In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      tree nymph

2ppaamm:
      Yep, I think that makes a huge difference.

my two hands up - it certainly is a huge difference.

i'm still staying with my PILs - 10 years now, right from the very first day i got married. to be very frank, sometimes i wonder if i have chosen the wrong guy... i'm very unhappy staying in this place, felt more like a prison to me then a real home. and it get worst when we have kids. there are more issues and friction... with MIL.

There are twice, that i've considered divorce. as hubby refused to move out and the only way out for me is to have a divorce. then i can officially move out with my kids. but my poor kids... hubby works late everyday and he is always not at home. I've got to rush home to be with my kids everyday. There's always endless comparisons between my kids and SIL's kids which by the way, her eldest and youngest are 11 and 6 while mine are 7 and 2. MIL likes to compare my 7yo to SIL's 11yo or her 9yo. And my 4yo with her 6yo. how to compare? then she will praising SIL's kids saying they are obedient blah blah blah, and then she will say your kids are very difficult to teach blah blah blah. She attacked me personally saying i'm very strong-willed and so on in front of my kids. There's only criticism and accusation and complaints to everything i do no matter how hard i try.

People also thought i must be the most fortunate person living with PIL - no need to pay for housing instalments, can save a lot of money cos they are thinking my PILs pay for everything. true, i don't have to pay for housing instalments, no need to pay for utilities bills, but other then that, i get to pay for every single thing in the house. if i were to go for holidays, i have to make sure that there are enough food in the house before we go. she will not go and get anything at all. i am a FTWM with 3 kids, so could be rather busy with the kids after office hours. no time to go supermarket - i have to resort to going to supermarket at the wee hours of the day! you can always ask me where is the 24 hours supermarkets in singapore... prob can find me there once a week at least at say 1am? even during confinement, i've got to buy food, shopping for grocery and household items from the 3rd day onwards. even got to buy rice on my 7th or 8th day after giving birth. my confinement lady can be my witness.

I have always wanna treat her like how i treat my own mum. but how to when you have this kind of MIL? i've tried and tried and tried and time and time again, i hurt myself from putting in the effort. the love is simply not reciprocated.

so this year, my new year resolution is to get my own place. i've decided that my sanity, dignity and my kids and my family wellbeing is most important and the best way is to move out.

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

tree nymph:
        2ppaamm:

Yep, I think that makes a huge difference.

my two hands up - it certainly is a huge difference.

i'm still staying with my PILs - 10 years now, right from the very first day i got married. to be very frank, sometimes i wonder if i have chosen the wrong guy... i'm very unhappy staying in this place, felt more like a prison to me then a real home. and it get worst when we have kids. there are more issues and friction... with MIL.

There are twice, that i've considered divorce. as hubby refused to move out and the only way out for me is to have a divorce. then i can officially move out with my kids. but my poor kids... hubby works late everyday and he is always not at home. I've got to rush home to be with my kids everyday. There's always endless comparisons between my kids and SIL's kids which by the way, her eldest and youngest are 11 and 6 while mine are 7 and 2. MIL likes to compare my 7yo to SIL's 11yo or her 9yo. And my 4yo with her 6yo. how to compare? then she will praising SIL's kids saying they are obedient blah blah blah, and then she will say your kids are very difficult to teach blah blah blah. She attacked me personally saying i'm very strong-willed and so on in front of my kids. There's only criticism and accusation and complaints to everything i do no matter how hard i try.

People also thought i must be the most fortunate person living with PIL - no need to pay for housing instalments, can save a lot of money cos they are thinking my PILs pay for everything. true, i don't have to pay for housing instalments, no need to pay for utilities bills, but other then that, i get to pay for every single thing in the house. if i were to go for holidays, i have to make sure that there are enough food in the house before we go. she will not go and get anything at all. i am a FTWM with 3 kids, so could be rather busy with the kids after office hours. no time to go supermarket - i have to resort to going to supermarket at the wee hours of the day! you can always ask me where is the 24 hours supermarkets in singapore... prob can find me there once a week at least at say 1am? even during confinement, i've got to buy food, shopping for grocery and household items from the 3rd day onwards. even got to buy rice on my 7th or 8th day after giving birth. my confinement lady can be my witness.

