In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      kids_r_innocent

Better not to stay together or nearby unless u need their help daily. Otherwise, there’s no privacy to talk about!!

kids_r_innocent

In-laws alway want to be the angel and we the parents r the devil!! 🆒

• E Offline
          ectanz

Flowermonaster:
          ectanz:

I am okay with this but the only thing tat I am unhappy abt is tat they will intervene whenever we try to reprimand my dd1 if she made a mistake. Instead my MIL will immediately tell my hb off in front of my dd1. Behind his back, she told my dd1 which i overheard tat my hd was insane, no need to bother with his words. Really :mad:

How are we going to teach our kids the right values? So my SIL don't like to visit my mum. I don't really blame her.

Hi flowermonaster, I hv tried to instill the correct values in my dd1 when she was young. However, due to my MIL's intervention in our teaching values, sometime I unsure whether my dd1 will confuse by our conflicting values. Fortunately, my dd1 will be gg to P1 next yr, by then I shld be able to find excuse to minimize the no. Of trip to their place.

• E Offline
            ectanz

kids_r_innocent:
            Better not to stay together or nearby unless u need their help daily. Otherwise, there's no privacy to talk about!!

I wish I can. Previously, they r staying in west n in order not to stay too near to them, I purposely instigated my hb to apply new flat at north east. But hor, they sell their flat n moved to east, juz 15 mins drive. Sian men!

mummyJune

last night as usual i had to fetch my boy home. when it was time to go home after dinner, my boy threw temper & refused to wear his shoes,so mil tel him nicely he’s gg home liao, must wear shoes. so my boy sit down & wear his shoes but the moment i walk out of their front door(i expect my boy to follow behind me), my boy threw temper, started crying & screaming again. so i asked him wats wrong? Y are u crying? immediately mil came up & carry my boy & tel me he doesnt want to go home. i tel her aiya this morning oso like that, throw temper. & when my mil carry my boy, she saw my son staring at me & said in a frightened tone "Y is he staring at u like tat? as though u look so scary!" the worst thing is she can carry on telling my boy how scary i look which is NOT TRUE.

sign…at this moment i really want to push her away & bring my boy home.Wat nonsenses is she yaking abt? my boy is not even staring at me, he was looking at the aeroplane in the sky…i was already pek chek cos after a long day at work i juz want to quickly fetch my son & go home.

Flowermonaster

Why ur MIL said in a frightened tone? Now is 7mth, she trying to scare who? Or she scare herself for nothing? How old is ur DS? I think should be quite young.

mummyJune:
                last night as usual i had to fetch my boy home. when it was time to go home after dinner, my boy threw temper & refused to wear his shoes,so mil tel him nicely he's gg home liao, must wear shoes. so my boy sit down & wear his shoes but the moment i walk out of their front door(i expect my boy to follow behind me), my boy threw temper, started crying & screaming again. so i asked him wats wrong? Y are u crying? immediately mil came up & carry my boy & tel me he doesnt want to go home. i tel her aiya this morning oso like that, throw temper. & when my mil carry my boy, she saw my son staring at me & said in a frightened tone \"Y is he staring at u like tat? as though u look so scary!\" the worst thing is she can carry on telling my boy how scary i look which is NOT TRUE.

sign..at this moment i really want to push her away & bring my boy home.Wat nonsenses is she yaking abt? my boy is not even staring at me, he was looking at the aeroplane in the sky...i was already pek chek cos after a long day at work i juz want to quickly fetch my son & go home.

BeContented

mmlim:
                  Hi ectanz, my PIL suggested for me and hb to move in with them. My hb was moved and I can see his wish to do so, but I am a tad worried after reading all these threads.

Hi mmlim,
                  IMO, it's hard to advice......cos' it all depends on the 'chemistry' you have with your PILs and whether you can blend and accept the different lifestyle/habits.

I have shifted in with PILs previously when newly married and waiting for my own house. Tho relationship was cordial, I was very conscious about everything I did....but it was easier then cos' no kids and I knew it was a temp arrangement.

So if b4 your marriage, you already have issues and do not think you can accommodate those issues permanently, best is not to stay together.....unless you wish to give it a chance. Also, if you are the one shifting in....it gets a little more challenging cos' you will be under THEIR roof. So gotta consider carefully.

