DSA 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    5.5k Posts 388 Posters 3.2m Views 1 Watching
    • emohE Offline
      emoh

leeven:
      kiasumeme:

I'm not sure if it is appropriate to place this query here but do really appreciate to hear some opinion. \"What would be your choice between SJI-IB vs HCI? SJI has projected a very convincing image that it is a school of character whilst the latter is a highly sought after, reputable institution with good track records.\"

Kiasumeme, list the questions like below and answer yourself and ask your DS to answer which will lead u to what u want . This I have done my side which made me decide green pants and not white pants.

1. Interest in Mother Tongue.
      2. Do you want him to mingle with multi culture people or get taste of the tradition more.
      3. CCA's and other clubs the school has that might interest your child and how high the chance to get what he wants to.
      4. Your's child capacity and style of learning.
      5. Relaxed phase / Non relaxed phase of learning.
      6. IB is for about the Critical thinking & Management Skills and A-Level route dont have (unless the school has seperate pgms for these and your DS gets chance to participate)
      7. Are you after branded name.
      8. How much ure DS will have chance to participate in pgrms they have in the school , this is more important. school might have many things but if your DS didnt get chance then what is the point joing the school

Something about the green pants school openly solicts gifts from parents for its teachers which is also discuss in the other forum:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40023

Fresco

BeContented:
        breezy:

[quote=\"BeContented\"]Most of all, being amongst the rich would mean DS has to be very strong in his character, must be able to withstand the temptation, possible taunting (intentional/unintentional) from his peers etc. He will need to learn and I will need to manage his 'why others have, I can't :stompfeet:

Understand your concern but really, if u and your son like the program and the school environment feels good, go ahead with it.

To begin with, every sch (esp independent schools), have rich kids. It doesnt mean that rich kids would flaunt their wealth in schools.

It is a misconception that ACSI is flooded with such boys. The truth is that
        10% of the boys are on Financial Assistance Scheme. My son goes to ACSI
        and he is in sec 3 IP now. He was from a neighbourhood primary school and

we stay in HDB flat. Never once, did i hear him complain about his friend (may it be politician's or president's grandson, CEO's son...blabla) appearing
        proud or felt pressured to own a certain expensive gadget becos his friends have it.

His schoolmates are also very happy coming to my HDB home for stayovers
        and work on projects, etc. None of them appeared snobbish.

As for donations, it is on a volunteer basis. Once after chinese new year (the money collected will use to fund needy schoolmates for yearly overseas trip starting in secondary 2), the other sometime midyr.

Happy deciding! :))))

😉 I also know not all are rich, but perhaps the ratio might be on the higher side hence this perception (plus people like us think think think then dare not go ACSI ....end up only rich ones went ahead to join :rotflmao: ) Anyway, it's all speculation 😄

As for flaunting their wealth, guess I did mention that some are unintentional and sometimes, it's ourselves who gets sensitive/envious/jealous/upset cos cannot afford .... :oops: But I just wanted to highlight this aspect cos' it can get sticky if the child gets 'affected'. My DS is ok, but DD is one such gal who would whine over such
        things....took a lot of effort to explain and discipline 😓 :frustrated: So must really depend on the child.

Anyway, thanks for sharing. Was hoping to read more.....positive or negative. At least can make informed decision. Glad your child found good friends and happy there......will make many of us more assured 😄[/quote]
        My nephew is in ACSI now and he is doing very well there. According to him, all his classmates stay in HDB flats except for two, one stays in a condo and the other in landed property. There aren't any 'Richie Rich' issues among the classmates and they learn and play with one another like good brothers. They even piggy back one another at times during their fun times.

ACSI has all along been branded with having the 'Richie Rich' boy mentality which I think is a misconception. With Singaporeans getting more and more affluent, even the average household can provide reasonably well for their kids and they are not lacking in their 'wants' except the few minority. So students should in no way feel inferior and be intimidated when faced with
        their richer counterparts. What's important is our kids learn the importance of self-awareness, being able to feel good and proud of who they are and what they can be. They should learn to be resilient, adaptable and relate well to people from all walks of life and background, managing them with good EQ.

ACSI is a great school which has done very good jobs on character building in their students. I must say the school has produced many 'an officer and a gentleman' students all these years.

• Malsy9M Offline
          Malsy9

Thank you parents .

