Teachers' Violence

139 Posts 27 Posters 37.3k Views 1 Watching
      atutor2001

Students do know, when they cross the line. However, they are only willing to accept punishments meted out by someone they respect.

There is this male teacher who would bring the class to the neighbourhood garden to relax and play after exam or if he felt that the class has a heavy day. Only he dares to do such thing. However, he is also a no nonsense guy. Notorious boys who failed to hand in homework after repeated reminders will see their bags' contents being strewn all over the class. It is common for him to throw books and bags. The wonderful part is that he never get complaints from parents. Apparently, all the boys accepted his tough measures. He is the only one who can handle the EM3 (still in existence at that time).

He is a great teacher and all my kids improved tremendously because of him. He is the only teacher that I have wrote personal letter to congratulate and thank him for a job well done.

PS
      From the comments that I have gathered from my kids, I think the most important quality of a teacher is to be impartial. Teachers who have pet students or have shown favoritism to better students (unfortunately most teacher do) are usually disliked by a large segment of the class.

markfch

Daddy 😧
        http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/this_urban_jungle/466640/mum_calls_police_because_daughter_was_supposedly_slapped.html?articlePage=&photosPage=&commentsPage=2

Best example of 慈母... :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
        I think the principal is caught in two minds on this one. Should he give the girl her last chance saloon and keep her in sch, or just give up on her and expel her. When one is given such a severe suspension from sch, expulsion is pretty much next on the cards.

I believe that if a student does not respect teachers when young, in future he/she will also not respect the law and order. Then I can only say good luck to this student, cos our laws are really hard hitting.

Muffins

dun remember whether I had told you guys this before, but there was this incident that once happened in my school:

Teacher walked in and told us he would be our relief teacher for Science (It was actually Music then, but no one told him). Friend was smiling at him. Following is a recount of what had happened…

Teacher: Wipe that smile off your face!

Friend stopped smiling.

Teacher: If I were you I would wipe that smile off my face! Teacher went back to looking at email.

Teacher (pointing to Friend): You, what’s your name?

Friend: XXXXX

Teacher: when I speak to you, you stand up and answer me!!!

Friend stands up.

Teacher (noticing Friend’s hands on table): STAND PROPERLY!!!

Friend took his hands off.

Teacher: STAND ON 2 LEGS!!!

Teacher: I SAID STAND ON 2 LEGS!!! DO YOU WANT ME TO GO OVER AND SLAP YOU?!?!?!?!

Friend: I am standing on 2 legs.

Teacher: IS THIS HOW YOU SPEAK TO YOUR TUTOR!!! (‘Tutor’ is not a spelling error. He REALLY said that.)

Teacher stands up and knocks over chair (which landed an amazing 2 metres away), face ready to explode.

Teacher (walks to Friend): You do NOT speak to your teacher like that. GOT IT?!!

Friend: Yes sir.

After a while he got ready to leave.

Teacher (staring at Friend): when a teacher comes in you go back to your seat. Do NOT irritate the teacher.

• DesertWindD Offline
            DesertWind

Hi Muffins,

Your friend sounded really \"kuai kuai\" leh, can't see how any teacher can be mad with him!

As for the teacher? A bit strange.
            😛

It is illogical to assume that all parents have to be teachers to understand the problems faced by teachers - there is no need to. enough said about teachers’ problems

It is also illogical to assume all parents are unreasonable / over-protective over their kids for the misbehaviour of the kids

Just as it is absurd to assume all teachers are violence-prone, far from it.

This thread is just to high light that particular case as reported by the newspaper; and as reported, the principal has worked out an arrangement with the parents & child concerned. Infer what is not said and not reported

Adults should have higher tolerance than a kid. That is a given. It is not a matter of fairness. Teachers are looked upon as role-models of tolerance and forgiveness, and they are to teach and impart this value to the kids as much as parents are responsible for them. In the case of the reported teacher’s violence, it is a bad example.