Later, PILs shifted in permanently. But in a way, I feel that I have the upperhand. So tho my PILs irk me in many ways, being the owner do give me a little more 'power' to refuse/reject certain things.....but that said, it also depends on how supportive is the hubby and how demanding/controlling are the PILs.

As for staying near, it can be an option.....but dun think it's a good idea to give them full access to the house. My MIL also wanted her other children's housekeys (staying within walking distance), but kena rejected by all cos' they know MIL will turn up at their house if she has the key.

Well, 相见容易, 相处难 so do discuss with your hubby and try to raise all your concerns and know your hubby's stand in those issues first.
                  Eg.
                  # MIL wants clothes to be handwashed but mine are 90% machine-washed, will DH end up side MIL and expect me to handwash everything?
                  # PILs are of different religion, what is expected of me etc etc.
                  Am a bit embarrassed, but you will be surprised that while some things may look very trivial to others, it may end up to be the cause of a lot of quarrels/resentment later. So good to clarify beforehand.

mummyJune

my son is 2yrs+. now can say he is in the 'terrible 2' stage. but old folks duno wat is terrible twos, they say no such thing, kids r juz kids.

ya, im fedup, now is 7mth, who is she trying to scare..haiz...luckly i dun live with her or else i sure go mad very fast :torchme:

Flowermonaster:
                    Why ur MIL said in a frightened tone? Now is 7mth, she trying to scare who? Or she scare herself for nothing? How old is ur DS? I think should be quite young.
                    mummyJune:

last night as usual i had to fetch my boy home. when it was time to go home after dinner, my boy threw temper & refused to wear his shoes,so mil tel him nicely he's gg home liao, must wear shoes. so my boy sit down & wear his shoes but the moment i walk out of their front door(i expect my boy to follow behind me), my boy threw temper, started crying & screaming again. so i asked him wats wrong? Y are u crying? immediately mil came up & carry my boy & tel me he doesnt want to go home. i tel her aiya this morning oso like that, throw temper. & when my mil carry my boy, she saw my son staring at me & said in a frightened tone \"Y is he staring at u like tat? as though u look so scary!\" the worst thing is she can carry on telling my boy how scary i look which is NOT TRUE.

sign..at this moment i really want to push her away & bring my boy home.Wat nonsenses is she yaking abt? my boy is not even staring at me, he was looking at the aeroplane in the sky...i was already pek chek cos after a long day at work i juz want to quickly fetch my son & go home.

sall

mummyJune:
                      & when my mil carry my boy, she saw my son staring at me & said in a frightened tone \"Y is he staring at u like tat? as though u look so scary!\" the worst thing is she can carry on telling my boy how scary i look which is NOT TRUE.

I think your mil is trying to imply that you are not treating your boy well and you frightened him, that's why he's crying. What a drama queen she is! Pretending to talking in a frightened tone. :roll:
                      I can understand how piss-off you feel. My mum is also like that. Whenever my girl cried when she's a toddler, my mum will accuse me of ill-treating my girl.

mummyJune

sall:
                        mummyJune:

& when my mil carry my boy, she saw my son staring at me & said in a frightened tone \"Y is he staring at u like tat? as though u look so scary!\" the worst thing is she can carry on telling my boy how scary i look which is NOT TRUE.

I think your mil is trying to imply that you are not treating your boy well and you frightened him, that's why he's crying. What a drama queen she is! Pretending to talking in a frightened tone. :roll:
                        I can understand how piss-off you feel. My mum is also like that. Whenever my girl cried when she's a toddler, my mum will accuse me of ill-treating my girl.

i really cannot tahan my mil.everyday i go her house she sure got something to comment on either my son or my daughter. so irritating. as though implying i never take care of them properly. not only my mil, sometimes my own mother oso will make nasty comments. own mother i still can talk back & argue, mil how to argue? later she complain to ppl i so rude.worst! tats y sometimes i dun even wan to open my mouth & talk to her. yesterday i saw her 4yr old grandaughter feed my son dragon fruit. duno how to feed pls dun feed la, my mil still say she so clever. clever my head! she feed my son until his clothes so dirty! sometimes this 4YO grandaughter will snatch to sleep Yaolan with my daughter :whut: . pls la, my daughter is only 5mths old, she 4yrs old liao still sleep wat yaolan? i tel my hubby, this is how yr mum take care...he also shake head. :slapshead:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 317 / 529