I have always wanna treat her like how i treat my own mum. but how to when you have this kind of MIL? i've tried and tried and tried and time and time again, i hurt myself from putting in the effort. the love is simply not reciprocated.

so this year, my new year resolution is to get my own place. i've decided that my sanity, dignity and my kids and my family wellbeing is most important and the best way is to move out.

I'm kpo, but how do you intend to get a new place? Rent or buy? If you are looking to rent, I can recommend this organization that rents very cheaply. I used to pay about $1100 for a 8000 sq ft land when I first moved out. I believe that has increased (that was 14 years ago). I believe that same house costs about $2000 or so. They also have apartments big enough for 5 members, maybe about $1500 (town area).

PM me. I will give you the contact. Do make sure you do all financial calculation properly and carefully before the move. Also, I hope your hubby is totally with you on this initiative.

tree nymph

2ppaamm,

hub finally ‘see the light’ and agreed to buying a place and stay on our own. but as he is spoilt by his parents, he wanna look at private housing first. I’ve done up some calculation, don’t think we can afford lah. but will let him try lor. more logically it should be a HDB. but have to be around district 5 - to be near to DS1’s school.

I will pm you. better to rent first then hubs will see the urgency to move!

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

There are 3 units going out this month at about $1000+ to $2000. They are in district 9, 10, 11 and 21. I’ll PM. If this costs less than your expenses in the household if you were to stay with the ILs, then this is a good bet.

I’ll PM you.

tree nymph

2ppaamm:
              There are 3 units going out this month at about $1000+ to $2000. They are in district 9, 10, 11 and 21. I'll PM. If this costs less than your expenses in the household if you were to stay with the ILs, then this is a good bet.

I'll PM you.
              Thanks 2ppaamm. I'll check it out. will keep a look out regularly if the units are not suitable this month

tree nymph:
                hub finally 'see the light' and agreed to buying a place and stay on our own.

:hugs: I'm so happy for you, tree nymph! :hugs:

I've tears welled up in my eyes just reading the above liner..
                It's definitely good news to the coming new year. 🙏
                HE must've heard your prayers. 😉
                tree nymph:
                but as he is spoilt by his parents, he wanna look at private housing first. I've done up some calculation, don't think we can afford lah. but will let him try lor. more logically it should be a HDB. but have to be around district 5 - to be near to DS1's school.

I will pm you. better to rent first then hubs will see the urgency to move!
                2ppaamm... when my time comes, can i PM you oso? 😞

You got good lobang for apartments and pte housing arh?
                Paiseh, OT a bit here.. :oops: :siam:

2ppaamm:
                  I reflected upon how the situations could have been better. If DH would believe me when I told him how his mum REALLY is, then I wouldn't get so angry. If he would listen a bit deeper into what his mum is saying against me, perhaps I wouldn't pick up a quarrel. Perhaps if he would offer a shoulder to cry on rather than focus on defending his side of the family, I will not think I'm alone in this battle. This defense won't change wife's point of view and improve MIL/DIL relationship, it only pulls hubby and wife further apart, it seems.
                  I did this reflection too and thought, would it have been better to have
                  married someone we have known inside out before marriage... like the
                  marry best friend kind. :idea: But after that i pondered on an old friend
                  who did marry her long time beau since Pri Sch days and they didn't end
                  well either... maybe case of know too much about one another liao. 😛

[quote].......get another car seat for your FIL's car. [/quote]
                    While the suggestions from most wud be that in future a car seat be in
                    place in the ILs car to avoid future and prolonged issue with regards to
                    car safety based on the car seat preference...

Getting the ILs a new car seat for the boy is only about a quarter of the
                    problem solved in surfermom's case. On the day, this blatant display of
                    drama unfolded... there were indeed three ways to work round it.

1. Ask the ILs to drive to Mac's in surfermom's/surfermom DH's car,
                    since the car seat is in place...

2. Remove the car seat from surfermom's/surfermom DH's car and
                    fix it in the ILs car instead... ( if they aren't used to driving someone
                    else's car )...