Daddy D

It is illogical to assume that all parents have to be teachers to understand the problems faced by teachers - there is no need to. enough said about teachers' problems

It is also illogical to assume all parents are unreasonable / over-protective over their kids for the misbehaviour of the kids

This thread is just to high light that particular case as reported by the newspaper; and as reported, the principal has worked out an arrangement with the parents & child concerned. Infer what is not said and not reported

Adults should have higher tolerance than a kid. That is a given. It is not a matter of fairness. Teachers are looked upon as role-models of tolerance and forgiveness, and they are to teach and impart this value to the kids as much as parents are responsible for them. In the case of the reported teacher's violence, it is a bad example.
                Kaypoh a bit.... y did u leave teaching ah? 🙂

duriz

duriz:

[quote=\"LKVM\"]

:udaman:

Wahahaha
                  He tried to remain incognito dear LKVM

that is called under duress duriz[/quote]I was also a teacher.
                  While waiting for my NIE training, I did relief-teaching at a sec sch.
                  After a non-event first week, at the end of the day, I was walking to my car when a group of 6 boys and girls (average age 16) surrounded me. They'd wanted to beat me up for giving me homework for the weekend. A fellow (male) teacher who had been with the school for 3 years came to my rescue. He said to the teens:\"I'm very scared but I will fight you if I have to.\" Thinking back, it was very chivalrous of him as he is a middle aged man, quite short and rather stocky.
                  Now I can laugh about it.
                  Back then, I was terrified.
                  When I completed my training, I was posted to teach in a prmary school. After two months, I took over the internet skills class. The first afternoon I conducted the class, a P6 boy was late (because he was smoking in the corridor - I saw him), so I made him stand at the door. He stood at the door alright - and cussed my grandparents and parents and of course me. I made him stay back after school and asked for a meeting with his parents. Two days later, his mother came to school. She was smoking (just like the son) and cussed me before I could explain my case. She insisted that I had provoked him to gain such a reaction from him. The principal and I went through what we had planned for the young man and they made their exit. When I was walking to my car, the boy's father (who'd came to pick them up) came up to me to apologise. The funniest thing is that the boys' father was my senior back in sec sch.
                  Small world!
                  Is it tought to be a teacher in Singapore?
                  You bet.
                  Does it justify to use physical violence on our children?
                  No.

p/s I also remember public caning during my school days.
                  Not pretty.
                  But I don't know how effective that was.

Daddy 😧

It is illogical to assume that all parents have to be teachers to understand the problems faced by teachers - there is no need to. enough said about teachers' problems

Adults should have higher tolerance than a kid. That is a given. It is not a matter of fairness. Teachers are looked upon as role-models of tolerance and forgiveness, and they are to teach and impart this value to the kids as much as parents are responsible for them. In the case of the reported teacher's violence, it is a bad example.

Kaypoh a bit.... y did u leave teaching ah? 🙂

not my cup of tea, nor my cup of kopi

atutor2001

duriz:

I was also a teacher.
                      While waiting for my NIE training, I did relief-teaching at a sec sch.
                      After a non-event first week, at the end of the day, I was walking to my car when a group of 6 boys and girls (average age 16) surrounded me. They'd wanted to beat me up for giving me homework for the weekend. A fellow (male) teacher who had been with the school for 3 years came to my rescue. He said to the teens:\"I'm very scared but I will fight you if I have to.\"......
                      Hi duriz,
                      Very scary experiences you have shared. No wonder many of my friends quit the moment they completed their bonds. But I must say that the male teacher is very cool and clever in handling those hooligans.

A friend of my whose son is a slow learner went to NT in sec sch complained to mummy that he couldn't hear when the teacher is teaching. He said that while the teacher is teaching, more than half the class are talking or playing cards and sometimes even smoking behind the class. The teacher just act blur like nothing had happened. It's like what we see in movie....

Another teacher friend told me once she sent a notorious student to stand outside the class. Soon everyone intentionally fooled around so that they also got to join that guy outside the class. The best part was after awhile, some of them disappeared and left the school. Poor friend had to go hunting for them, and promised herself never to let anyone out of the class again.

atutor2001:

Another teacher friend told me once she sent a notorious student to stand outside the class. Soon everyone intentionally fooled around so that they also got to join that guy outside the class. The best part was after awhile, some of them disappeared and left the school. Poor friend had to go hunting for them, and promised herself never to let anyone out of the class again.
                        :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: fell for their trick lah

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 14