In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
    • DesertWindD Offline
      DesertWind

Forgetting unhappiness may be a lil' far fetched for me right now

honestly... can overlook awhile lar a bit here a bit there until new
      issues surface or even old issues \"re-surface\".. :faint: ... 😄
      Hi buds!

This may sounds really odd but I hope that once you give birth to your 3rd kid, the child birth process and the change in hormones will cause you to loose all the unhappy memories with your MIL!

Truly, this was my own experience! Before child-birth I seemed to have long memories and found it difficult to forget the bad experiences with MIL. But after child-birth, goodness me, all bad memories seemed to have been wiped out!

So take care, yeh!

My visits to visit them are not frequent…familiarity breeds contempt. So I believe in keeping short and sweet.

My hubby has been manipulated since young by his younger siblings. Like what Carrotz mentioned, if her MIL had done her part by teaching the right values, this would not have happened.

carrotz

My visits to visit them are not frequent...familiarity breeds contempt. So I believe in keeping short and sweet.

My hubby has been manipulated since young by his younger siblings. Like what Carrotz mentioned, if her MIL had done her part by teaching the right values, this would not have happened.

Hi janet

Yes, I also believe in keeping the visits short where possible. My husband visits his parents regularly. Despite the strain in my relationship with his mother, he'll ask whether me and child wants to go almost every time. Guess he wants us to 'support' him. I know I can't say no too often. So when I visit, I focus on my child and avoid talking to mil and sils. Just address her and fil(she doesn't respond) and go to one side with my child.

Now that one of the two sils I mentioned has stationed herself there for the day, even more sian when visiting. She is super irritating as well. On a recent visit, she was opening the gate for us when she gave me an annoying sideways glance, acted as if she was speaking to my child and said, \"If you don't call me, I WON'T open the gate for you!\" Husband just kept quiet.

Yes, the values inculcated by a mother really show in her children's behaviour. In this case, a lot is treated as some sort of $ transaction, the focus being on taking advantage and personal (monetary) gain. I must say it was only recently that I saw a much clearer picture of this aspect of the family.

hapydino

Angelight:
            Reading abt all of you talking abt your MILs, I also want to share abt mine.

Anyway, once she asked me to eat the pork belly that she (or rather her maid cooked). I've always hated pork belly, pork knuckles and the like, so I refused nicely. Guess what she said to me?! \"Si Nao Jing!\".

Naturally I was offended by the hurtful remark. But I calmly said to her, \"Mum, not lliking pork belly is a personal choice, not 'Si Nao Jing'.\" She kept quiet after that.
            Angelight,

i kena this too..

u noe those hokkien mee, dark sauce, thick and broad yellow noodles.. i dun eat cuz i'm v scared of the 'ghee' taste n smell in the noodles..

so my MIL say '你很奇怪的!' when she tabao this home as dinner for us all..

i cannot remember exactly what my response was but something in the line of '不吃就是不吃'..

i went off and cook instant noodles..

Angelight

Hapydino,

I understand perfectly. :hugs:

I was really hurt. Especially when DH also didn't like to eat the pork belly, but she never called him \"Si Nao Jing\". Just me. 😞

loner

So much that we complain abt MIL. Have u gals ever thought what kind of MIL u will be??? 😉 On one hand, I tell myself I will never ever treat my DIL the way MIL treated me but very scared one day ended up \"like\" her leh..... 😢

hquek

loner:
                  So much that we complain abt MIL. Have u gals ever thought what kind of MIL u will be??? 😉 On one hand, I tell myself I will never ever treat my DIL the way MIL treated me but very scared one day ended up \"like\" her leh..... 😢

My MIL is pretty ok - except that she's super hands off about the kids. Ask her to help us watch over while we run some errands in the evening, I'll typically return to find her sleeping in front of the tv (guess if the kids didn't kill each other, it's fine).

Told myself that I'll be the type of grandma who drives her grandkids around and help out in the enrichment classes and all (afterall, dunwan to waste the ksp experience). Then again, probably will have its own set of problems. End of the day, I will have to find my own retirement space. hee hee hee

I will try my best NOT to treat my daughter-in-law the way I am treated.

It’s natural that women will be closer to their 娘家…so I won’t expect her to be close to me…but I will have to remind myself to be cordial. This way, the relationship can last on a sweet note.

I’m coaching my kids in their studies as much as I can…until they graduate to secondary school, I’ll be hands-off. Education is tough as it is now. I wouldn’t dare to think of coaching my grandchildren.

hquek

oh no…I’m not even dreaming to coach my kids (nor grandkids). Just thinking that i can be their ‘ahmad’ to ferry them around so the parents can go to work with peace of mind.

oh no...I'm not even dreaming to coach my kids (nor grandkids). Just thinking that i can be their 'ahmad' to ferry them around so the parents can go to work with peace of mind.

For my kids, I am the so-called coach. But wouldnt dream of doing that for grandkids. 'Ahmad' should be my hubby.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 213 / 529