In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

In front of my SIL, she acts all demure bcos my SIL is eldest DIL and the fiercest. But with me, she can’t wait to swallow me. My mum tells me to tolerate her, since hardly see her. Really terrible and scheming.

Andaiz

In front of my SIL, she acts all demure bcos my SIL is eldest DIL and the fiercest. But with me, she can't wait to swallow me. My mum tells me to tolerate her, since hardly see her. Really terrible and scheming.

janet_lee88, I'm the older SIL but I've been brought up like you - respect elders, filial (I hope lah!). And taught well by mummy to tolerate etc....
        My SIL shouts at her and show \"colours\" loh. :stupid: :stupid: so I've learnt to tolerate since I hardly see her. Just this weekend, she had a shouting match with my DH and he was really livid! When he recounted what they argued about, I was like :!:. It's very sad that she likes to spread rumours and report all the wrong stuff to others, causing division. I know now why my SIL made sure that my BIL left Church to her CHurch....sigh!

My SIL is the eldest DIL…very fierce and not the type you can afford to offend. To me, I just tolerate the old ones bcos I don’t want to suffer retribution for being mean to old folks. Just keep arms length and don’t think about them lah…besides I’m so busy with my 2 kids, how to care ?

kuzco

auntieM:

You can have a heart-to-heart talk with mum anytime, but NOT with MIL. They are not the ones who can 讲心 with you...deep down they will laugh. Not only that, they will spread your misfortune with the rest of her relatives.

So so true ladies.. ...
            Just had a meal with my MIL yesterday, she so happy relating relatives' misfortune.. ...

If she's spreading other relatives' misfortunes to you, can you imagine what she is telling others about you?!? I have always felt uneasy when I hear such stories from MIL. That is why I am usually quiet towards her. Don't want her to blab to others about me. Well, she will probably be saying to others I'm such a gobblock, always keeping quiet. 😛

auntieM

kuzco,

Bo pian (no choice) one lah.. ...just have to live with it lor..
              Can guess what MIL told people when they ask you certain things at gatherings 😛

Andaiz

auntieM:
                kuzco,

Bo pian (no choice) one lah.. ...just have to live with it lor..
                Can guess what MIL told people when they ask you certain things at gatherings 😛
                Auntie M, you made my day! :celebrate:

It's so true about MIL as well! :roll:

Mrs Ang

My relationship with my mil has turned sour after she played me out twice on helping to take care of my bb. I have chosen to stay far away from my work place and parent becos mil has promised to take care of future grandchildren. Who knows just 2 weeks before I finished my maternity leave, she said cannot help to take care of bb. I searched desperately all the CCC ard my area and only managed to find one 30 mins bus ride from my house. Mil has given me and DH so much problem due to her last minute decision and fickleness. When she tried the third time, my DH was the first to reject his mum "kind" offer to take care of bb. DH doesn’t want to take the risk of redrawing bb out from CCC and lost the place if his mum played him out again. Mil got so angry and said it is easier to take care of other pple bb! I was :!: as she has only tried taking care of BB for a few days and haven’t tried the nite care.

My DH is the only son with 2 still single sisters. I cannot imagine staying with such a selfish mil who don’t mind putting her first 3 mth old grandchild in CCC. In additional, we don’t have car so poor bb has to take bus every day. BB leave home every morning ard 7 am and reached home after 7.15 pm. My DH know that I’m still angry with his mum :x

Keeping QUIET is the best way to deal/handle MIL…this way, they have nothing to find fault unless they are trouble makers.

Mrs Ang,
                    If your hubby knows what you’re going through, then he is on your side.
                    That is most important. Mine acts so innocent and angelic in front of her sons…so these precious sons never understand what their wives are going through with their mummy dearest. :x You can talk until the cows return and yet they won’t understand.

minnie2004

Mrs Ang:
                      My relationship with my mil has turned sour after she played me out twice on helping to take care of my bb. I have chosen to stay far away from my work place and parent becos mil has promised to take care of future grandchildren. Who knows just 2 weeks before I finished my maternity leave, she said cannot help to take care of bb. I searched desperately all the CCC ard my area and only managed to find one 30 mins bus ride from my house. Mil has given me and DH so much problem due to her last minute decision and fickleness. When she tried the third time, my DH was the first to reject his mum \"kind\" offer to take care of bb. DH doesn't want to take the risk of redrawing bb out from CCC and lost the place if his mum played him out again. Mil got so angry and said it is easier to take care of other pple bb! I was :!: as she has only tried taking care of BB for a few days and haven't tried the nite care.

My DH is the only son with 2 still single sisters. I cannot imagine staying with such a selfish mil who don't mind putting her first 3 mth old grandchild in CCC. In additional, we don't have car so poor bb has to take bus every day. BB leave home every morning ard 7 am and reached home after 7.15 pm. My DH know that I'm still angry with his mum :x
                      Maybe you should consider moving closer to your parents if they're willing to take care of your baby. 7-7 seems too long hours for the baby to be away from home.

MILs are usually not as willing as our own parents in terms of offering help to take care of our babies. They think it's our responsibility and if they do offer help it'll be doing us a favour 😐 . My MIL is a typical example. She is strong enough to travel and too weak to take care of my kids :x. On the other hand, our own parents, who really care about us, will do anything to lighten our burdens :love:

hquek

Mrs Ang:
                        My relationship with my mil has turned sour after she played me out twice on helping to take care of my bb. I have chosen to stay far away from my work place and parent becos mil has promised to take care of future grandchildren. Who knows just 2 weeks before I finished my maternity leave, she said cannot help to take care of bb. I searched desperately all the CCC ard my area and only managed to find one 30 mins bus ride from my house. Mil has given me and DH so much problem due to her last minute decision and fickleness. When she tried the third time, my DH was the first to reject his mum \"kind\" offer to take care of bb. DH doesn't want to take the risk of redrawing bb out from CCC and lost the place if his mum played him out again. Mil got so angry and said it is easier to take care of other pple bb! I was :!: as she has only tried taking care of BB for a few days and haven't tried the nite care.
                        Hey Mrs Ang,

I would be mighty :x if I were you too. But then, since you know her pattern, AND your hubby is aware of her broken promises, best thing for you is to act :imanangel:. Worst thing is to vent out your unhappiness on your DH.

If your parents are available and willing to take care, then consider to move closer to them - else childcare is the next best option. If stars are in alignment, perhaps a childcare closer to your workplace?

Honestly, looking after children is no joke. But I don't think one (ie parents/IL) should 'sign blank cheque' on this matter also. I had also heard of new grandmas happily volunteering, only to 'da tui tang gu' when they realise how hard it is.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 122 / 529

u88networrkU
                        u88networrk