JEI/PSLE Math - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    377 Posts 94 Posters 241.5k Views 1 Watching
      headache1969

Personally, I would think its easier to understand if it is presented as a number statement. Sometime I wonder what is MOE thinking.

Anyway, thanks for the highlight, my P2 DD teacher told me presentation in timeline format needed but not in P2 syllabus yet. Will be in P3. I told her, they teach the P2 children adding hours and minutes in number statement format. Then when come to P3, they introduce adding time and time duration. Suddenly timeline is required. Of course there is confusion. (I also learn the difference between time(9.10am) and time duration (9hr 10min)

JEI PSLE MATH:
      Common Mistakes With \"Time\"

It is a common mistake among students to present addition and subtraction of time and time duration as number statements.

Error Example 1:

8.10pm + 2h 20min = 10.30pm

Error Example 2:

8.10pm -> 8hr 10min
      8hr 10min + 2hr 20min =10hr 30min
      10hr 30min -> 10.30pm

The PSLE accepted presentation is using the time line.

SA2 is around the corner. Questions relating to time are usually not difficult and it would be a pity to lose precious marks because of presentation.

JEI PSLE MATH:

Dear all,

We have compiled a list of common mistakes committed by students, categorised into \"Upper Primary\", \"Lower Primary\" and \"All Levels\". Due to copyright reasons we will not be able to offer it online for download. Nevertheless, you may collect a copy from our Ang Mo Kio or Marine Parade branches.[/size]

All the best to our children coming CA2!

http://i52.tinypic.com/4ghyeo.jpg\">

forever_kiasu

Spot on Headache1969.

My DS in P2 learn adding time in statement format and my DS in P3 learn adding time in timeline format. Indeed my P3 DS find it difficult to draw the timeline. I think children find it easier to write number versus drawing. I also don't know what is the fuss about presentation. Maybe we parents should gather together and write to MOE to stop fussing about format. It is just being stupidly inflexible.

headache1969:

Personally, I would think its easier to understand if it is presented as a number statement. Sometime I wonder what is MOE thinking.

Anyway, thanks for the highlight, my P2 DD teacher told me presentation in timeline format needed but not in P2 syllabus yet. Will be in P3. I told her, they teach the P2 children adding hours and minutes in number statement format. Then when come to P3, they introduce adding time and time duration. Suddenly timeline is required. Of course there is confusion. (I also learn the difference between time(9.10am) and time duration (9hr 10min)
        JEI PSLE MATH:

Common Mistakes With \"Time\"

It is a common mistake among students to present addition and subtraction of time and time duration as number statements.

Error Example 1:

8.10pm + 2h 20min = 10.30pm

Error Example 2:

8.10pm -> 8hr 10min
        8hr 10min + 2hr 20min =10hr 30min
        10hr 30min -> 10.30pm

The PSLE accepted presentation is using the time line.

SA2 is around the corner. Questions relating to time are usually not difficult and it would be a pity to lose precious marks because of presentation.

[quote=\"JEI PSLE MATH\"]Dear all,

We have compiled a list of common mistakes committed by students, categorised into \"Upper Primary\", \"Lower Primary\" and \"All Levels\". Due to copyright reasons we will not be able to offer it online for download. Nevertheless, you may collect a copy from our Ang Mo Kio or Marine Parade branches.[/size]

All the best to our children coming CA2!

http://i52.tinypic.com/4ghyeo.jpg\">

fanbing

After much research and after a few free trials in several centres :oops: , I finally signed up with JEIPsle. My DS feel its worksheets is more challenging and he feel comfortable in the class and the teacher. The environment is not bad, don't look like tuition centre. After his lesson, his teacher also give me a brief of what was taught and area which she will focus in next lesson.

My DS tell me the centre is now doing something call select papers which is a collection of common questions students make mistakes. Sound like a good method to prepare for exams. I hope this will give him a last minute boost for SA2.

vlim

fanbing:
            After much research and after a few free trials in several centres :oops: , I finally signed up with JEIPsle. My DS feel its worksheets is more challenging and he feel comfortable in the class and the teacher. The environment is not bad, don't look like tuition centre. After his lesson, his teacher also give me a brief of what was taught and area which she will focus in next lesson.