Snow Crystal

Fresco:

ACSI has all along been branded with having the 'Richie Rich' boy mentality which I think is a misconception. With Singaporeans getting more and more affluent, even the average household can provide reasonably well for their kids and they are not lacking in their 'wants' except the few minority. So students should in no way feel inferior and be intimidated when faced with
            their richer counterparts. What's important is our kids learn the importance of self-awareness, being able to feel good and proud of who they are and what they can be. They should learn to be resilient, adaptable and relate well to people from all walks of life and background, managing them with good EQ.

ACSI is a great school which has done very good jobs on character building in their students. I must say the school has produced many 'an officer and a gentleman' students all these years.
            :goodpost:
            Maybe some may have confused ACSI with ACS International :? I believe the latter may have higher proportion of Richie Rich - alamak siam :siam:

ACSI boys are in general very eloquent, confident and not shy or awkward types. The AC education is holistic with kids less comparing or measuring each other by marks only. Sports and CCA are huge there so will mould a boy into a more rounded person. All ACSI boys have to take 2 CCAs including one uniformed group, except for certain exempted boys.

breezy

[quote=\"Snow Crystal\"] The AC education is holistic with kids less comparing or measuring each other by marks only. Sports and CCA are huge there so will mould a boy into a more rounded person. [quote]

:goodpost:
              This is absolutely true. As a parent, i am glad that the boys are not overly competitive over marks. 😄 My son was highly introverted. Still is, but much less today....I am thankful that for the 3 yrs in the school, he is consistently challenged and encouraged to break out of his shell, be it through curriculum based presentations, competitions or CCAs.

abcdlovesrv

Rv’s an awesome sch, my dd is in RV and she is currently doing very well

• Q Offline
                  QLL

Hallelujah:
                  I just received Rejection letter from RV by post today. Those had not received, might be CO...

No. I don't think so. I still haven't received any news since now. But my DS hasn't been invited to interview and no noticification yet so far although I know he was being kicked out from successful application.
                  Anyway, still got psle going on. Work hard![/quote]

I was informed that CO was only sent out yesterday. Looking forward to Monday's mail.[/quote]

Were you informed by RV of that? Does it mean that letters received on Monday will all be COs? 😄 RV's DSA process is tedious and is the last school to give out results. I am waiting too. 😓[/quote]

Yes, I was told: CO will be sent out today(Friday).

mamakata

My DD has the happy dilemna of receiving 2 offers - MGS-IP and SCGS-IP. I’ve looked through previous discussions and there’s lots of discussions about RGS/NYGH and RI/HCI but have not found any discussion on MGS vs SCGS. Can KSPs with experience of the schools share your views? Since both are good girls school, I’ve said I’d let her choose after psle, but would like to advise her of all the relevant considerations (otherwise she may just follow her friends’ views). Main difference seems to be IB vs A Level. Thanks!

jtoh

mamakata:
                      My DD has the happy dilemna of receiving 2 offers - MGS-IP and SCGS-IP. I've looked through previous discussions and there's lots of discussions about RGS/NYGH and RI/HCI but have not found any discussion on MGS vs SCGS. Can KSPs with experience of the schools share your views? Since both are good girls school, I've said I'd let her choose after psle, but would like to advise her of all the relevant considerations (otherwise she may just follow her friends' views). Main difference seems to be IB vs A Level. Thanks!

Other considerations:

Methodist vs Secular school
                      Established IB Programme at ACSI vs New JC

mamakata:
                        My DD has the happy dilemna of receiving 2 offers - MGS-IP and SCGS-IP. I've looked through previous discussions and there's lots of discussions about RGS/NYGH and RI/HCI, but have not found any discussion on MGS vs SCGS.

SCGS IP just starting out, not yet proven to parents to what extent how good or how strong she is. At this point in time, nobody knows.

She is a new born \"baby\", compared to rest of her peers from other established IP programme that's been running & fine-tuned, re-adjusted for constant improvement for some / many years already. (eg: MGS, NJC, etc).

which environment do you prefer to see your daughter raised up in - for the next 6 years, from now ?

to be exposed and raised up in a nurturing environment, strong mission based Methodist Christian school -
                        that is willing to guide and impart teaching of good, sound character moral values - teaching these young ladies how to be a God fearing woman, OR

to be raised up in a secular world ?

will be good if we may hear views from SCGS school representatives in this forum, who can share with parents how her new IP curriculum structure is like - esp. compared against heavy weight, established MGS IP.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 487 / 555