In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

aurorin:

My standard is not too bad..at least I am not a hoarder. If I have Indian chief here, she will tell the whole world what I dumped.

So you have an Indian Chief with a loud hailer? Hmm or do Indian Chief use big fire/blanket and lotsa smoke signal.. need to tell the whole world will involve probably burning down the whole forest! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

I clam up when I have to go to her place. Lesser said, lesser harm done.
      See nothing, hear nothing.

radiantmum

aurorin:

Smile and ignore is abit tough for me. Ignore easy.. smile harder.. :rotflmao:

Smile sincerely is difficult... :hi5: But smile got different types.

A polite and distracted smile with a slight nod... and a hint of mystery, can communicate a very loud \"No!\" (especially if you back it up with the exact opposite action she suggested)... And since you only smiled and nodded without SAYING anything, this gives her no chance to take offence or to mis-interpret your words.

Usually, when I start smiling, she stops talking. It took a few years to achieve this though...

Ultimate POWER you have!

How I wish I can do that PLUS \"greet\" and ignore.

aurorin

aurorin:

Smile and ignore is abit tough for me. Ignore easy.. smile harder.. :rotflmao:

Smile sincerely is difficult... :hi5: But smile got different types.

A polite and distracted smile with a slight nod... and a hint of mystery, can communicate a very loud \"No!\" (especially if you back it up with the exact opposite action she suggested)... And since you only smiled and nodded without SAYING anything, this gives her no chance to take offence or to mis-interpret your words.

Usually, when I start smiling, she stops talking. It took a few years to achieve this though...

POWER! :udawoman:

I think if i try, later turn out like some villian.. hiakhiakhiak.. like Dr Evil or something.. :rotflmao: Or maybe i can smirk.. i am quite good at smirking... hiakhiakhiak okie. got to go practise at the mirror.. Smile with a hint of mystery! I like!

Chenonceau

aurorin:

POWER! :udawoman:

I think if i try, later turn out like some villian.. hiakhiakhiak.. like Dr Evil or something.. :rotflmao: Or maybe i can smirk.. i am quite good at smirking... hiakhiakhiak okie. got to go practise at the mirror.. Smile with a hint of mystery! I like!
            Got disadvantage though... My DD uses the same trick on me when she disagrees with what I am saying, and has no intention to do what I suggest.

But I don't mind. I prefer the mysterious smile \"No.\" to a violent yelled \"No!\" and a big scene.

It's saying \"No\" nicely to me lor... because I have good intentions and my kids know it. And I do recognise that at 18, DD is her own woman and should be respected as such. So when I see that smile, I know to back off, smile back and say \"Whatever you decide, I know it will be a good decision for us all.\"

And that's that. Family harmony is intact. No poison. Much love.

fifiyeo

:mad: Indian cheif stand there and wait for you to do. Can don't do? Can, if you want to start a fight. Otherwise just get it done and at least can close case and move on with life

Once Indian chief came over and ask me to open all the windows said it was hot. After 5 mins, ask to close all the windows because hot must turn on aircon. In the first place I wanted to turn on the aircon but was not allowed to.

Then ask to watch TV. Say don't know how to turn it on! So must be served.

Then ask to fetch something so she can pack something that belongs to her. Next thing I know after fetching those items she wanted, I was asked to pack them up for her. Say don't know how to do.

End of everything go back and tell everyone came over to help me out. What you all think? :stupid: :mad:

All this while I was trying to fix lunch and have to run in and out of kitchen to serve the chief!

BeContented

This morning, DH + myself + MIL went for breakfast.

DH ordered 2 cups of coffee, one for MIL & one for both of us to share (as we usually do).

Coffee come, MIL plonk her cup in front of DH.....told DH not to share with me, drink hers. Then DH tried to diplomatically tell her I dun drink so much (MIL always have one big cup in the morning) so he'll drink from mine. After a while, MIL face machiam charcoal when she saw him drinking from my cup. No choice, he had to drink some from hers ..... jealously?

Sometimes, she tries to stop him from going out with me too....dinner, buy groceries, breakfast etc etc. :siao:
                MIL also tries to change my furniture settings, where I place my stuff (esp. kitchen - so much so that we have 2 sets of stuff like onion, garlic, soy sauce etc in the same kitchen). :slapshead:

LOLMum

BeContented:

Coffee come, MIL plonk her cup in front of DH.....told DH not to share with me, drink hers.

Sometimes, she tries to stop him from going out with me too....dinner, buy groceries, breakfast etc etc. :siao:
                  šŸ™ hard that she is not thinking of getting into bed with the 2 of you.

BeContented

BeContented:

Coffee come, MIL plonk her cup in front of DH.....told DH not to share with me, drink hers.

šŸ™ hard that she is not thinking of getting into bed with the 2 of you.

But seriously, for a while I was worried when my FIL passed away.
                    But I trust DH will fend her off on this. šŸ˜‰

autumnbronze

I remember the morning when DH had to return to work after the wedding. So he told me to go down and prepare his breakfast, which I did. A while later, when MIL came down, she was so shocked to see his drink and oats on the table. She did an abrupt turn, and walked out of the kitchen, saying this, \"whoever wakes up first can make breakfast for xxx\".

I was like :scratchhead: and promptly told DH that if he wants me to take over some of the responsibilities from his mom, he better inform her.

MIL has improved over the years. I think she was just feeling insecure about letting go over her hold of her eldest son. The younger two had it a lot easier.

I found this quote once in her notebook - being a mother is the only thing I know how to do best.

BeContented:

Coffee come, MIL plonk her cup in front of DH.....told DH not to share with me, drink hers. Then DH tried to diplomatically tell her I dun drink so much (MIL always have one big cup in the morning) so he'll drink from mine. After a while, MIL face machiam charcoal when she saw him drinking from my cup. No choice, he had to drink some from hers ..... jealously?

Just thinking...supposing hubby holds your hands. Will she take yours away so that she can hold his ? Or sleep in the middle between both of you? :rotflmao:

When we have dinner outside and there are prawns, I make him sit beside her. Attend to her, it's ok with me. Honey her throughout meal.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 413 / 529

Lilly123L
                        Lilly123