mooncakes

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    364 Posts 74 Posters 295.1k Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

jce:
      I tried East Ocean when it just came out of the oven so of course it had the upper hand... I think East Ocean is less oily... Last year I had Long Jiang's and it was good. If I had a choice, I would have gone for East Ocean, not because it's better but because I like a change and they are both comparable.

Out of topic here, but, don't buy durian when it is not suppose to be in season. These are mainly those which have been \"jabbed\" with all sorts of chemicals so that they would grow. A stall at Telok Kurau area sells frozen durian when it is not in season and these are from the ones he kept when it was in season.
      OT Durian- buy only when the previous few days had been very hot. Those sold on a previous cloudy or worse rainy days taste 'wet' n not fragrant at all.

2nd OT Yam mooncake - I ate a lot of yam mooncakes (from Long Jiang) before I went for c-section delivery of my 2nd child. Kena lots of phelgm after delivery, every cough was so painful.

• JenniferJ Offline
        Jennifer

friendship:
        Bengawan solo I bought was the traditional double yolk. So sticky to the mouth. Can't even talk while eating.

Joo Chiat mooncakes can eat and talk.
        Not supposed to eat n talk lah :siam:

friendship

actually i was not talking. Suddenly the phone rang and need to answer. Couldn’t even say ‘hello’. Till have to drink something then can talk.

I saw in Ang Mo supermarket selling boxes of mooncakes. Why so cheap har? 1 box (4pcs) sells in the range of $12-$14.

Bakerzin 1 box (4pcs) sells about $56.

jce

Quality of the ingredients I’m sure plays a part. And the other part, branding.

jtoh

Plus the nice boxes. 🙂

jce

Oh yes, packaging. To be honest, this year’s packaging not so interesting and innovative… I think MBS stuck to last year’s design.

musette

Thought I’d share this with you.

For those staying in the West, I would like to recommend the mooncakes from Nice Bakery at Blk 281 Bt Batok East Ave 3, near NTUC Fairprice.

I started buying mooncakes from there last year and yesterday I bought from them again. We ate it last night and it was yummy! Not too sweet. My kids love it. I find it even better than some of those famous brands. Only thing is their packaging is plain and does not come with frills like dessicant or individual plastic wrapping.

Btw, their CNY cookies are great too!

Dino mummy

cherrygal:

My kids and I actually like 大中国lotus paste (no yolk). Don't know what is the price this year but it's simple indulgence and probably not as expensive?

We went to the Tai Chong Kok factory at Ubi and it was already $30 for 4 lotus paste mooncakes (no yolks) without any box. My dad likes to eat this and he didn't need the box so it was just rolled in paper. So old school.

It was $32 with one yolk, no box.

If you are intending to give the cakes as a gift, Bengawan Solo's mooncakes seem like a prettier alternative coz it costs $32 for no yolks and comes in a metal box. And UOB card holders get additional 10% off.

Sticky to the mouth? I didn't eat so I don't know.

$30? The price was lower last year...guess prices for everything went up..except for my salary 😢
                    I have been buying Inter Continential mooncakes for past 2 years for a neighbour. I din eat it but my colleagues who bought them commented they are delicious. My colleague who tried the one from Fullerton oso commented they taste v good, tink it is the nutty (5 nuts) kind. However, need to get it early but it sells fast.

• JenniferJ Offline
                      Jennifer

musette:

Thought I'd share this with you.

For those staying in the West, I would like to recommend the mooncakes from Nice Bakery at Blk 281 Bt Batok East Ave 3, near NTUC Fairprice.

I started buying mooncakes from there last year and yesterday I bought from them again. We ate it last night and it was yummy! Not too sweet. My kids love it. I find it even better than some of those famous brands. Only thing is their packaging is plain and does not come with frills like dessicant or individual plastic wrapping.

Btw, their CNY cookies are great too!
                      Blk 281 is near my work place. Will drop by n try. Thanks for the recommendation.

Mychildren

Called mum & she said no need to buy for her, mentioning nowadays mooncakes are either too sweet or too filling after consuming them. Think will give her $$ to buy whatever she wants instead. 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 37

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        Titanic HartT
                        Titanic Hart