DSA 2012
KS4Son:
Thank you for all the comments, particularly to Snow Crystal.
With this affiliation, girls from NYPS already has 12 point advantage over girls from other schools. This is already a huge advantage. It really takes a lot a lot more effort to get just one more point when near the top, let alone 12 points. Law of diminishing return. So, I think parents with DDs in NYPS, should already be contented to have this advantage. This is a meritocracy system. By giving this 12 points advantage, in my opinion, it creates imbalance in the system. Girls who really enter NYGH with 250 may end up suffering because of inability to compete. So, parents should really think hard if this is what they want their DDs to go through. My humble opinion. Pls don't throw fire at me.Kiasucy:
Every year many parents try to get their gal to NYPS or transfer to NYPS from another primary school because of this affiliation scheme.
No one is saying that the NYPS girls do not appreciate the lower COP but the fact remains - WHY does everyone try to DSA in the first place...this includes the GEPers ? It is for a peace of mind. Also, many other good and reputable schools such as SCGS and MGS have even much lower COPs for their sister primary schools. A 20-25point difference in COP explains why their affiliated primary students accept that DSA should be kept for kids from other schools because a huge number will and do get in. I am not advocating this for NYGH, dont get me wrong. Do these schools have less able and less outstanding students in the long run? Aside from branding and elitism, I think many people would say that both schools are great schools with history, traditions and strong sense of belonging.
My point was never about the COP. It was about DSA.
Perhaps, it would help if you put yourself in these NYPS Tweens' position.
The kids nowadays are very smart and much more matured than kids born 20 years ago. They know exactly who from the 2011 cohort went to what school, why & many individuals' PSLE scores. They ask why so and so, no matter how outstanding/ talented at NYPS was rejected by NYGH. They know that quite a few who were rejected by NYGH during the DSA phase ( some via CCa and some via academics) subsequently performed very well at PSLE but because they were hurt and disappointed, they automatically moved to RGS/ NUSH to prove their point. The feeling that they are disadvantaged at DSA, ironically, encourages them to try DSA into other schools in the first place. It's a double whammy.
Some may say they are childish but if it were you, the adult, the response may not have been so different. They are after all human. They have feelings and they know when they are being taken for granted especially when they are constantly reminded to be so grateful for the lower COP.Everyone knows that anything can happen on exam day and marks can be volatile even for the top 10-20% of the cohort.
They KNOW that they are disadvantaged when it's comes to direct admission into their own sister school, NYGH. They talk about it all the time ! They also know that rival schools such as RGS would be quite happy to take them if it could. The psychological impact of feeling disadvantaged at DSA by their sister school is under estimated. Perhaps, the answer is balance. The need to balance what is good for NYGH in terms of medals and what is good for the overall Nanyang spirit. -
peterch:
Love iPad:
Which sport is it? Tot kids need to be short listed before allow to go for trial.
Basketball. That's the way they did for years and I think they are the only one who do that
I think ... they are not only one... other sport also same concept.... different school has diff way of selection method.... some time coach already familier with kids by seeing them in other competation/friendly match performance, etc... :evil: ... -
Just received the DSA 2 Notification Letter fm HCI for DSA Exercise 2 on 21 Jul 2012.
Any one got news fm RI ? We are still waiting it yet. -
Otah:
The non-transferable DSA rule has been tightened. No one will apply DSA to a school if they have no intention of choosing the school now. A GEP NYPS girl apply for both NYHS and RGS is common as she need another option mah what if she get rejected from NYHS due to some misinterpretation during her DSA interview. Likewise for those applying RI and HCI. All schools want to attract top top students with their special programme, so it is wrong for the school to make any guessing and not to offer the DSA to a students just because he/she has also applied for the other one.
Agree. I don't understand the reason for a school to reject a student simply because they think the student will join the other school even if he or she is given a CO. The school should just give the COs to the best candidates and has enough students in the WL to fill up those places not taken up. After all, there is still S1 posting exercise after PSLE. -
RGS does not have any affiliated primary school. A lot of people mistakenly assume that RGPS is affiliated to RGS. It is not.[/quote]Why leh? How about GEP RGPS girls ? Some kind of non-verbal priority given in the past rite? :siam:
RGS has not have such affiliation scheme for their old girls even their DSA are given to those achieve good results for GEP or sport talented students and the rest enter via PSLE merit. To ensure the high ability students they accept are the top top ones, may be NYGH also going along this line. Not to forget the final competition at the two end schools is a always 'A' level results mah.Otah:
[quote=\"Snow Crystal\"]
Not raised ...yet... :evil:
No lah, it's still 250. Whylikethat888 is using my earlier example of 255 - I had mentioned that a NYPS girl in top class capable of scoring 255 and above (quite safe number) for PSLE usually may not even need to apply NYGH DSA... -
Hi, when is the NUS high selection test result be announced? Anyone got the news? :salute:
no, not yet. will be on this friday.