3. Get Mac's to deliver.

Again, this would've only solved ONLY the issue for that day..

treenymph:
                    ....... BUT I also think you have to talk to both of them about lying to you. Tell them that kids learn from adults and if they are doing this, they are not setting a good example to the kids. If its to me, the lying part is more serious then the safety part. but talk to them properly.
                    Reading into surfermom's recent posting and the ones before, i personally
                    have the feeling, through her sharings of course, that her kinda ILs are
                    beyond the talking and discussing phase. Especially since it ain't their 1st
                    time doing something which is outright opposite of the mother's wishes...

What more to talk to them about their lying to her. :shock:

I wud think that they'd think she was ill-bred. And that wud evoke yet
                    another unwanted eruption. While i agree that what they did isn't a
                    good example, there isn't a place with such people where one can sit
                    down and 'talk properly' cos honestly... i've been there. Cause in the
                    1st place the DIL has no place in family hierarchy to begin with..

While it is fine to overlook some trivial issues where baby is concerned..
                    safety issues are important.. health issues are important.. respect issues
                    are also equally important though hard to seep through. Getting a very
                    reluctant husband to the talking does make it worse cos there won't be
                    any conviction in what he wud say to his parents, hence making him the
                    victim in both sides of the party.. making him the least fun person to have
                    for the next few hours, days or even weeks cos he's been made to do
                    something beyond his will. Like many have cited, being a son or dotter
                    to their parents, there's this shadow of a stamp over both eyes where
                    due trust is natural.. and whatever one does is normal.. and definitely
                    not an issue. They just won't see things the way another person does
                    in a big deal.

My hubs is filial to a fault (not that it's ever a bad thing... :hugs:)... and
                    not once yet has he helped me talk to his folks on my behalf on anything.
                    I bet not anytime soon either.. not that i don't expect it... expect him to
                    stand up for me... when i AM right. As it oredi is, he's being labelled as
                    henpecked even now... just cos hubs tends to ask what i think or what
                    opinions do i have over certain issues. And if he should so even nod at
                    what my opinions may be, he'd get another round of ... duh, he's such
                    a sissy...

Let me recap an event of my ILs over what i thought was a talking over
                    properly discussion.

After a doctor's appointment for DD1 at a few months old, we were
                    advised to keep her off pets, smoke and dust infested areas and that
                    where she sleeps and plays be cleaned effectively and thoroughly on
                    regular basis. So sharing with both sides of the family was crucial so
                    that she won't get another bout of bronchitis again so soon after she
                    has just recovered. That visit to the doc's ascertained the doc's initial
                    guess that DD1 if exposed to certain allergens would develop shortness
                    of breath within a short period of time.

Being an ex-nurse at a GP hubs requested i lay the cards for them as per
                    what the doc said, cos he didn't know how to do it tactfully. All she said
                    was, i raised three sons with cats even though they had asthma and
                    none of them died. Then she rolled her eyes sharply in disgust. She went
                    on to say how she struggled to care for BIL in hospital ever so often cos
                    he would have attacks.. and i was like DUH? Letting a child suffer just cos
                    she believed a cat would not be able to have triggered any reaction to
                    her sick child just didn't make me feel that she did a good job at it, esp
                    since she knew how chronic her son's asthma was... yet she put him thru
                    it all. I couldn't even bear seeing my baby being given the neubalizer. 😞

I related to hubs and he simply kept quiet. He did add on later what she
                    said was true... that they didn't die. :roll: So, on our following routine
                    visit i reminded him and yet when i left DD1 in his care just for minutes
                    perhaps, i saw DD1 being changed in their room on the bed where the
                    cat slept with them without so much as a changing mat even and worse
                    the cat was just beside DD1 with its tail wagging and almost stroking her!

