does the new place offer ?

at Newton kindy, for Kl - every Friday, form teacher distribute homework for weekend, under supervision by parents. Teachers give out workbooks for all 3 subjects in a green bag – containing English, Maths and Chinese.

English weekend homework – will cover phonics, english handwriting, usual vocabulary, nouns, verbs, etc – the usual components you find in English.

Maths weekend homework.

Chinese weekend homework - may cover Chinese strokes handwriting practise, plus some simple basic Chinese character reading & writing.

every Monday, pupils submit all weekend homework completed, back to their form teachers, for marking.

for K2 Term 1 start – got spelling.
                        every Monday is Chinese spelling (ting xie).
                        each week, kids learn how to write 6 new basic, elementary Chinese word characters, into a small jotter book.

come every Thursday, got English spelling. Pupils learn how to spell, write every 5 new words into a jotter book.

c) does the new place also teach, inculcate moral character values?
                        at Newton kindy, children are taught character building.

for N2 Term 2 currently
                        =======================

week 1 and 2 – kids are taught Gratefulness.

week 3 and 4 – kids are taught Resist Temptation.

week 5 and 6 – kids are taught Humility, be humble to peers, friends, parents, teachers, around you.

week 7 and 8 – kids are taught Repentence.

week 9 and 10 – kids are taught Helpfulness.

one friend’s kid initially joined another church kindy.
                        after 1 term, the kid return Newton. I asked his mom what happen ?
                        she reply she prefer Newton kindy moral teaching…. She said on her child’s birthday celebration at the other kindy, after blowing out the birthday candles, the teachers forgot to teach the child basic values.

the teacher just cut cake, then very quickly distribute the cake to all kids in the class, then everyone start eating, busy chit chatting. The teacher overlook, forgot to teach the child something basic, … manners, gratefulness, thankfulness, honor and respect.

over at Newton, my friend said teaching different. She observed in silence that Newton teachers teach kids proper manners…

after blowing out the cake, Newton teacher taught the child Honor and respect. The form teacher taught the child by asking him the question – after you cut the cake, who are you going to give your first piece of cake to ? you give to your … Daddy and Mommy! Why ? because you learn to Honor your parents, with your first piece of birthday cake.

Who bought this nice, big lovely cake for you ? Your parents! They love you so much, they want you be joyful! To share your joy, celebrate with your classmates and teachers. So, the first piece of cake you honor goes to … your Daddy and your Mommy! Simple, small minute details can easily be missed out … but crucial, train a child good values.

there are parents who ever transfer out before, but return eventually.

d) does the new place offer similar enrichment to what Newton kindy offer ? If not, is it important to you ?

e) changing kindy may be traumatic to kids. It’s like uprooting a child from a place he is already familiar with, he is fond of.

your son currently happily settled down in Newton… let him be.
                        as his mommy, he happy means … you also happy.

f) Primary 1 – is your child going SAP school, or non-SAP school ?

some kids attending Newton kindy are heading for SAP schools like Ai Tong, Nanyang, Nan Hua, Catholic High primary, CHIJ St Nicholas, Maris Stella, Holy Innocent, Pei Chun (Toa Payoh), Pei Hwa Presbyterian, Hong Wen primary schools.

if your son going SAP school, maybe consider stick to a school where core curriculum with > 50% Chinese ?

g) if you decide to leave, perhaps leave in amiable mode… in the event you want to come back, because you prefer Newton. There had been cases where parents left, but come back again.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 21 / 53