Whylikethat888:
Thank you for all the comments, particularly to Snow Crystal.
With this affiliation, girls from NYPS already has 12 point advantage over girls from other schools. This is already a huge advantage. It really takes a lot a lot more effort to get just one more point when near the top, let alone 12 points. Law of diminishing return. So, I think parents with DDs in NYPS, should already be contented to have this advantage. This is a meritocracy system. By giving this 12 points advantage, in my opinion, it creates imbalance in the system. Girls who really enter NYGH with 250 may end up suffering because of inability to compete. So, parents should really think hard if this is what they want their DDs to go through. My humble opinion. Pls don't throw fire at me.KS4Son:
[quote=\"Kiasucy\"]
Every year many parents try to get their gal to NYPS or transfer to NYPS from another primary school because of this affiliation scheme.
No one is saying that the NYPS girls do not appreciate the lower COP but the fact remains - WHY does everyone try to DSA in the first place...this includes the GEPers ? It is for a peace of mind. Also, many other good and reputable schools such as SCGS and MGS have even much lower COPs for their sister primary schools. A 20-25point difference in COP explains why their affiliated primary students accept that DSA should be kept for kids from other schools because a huge number will and do get in. I am not advocating this for NYGH, dont get me wrong. Do these schools have less able and less outstanding students in the long run? Aside from branding and elitism, I think many people would say that both schools are great schools with history, traditions and strong sense of belonging.
My point was never about the COP. It was about DSA.
Perhaps, it would help if you put yourself in these NYPS Tweens' position.
The kids nowadays are very smart and much more matured than kids born 20 years ago. They know exactly who from the 2011 cohort went to what school, why & many individuals' PSLE scores. They ask why so and so, no matter how outstanding/ talented at NYPS was rejected by NYGH. They know that quite a few who were rejected by NYGH during the DSA phase ( some via CCa and some via academics) subsequently performed very well at PSLE but because they were hurt and disappointed, they automatically moved to RGS/ NUSH to prove their point. The feeling that they are disadvantaged at DSA, ironically, encourages them to try DSA into other schools in the first place. It's a double whammy.
Some may say they are childish but if it were you, the adult, the response may not have been so different. They are after all human. They have feelings and they know when they are being taken for granted especially when they are constantly reminded to be so grateful for the lower COP.Everyone knows that anything can happen on exam day and marks can be volatile even for the top 10-20% of the cohort.
They KNOW that they are disadvantaged when it's comes to direct admission into their own sister school, NYGH. They talk about it all the time ! They also know that rival schools such as RGS would be quite happy to take them if it could. The psychological impact of feeling disadvantaged at DSA by their sister school is under estimated. Perhaps, the answer is balance. The need to balance what is good for NYGH in terms of medals and what is good for the overall Nanyang spirit.[/quote]I believe there were many non-NYPS students who did not get CO from NYGH but at the end scored very well for PSLE. So, how could you conculde that the NYPS students were disadvantaged for DSA by their sister school just because you knew a few similar cases? There could be many possible reasons for not getting a CO e.g. not doing well for the DSA tests, interview etc. The students who scored very well in both the school exams and PSLE may not be the top students for the domain they applied for. Bear in mind that the school may take in only very few students for each domain, maybe just 1 or 2 for certain domains. -
Otah:
jtoh is right. There is absolutely no affiliation. There is absolutely no special advantage in sharing the same name, unlike affiliated schools. Why did you say there is some non-verbal priority? Can you share where you get that kind of information from?
Why leh? How about GEP RGPS girls ? Some kind of non-verbal priority given in the past rite? :siam:jtoh:
RGS does not have any affiliated primary school. A lot of people mistakenly assume that RGPS is affiliated to RGS. It is not. -
little kiasu:
peterch:
[quote=\"Love iPad\"]Which sport is it? Tot kids need to be short listed before allow to go for trial.
Basketball. That's the way they did for years and I think they are the only one who do that
I think ... they are not only one... other sport also same concept.... different school has diff way of selection method.... some time coach already familier with kids by seeing them in other competation/friendly match performance, etc... :evil: ...[/quote]If I saw what happened last Saturday, the concept backfired at the coach at last :evil: as the other school is 'more appealing' :censored:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.