P1 workload

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    90 Posts 28 Posters 33.3k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      orangeme

My DD has maths homework everyday. Eng spelling and hanyu pinying tingxie every week. Sometimes she'll bring back the 'Hao Peng You' magazines for me to read with her then the next day bring back to sch for teacher to keep.

There will be 2- 3 sets of homework on Friday due to the weekend....didn't see much of the Eng homework but the sch gets an external vendor to teach phonics/ speech & drama once a week.

The P1 will also starts IT skills in term 2 (once a week) when they'll have full time IT trainers to teach them keyboarding skills as a start.

The CCA (not compulary) for P1 & 2 but my DD can't wait to join chinese dance so she'll have to reach sch at 10am on the CCA day....she'll have lesser time at home.. 😒

pokemon

orangeme:
        My DD has maths homework everyday. Eng spelling and hanyu pinying tingxie every week. Sometimes she'll bring back the 'Hao Peng You' magazines for me to read with her then the next day bring back to sch for teacher to keep.

There will be 2- 3 sets of homework on Friday due to the weekend....didn't see much of the Eng homework but the sch gets an external vendor to teach phonics/ speech & drama once a week.

The P1 will also starts IT skills in term 2 (once a week) when they'll have full time IT trainers to teach them keyboarding skills as a start.

The CCA (not compulary) for P1 & 2 but my DD can't wait to join chinese dance so she'll have to reach sch at 10am on the CCA day....she'll have lesser time at home.. 😒
        orangeme,

Yr dd seems to have quite alot of homework for P1, is she in any of the top school? Sometimes, they cant finish their assigned work in class, teacher has no choice but get them to bring home, that mayb Y she have so much to bring home. I always question my ds when i see his work is half done, he either talk too much to frens, gt distracted or simply slow

• O Offline
          orangeme

Hi pokemon,

I spoke to her form teacher during the networking workshop and she told me my girl usually finished her classwork on time and she will proceed to the class library corner to read some story books. Hence, those work that she brought home - are purely 'homework' as stated in her handbook. The teacher said why there are maths homework almost everyday is because they have so many maths books to complete....sigh...I happened to glance thru' some of her class work (kept in the class, i think they'll only bring home after term 1) and found that her teacher has given them a separate exercise book for mental sums.

And no, she's in a neighbourhood school but they have a new P about a year ago.

Teacher also informed us that they will stream the P1 at the end of the year, there will be 2 best classes for P2 and the remaining classes will be grouped randomly.

I know that some schs, the children stay in the same class from P1 to P2....streaming only starts at P3 😒

tree nymph

Hi Mummies,

As compared to your kids' homework, mine is really light. The only time I see him back home with homework to do is last thur. But I think that's because there's no school on Fri so the teacher asked the kids to bring back the stuff they are supposed to complete in class on Friday to do at home.

But he has weekly HYPY tingxie and spelling. This coming week's spelling I'm expecting him to do very poorly. 😐 😐

• O Offline
              orangeme

ya, they are having Eng spelling on the CNY week (19/2)...wonder how to find time to learn? :?

tree nymph

i think my kid's school has already considered this. that's why the words for this week is quite difficult while the words for the CNY week is very simple. but my kid is the super duper playful kind, and when he doesn;t have the mood, he can;t study. and i;m not able to get him to learn these past few days, so i expect him to get all wrong... πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

• O Offline
                  orangeme

Hi tree nymph,

My girl, too. When she's not in the mood, she'll grumble and frown...this afternoon i tried to get her to learn ting xie (for Wed) and she said she wants a nap :roll:

She's that kind must wait till the day b4 then she'll take it seriously lor...

Her teachers practise the 'reward' system so those who score full marks will get a sticker on the performance chart. At the end of the month, those that have most stickers will receive a small token (a cute pencil or something) from the teacher. According to DD, the reward system applies to good behaviour, too.

DD is very game and hope she'll work hard for this πŸ™

tamarind

Dear all,

I went to my girl's primary school to attend a talk about the Stellar program and about how they teach maths.

The heads of department said that they try to let the kids finish all their work in school. Kids who can finish will have no home work.

They also said that it is not good to have a lot of home work. They encourage parents to let kids read as many story books as possible, and not to do so many assessment books πŸ˜‰ That is in line with my thinking too.

• O Offline
                      orangeme

tamarind:

They also said that it is not good to have a lot of home work. They encourage parents to let kids read as many story books as possible, and not to do so many assessment books πŸ˜‰ That is in line with my thinking too.
                      hmm, not a lot of homework - about 3 pages for maths per day, will have more over the weekend. DD usually completes within 15-20 mins.
                      For Eng is usually a piece of worksheet for them to write a few sentences for the week's theme (eg: draw and write about Dan the flying man)

Oh, i've spared her from all the assessment books since P1 starts. i want her to settle down in her new school routine.

Her FT shared with us that if the child is able to complete his/ her homework without much help (or better, no help) from the parents, then it should be quite safe to say she/ he understands the work for the day πŸ˜„
                      So i'll say a bit of homework is still essential, so long the child don't complaint lor (or maybe not yet ??) πŸ˜‰

just my personal opinion πŸ˜„

pokemon

orangeme:
                        Hi pokemon,

I spoke to her form teacher during the networking workshop and she told me my girl usually finished her classwork on time and she will proceed to the class library corner to read some story books. Hence, those work that she brought home - are purely 'homework' as stated in her handbook. The teacher said why there are maths homework almost everyday is because they have so many maths books to complete....sigh...I happened to glance thru' some of her class work (kept in the class, i think they'll only bring home after term 1) and found that her teacher has given them a separate exercise book for mental sums.

And no, she's in a neighbourhood school but they have a new P about a year ago.

Teacher also informed us that they will stream the P1 at the end of the year, there will be 2 best classes for P2 and the remaining classes will be grouped randomly.

I know that some schs, the children stay in the same class from P1 to P2....streaming only starts at P3 😒
                        Mine ds sch oso hv mental sums exercise book, i almost fainted when he brought bk for me to sign juz 3rd wk of sch and they have already done 3x. My ds said his teacher dun juz read out \"3+5+2=?\", she will say in sentence eg, 5 more dan 3 is how many? And on the 3rd week, he had his 1st math topical test.

Cn u share what are the math books your dd is using in sch? mine besides the mental sum, only have my pal activity books.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 9