P1 workload

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    90 Posts 28 Posters 33.3k Views 1 Watching
      caroline3sg

winth

Thank you for your message. I am not that type that go for 3 in 1 or 4 in 1 tuition. I am a very hands on FTWM. I have just started 1-1 Maths. Last yr sent to a centre for Maths.

Science, I have been teaching her since P3. Due to the shift in focus to experiment type questions, I also send her to centre, starting this yr. Generally guys are better in teaching Science & Maths. Both the tutors are guys.

The home tutor was recommended by an agency when I approached them. As my girl is in an elite sch, the agency recommended this guy from ACS/ACJC. It furnished me with his credentials. Indeed he has all As except chinese. He is receptive to what I request.

While I agree that model drawing (a powerful tool for conceptualisation) helps to visualise what the problem sum is asking, we had algebra from sec days. There are just too many topics to be squeezed in pri syllabus (fractions, decimals, ratio, speed, rate –> all are very big topics). We never know when the next step MOE would introduce statistics.

Nowadays children may be smarter than we were, this is due to the exposure to IT gadgets, TV, website.

winth

[quote]Mine P1, neighbourhood sch, since last week, everyday 2 pages of homework, either eng or maths. This week, either 4 pages maths or eng. Maths so far easy, have completed p16 of activity book. Eng, last night, vocab (picture matching with words, vocab cloze) words: pupils, neighbour, classmates, classroom, teacher, computer, friends, school, count, read, together, write, uniform.

Yesterday first chinese spelling: the 5 han yu pin yin
        Next week first eng spelling[/quote]Hi caroline, which school is your girl in?
        It looks like a very 'on' school to me.
        [quote]As my girl is in an elite sch[/quote]Any reason why you sent your elder girl to a different school?
        [quote]Generally guys are better in teaching Science & Maths. Both the tutors are guys. [/quote]Agreed, with some variation. Guys score well in both subjects generally, but might not be able to teach as well as they understand leh... I find girls has more EQ and able to connect with children easier.

caroline3sg

winth

My boy, P1, CCKPS
          My girl, P6, RGPS (all girls sch, so can't send my boy there).

Which sch have you taught before?

[quote]Guys score well in both subjects generally, but might not be able to teach as well as they understand leh[/quote]That's why one of my important requests for him is to reinforce this week what have been taught last week. I would test my girl why this why that, if she can't answer me, I would tell him, so he has to drill until she understands.

The first tutor was a female, full time tutor and taking honours this yr. I selected her because she was from Nanyang and had taught 5 x P6 last yr. But she too ya ya, thought that she knows best. So I terminated her after 1 mth.

Tutoring is not an easy job. Also has to handle parents. And I am no ordinary mother who just pay blindly.

caroline3sg

winth

It does not mean having tuition I would hands off. I will fill in the gaps with my more EQ??:D

winth

Most of the popular schools plus many other neighbouring schools, plus other JC and Sec schools levels just for Maths and Chinese, as long as they could pay my fees… hehe…

schellen

schellen:

My DD so far only brought back one colouring exercise with simple writing on lines and a simple Maths exercise.

ADD: Forgot to mention a Chinese colouring exercise.

:!: cos
                1) the colouring on the farm animals my boy said no need to colour at home. he said can colour in class when waiting for others to complete their work (so far he is <50% done with the colouring)
                2) math exercise???!!!
                3) chinese colouring???!!!

I only see the farm one and the art and craft face.

😐

1) Ah, my DD didn't say that the colouring one is to colour in class so she got up early one morning to finish colouring it. The writing part and half the colouring were already done in school.
                2) the math exercise one they do like 3 time already cos I saw 3 different dates in the workbook. But the concepts were already taught in K1/K2 so it was easy. So don't worry. I only knew got homework cos I was packing DD's bag and happened to see the maths workbook in her bag. Since the workbook is usually kept by teacher at school, I browsed through it to check why she brought it home.
                3) The Chinese colouring one was on first or second day of school. The title of the exercise in the workbook is \"miao yi miao\". Maybe your DS completed it at school?

I also saw the art and craft face. If colouring is required, my DD likes to use many colours, even for just one horse, and will colour very neatly and slowly. Maybe that's why she had to bring it home to do as homework?

caroline3sg

winth

Oh so you are a tutor? I thought you taught in mainstream pri sch.

winth

[quote]Tutoring is not an easy job. Also has to handle parents.[/quote]
                    hehe... no lar... moe didn't want me when I tried to apply for secondary school level... said got to study in nie... local uni not good enough...
                    Thought you already knew when you said above.

so went back to 老本行 when i join back workforce.

caroline3sg

winth

It is not that local uni not gd enough. Everyone gets knowledge from formal schooling. But NIE teaches teachers-to-be methodologies, strategies on teaching, share on new syallabus / directives. They must have SOP.
                      [quote]Now I don't even know whether the schools I've shortlisted has got CA or not... Neighbourhood schools, the website like few years ago type... siao liao... [/quote]Which sch are you looking at?

winth

New Town Pri and Queenstown... you have any idea which is better?

[quote]It is not that local uni not gd enough. Everyone gets knowledge from formal schooling. But NIE teaches teachers-to-be methodologies, strategies on teaching, share on new syallabus / directives. They must have SOP. [/quote]True lar... so decided that might as well go teach the subjects I'm best at and I can explain better with since I understand the concepts, rather than go for rigid system. They even tell me if I teach eng-based subjects, I cannot choose which subjects to teach. Scarly I kanna science, how? My face was already 😐 liao.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 9

NuriahN
                        Nuriah