My DS tell me the centre is now doing something call select papers which is a collection of common questions students make mistakes. Sound like a good method to prepare for exams. I hope this will give him a last minute boost for SA2.
            I also just signed up my dd at the AMK branch. My impression is that the teachers are pretty delicated. The class size is small (max 5) which I think is good for kids who need more coaching especially. After every lessons the teacher will come out and brief the parents individaully what the kids have done during the lessons. They also provide free revision lessons for coming sa2. So hope to see some improvement in my dd sa2, though I don't expect much as only join them recently... 😄

fanbing

Vlim,

My DS is with Marine Parade branch. Not aware about the free revision class. I will checkout. They did give out past year papers as homework. Even during the trial they gave it to my DS. And during the actual lesson they also give. My DS say he will have to do one as homework every week until end of SA2.

The centre manager is Michelle. I find her very helpful and detail. One customer tell me she is very popular among the older students. Too bad she don't teach P4 on weekends. Which level is yr DD in?

Marine Parade branch is in a building opposite parkway parade. It is really a mad house there. The lift is crowded all the time and the carpark is a long queue to get in. When I was at jei it was ok until during the change of class time, it is chaotic, the students changing class, the teachers briefing the parents. I ask a parent, is it normal? She say, wait 10 min all will be quiet again. Indeed she is right.

My advise, if mummies have time on weekday, should sign up on weekdays.

vlim:
              fanbing:

I also just signed up my dd at the AMK branch. My impression is that the teachers are pretty delicated. The class size is small (max 5) which I think is good for kids who need more coaching especially. After every lessons the teacher will come out and brief the parents individaully what the kids have done during the lessons. They also provide free revision lessons for coming sa2. So hope to see some improvement in my dd sa2, though I don't expect much as only join them recently... 😄

vlim

maybe my dd just joined and they think my dd need more help hahaaaa! AMK branch has an open carpark right in front of it ..so no lift conjestion.. 😉

iFirefly

vlim:
                  maybe my dd just joined and they think my dd need more help hahaaaa! AMK branch has an open carpark right in front of it ..so no lift conjestion.. 😉

Hi vlim, nice to 'see' you here! I am planning to sign up math tuition for my DS2 next year (too late for this year liao) and I am considering JEI or Concept Math. How do you find JEI? Good for playful kids like my DS2?

I am also sourcing for Eng, Chi & Sci tuition for DS2 next year (comparing with his gor gor who did not have any tuition except this year P6 for Eng only, sigh!).

vlim

firefly38:
                    vlim:

Hi vlim, nice to 'see' you here! I am planning to sign up math tuition for my DS2 next year (too late for this year liao) and I am considering JEI or Concept Math. How do you find JEI? Good for playful kids like my DS2?

I am also sourcing for Eng, Chi & Sci tuition for DS2 next year (comparing with his gor gor who did not have any tuition except this year P6 for Eng only, sigh!).

Hi firefly 38,
                    We meet again Hahaaa ! I think its plus point is small class size and teachers are delicated. I haven't visited concept maths before so no comment abt it. I think u got to pay a visit to both centers if u want to find out whether which suits your kids better... 😄

iFirefly

vlim:
                      firefly38:

[quote=\"vlim\"]maybe my dd just joined and they think my dd need more help hahaaaa! AMK branch has an open carpark right in front of it ..so no lift conjestion.. 😉

Hi firefly 38,
                      We meet again Hahaaa ! I think its plus point is small class size and teachers are delicated. I haven't visited concept maths before so no comment abt it. I think u got to pay a visit to both centers if u want to find out whether which suits your kids better... 😄[/quote]i went to concept math once, by chance (to pass something to a friend's son who was having tuition there).. i met janice and spoke to her.. she seemed very passionate about teaching and was very friendly, she even showed me the sample worksheets and explained to me in detail how her teachers would conduct the lessons..

i havent been to jei/psle math yet (i mean inside, but have seen it from outside as i used to bring my kids to blk163 to see dr. ng).. i will drop by to take a look, maybe after DS2's SA2 exam..

maybe our kids may be classmates at JEI next year.. 😉 😄

homeworkmummy

fanbing:

Hi fanbing

I am also looking around for Maths enrichment classes for my P6 DD. Looks like JEI has some good feedback. Could I know which centres you have compared with JEI?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 38