P1 workload
caroline3sg:
Many, if not all project work, assignments are all parents' work. They do not reflect the true grade of the children. Such parents' effort/work can still be seen in mid pri.
I agree. Not to forget that some kids may be 'free riders', and some kids that do not have computers at home or internet access will be at the disadvantage. -
winth
Agree with your observation below:
P1/P2: 80-90 marks range
P3/P4: 60-70 marks range
P5/P6: 50 marks range
Because:
1) P3 & P5 are a level up from their previous levels.
2) Pre sch education (esp premium child care centres) have done the preparatory groundwork
3) as you said, some sch have honeymoon during P1/P2.
Comparing P5 & 6, the questions are also getting harder / need deeper thought for P6.
I notice MOE brought forward sec syllabus to P6. Is it necessary?
All these yrs MOE have kept changing their syllabus, students have been guinea pigs for as long as since Tharman took over till now Ng Eng Hen. -
Hi caroline,
I've only stopped teaching 4 years ago before joining workforce so I might not be updated with what happened these recent 4 years. I specialise only in maths and chinese, so I know only the curriculum for these 2 subjects.
[quote]students have been guinea pigs[/quote]Can't agree more.
If I remember correctly, I thought I only starting seeing algebra in math in P6? You mean they brought more in meh?
As for the other additions, maybe you could specify further?
I was already into some of the new syllabus when I begin teaching, so I might not understand what you mean. -
winth
I am comparing our time with now.
Maths, I mean algebra. But the PSLE questions are totally different level from assessment books (ie Andrew Er). Like that how to prepare for PSLE??? I recently engaged a 21-yr-old guy entering U this yr, who had As in his days.
Science, some of us adults also can’t attempt the OE questions, let alone the kids. Else it would be having difficulty phrasing the sentence though we may know the answer.
Side track a bit, S’pore govt wants to be hub for everything, medical, transport, education. We are labelled as Tuition Nation. Many businesses are making big bucks out of this industry. Emphasis is on grades in this meritocratic society. Will the children of cream of crop having learnt the knowledge follow the footsteps of current ministers (HDB, Transport, liberalise PUB become SP) who are chasing after money and lost track of the ground issues faced by man in the street? The replies from these ministries do make human/logical sense. -
Hi caroline,
You must agree with me that children this generation are SO MUCH (many times) cleverer than children in our generation. And that’s like 4-5 generations ago.
So, we should never compare children in the 60-70s with children this century. Evolution has made children this age naturally smarter than our parents and even ourselves.
For maths, the new syllabus has introduced proportions/fractions (bar-type working) to solve many problem sums and algebra to solve multiple variations. This has actually helped children of this age.
I remember that during my time for PSLE, I’ve always wondered how to solve those problem sums. Once I remember my math tutor trying to use algebra to explain how to solve one of my PSLE questions, I was like thinking ‘this guy must be nuts’ and I had no algebra exposure back then in the 80s when I took my PSLE. Now with the new syllabus, I feel that it has made things very clear and easy for the children for they can try solving them using algebra. Plus, they will continue to learn algebra throughout their sec and JC days, so I would agree with the addition. Actually algebra concept is already being taught in P1 and P2 with the use of number bonds/organization method as foundation. So I don’t think it’s fair to say that MOE just introduced them during P5/P6 to stress the students.
Actually if you don’t talk about those especially difficult questions (to sieve out the high IQ-ed from the normal hardworking children), PSLE can still be prepared using Andrew Er.
Science was never my cup of tea, so I can’t comment. What I can remember is that Science in PSLE is a general topic of how wide you read/exposed to. Textbooks only serve as a general foundation for you. This happened during my time when I took PSLE. So you can’t really prepare them if you only read and memorise textbook stuff. -
Hi caroline,
If you are engaging a private tutor to help your child, pls try to let the tutor focus on only 1 or 2 subjects. Try not to go for the 3-in-1 or 4-in-1 type. I know parents will find that $x spent, can take care of all 3/4 subjects, $x spent, take care of only 1/2 subject, former calculation more cost effective. But actually to me, that’s a waste of precious money.
If the tutor is really good, you should ask what are his strong subjects, and ‘attack’ on your child’s weaker subjects.
I have seen many types of teaching models in parents, so that’s my 2cents worth. -
winth
Thank you for your message. I am not that type that go for 3 in 1 or 4 in 1 tuition. I am a very hands on FTWM. I have just started 1-1 Maths. Last yr sent to a centre for Maths.
Science, I have been teaching her since P3. Due to the shift in focus to experiment type questions, I also send her to centre, starting this yr. Generally guys are better in teaching Science & Maths. Both the tutors are guys.
The home tutor was recommended by an agency when I approached them. As my girl is in an elite sch, the agency recommended this guy from ACS/ACJC. It furnished me with his credentials. Indeed he has all As except chinese. He is receptive to what I request.
While I agree that model drawing (a powerful tool for conceptualisation) helps to visualise what the problem sum is asking, we had algebra from sec days. There are just too many topics to be squeezed in pri syllabus (fractions, decimals, ratio, speed, rate –> all are very big topics). We never know when the next step MOE would introduce statistics.
Nowadays children may be smarter than we were, this is due to the exposure to IT gadgets, TV, website. -
[quote]Mine P1, neighbourhood sch, since last week, everyday 2 pages of homework, either eng or maths. This week, either 4 pages maths or eng. Maths so far easy, have completed p16 of activity book. Eng, last night, vocab (picture matching with words, vocab cloze) words: pupils, neighbour, classmates, classroom, teacher, computer, friends, school, count, read, together, write, uniform.
Yesterday first chinese spelling: the 5 han yu pin yin
Next week first eng spelling[/quote]Hi caroline, which school is your girl in?
It looks like a very 'on' school to me.
[quote]As my girl is in an elite sch[/quote]Any reason why you sent your elder girl to a different school?
[quote]Generally guys are better in teaching Science & Maths. Both the tutors are guys. [/quote]Agreed, with some variation. Guys score well in both subjects generally, but might not be able to teach as well as they understand leh... I find girls has more EQ and able to connect with children easier. -
winth
My boy, P1, CCKPS
My girl, P6, RGPS (all girls sch, so can't send my boy there).
Which sch have you taught before?
[quote]Guys score well in both subjects generally, but might not be able to teach as well as they understand leh[/quote]That's why one of my important requests for him is to reinforce this week what have been taught last week. I would test my girl why this why that, if she can't answer me, I would tell him, so he has to drill until she understands.
The first tutor was a female, full time tutor and taking honours this yr. I selected her because she was from Nanyang and had taught 5 x P6 last yr. But she too ya ya, thought that she knows best. So I terminated her after 1 mth.
Tutoring is not an easy job. Also has to handle parents. And I am no ordinary mother who just pay blindly. -
winth
It does not mean having tuition I would hands off. I will fill in the gaps with my more EQ??:D
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.