I picked her up that instant and stomped out and true enuf within minutes
                    DD1 was on a sneezing spree while i tried to clear off all the fur all
                    over her dress. Needless to say, i insisted we went back right away
                    and this time i just had to show my displeasure. I threw her dress away
                    and changed her into a new pair i had in my bag and brought her to a
                    baby clinic recommended by hubs' colleague. Not only did i get an awful
                    reception from the clinic assistant and i could barely make out what the
                    doc (who spoke with a lisp) was saying, we were slapped with like almost
                    a hundred dollar bill and with one of the medication which she was
                    actually allergic to, followed by a long night with me not sleeping taking
                    care of DD1, drippy nosey.. red watery eyes.. and very bad bad cough
                    plus all that phlegm in her throat, she could barely breathe. Each time she
                    fell asleep i put her back in the cot only to have her cry again cos she had
                    difficulty breathing : nose blocked, drippy and phlegm made it harder for
                    her. I had to work too but hubs was deeply asleep and snoring in fact.
                    He didn't talk to me and ignored me completely. That day was supposedly
                    our wedding anniversary. And boy that was a memorable one to boot... 😞

In short, that blatant refusal to adhere or simply make a gentle compromise
                    went down the drain just to prove that she was WHAT? Right?! :x ....
                    That what! She ate more salt?!? She had more kids?!
                    She had more experience???! She had more everything???!!! :x :x :x

I cried silent tears just holding DD1 in my arms trying so hard to breathe
                    through her discomfort... i couldn't sleep. I didn't put her back in the cot
                    after she finally managed to doze off, and i definitely was in no right mind
                    nor body condition to go to work. I got a stern reminder over company
                    policies cos i had to urgently declare i cud not go to work at the eleventh
                    hour. I felt so bad cos it was unlike me to be so last minute, i was
                    thoroughly shacked. DD1 barely just recovered from her previous flu
                    bout. I was pissin' furious! I didn't hell care whether he talked to me or
                    not. And i ain't gonna make the first move.. he couldn't even look out for
                    DD1 for that few minutes cos he said... what could possibly go wrong
                    since she was an experienced mother.

Well, in my case everything went wrong just so that she could prove..

In the case of safety, though some of us may feel it is fine to compromise
                    on such issues... some mothers may not have conceived their babies
                    easily like some others could... and cannot wait till accidents happen to
                    go to the point of pointing fingers and blame shifting... it would be too late.

In the case of health, some kids are just say... allergic to candy. Eat a
                    candy and they can die within minutes... to peanut butter and get a
                    heck of a reaction...

Well, some babies and some parents just can't take trivial matters as
                    that. Cos no matter how respectful we are to the ILs, some matters
                    are not negotiable... regardless of how experienced.. no matter how
                    salty.

Mebbe some wud not agree with me and my views on this but... for me,
                    i wud rather not come to the point where i would be too late... i cannot.

Remember when i mentioned couple of days back about one occasion

where i just had it? Well, here was what happened..

If some of you remember, i wasn't on the top ten DIL list. All this time,
                      the ILs had a preferred DIL who was supposedly betrothed when they
                      were younger (to hubs). In olden days i suppose child betrothal was
                      still in fashion.. with hubs there was this special DIL material in both
                      their hearts. And she is rich to boot. To make things even easier, they
                      are close relatives and spent lots of time together growing up.

Being rich, the family indeed was a blessing in times of trouble and so
                      vice versa hubs and his family would be there for their family when the
                      need should arise.

Upon the uncle's deathbed, he made hubs promise he would marry his
                      daughter should he pass on.. which hubs couldn't even at his last breath.
                      He say wan lar.. i dunno the details for sure. So, to cut story short, hubs
                      didn't have similar feelings for the girl like what she did for him over the
                      years. Well, hubs was husband material. Responsible, filial, good with
                      chores, a handyman, practically the works.. but he wanted his own
                      choice of a wife. Besides, he thought he was too young to be tied down.
                      Even if it was with a rich girl. If i'm not mistaken she was an only child,
                      hence all the father's property and assets would've been passed on to
                      her at her father's demise.

Feeling helpless, the girl asked how hubs wud honour his promise to her
                      dad. He just said he couldn't no matter how much he loved and respected
                      his uncle a lot... and from then on, he spaced out from his cousin and led
                      his own life...

Fast forward to a couple of months back, the girl rung my ILs to say she
                      was coming over to Singapore for biz. Yes, she ain't from here. Then, ILs
                      quickly invited her over to stay at our place saying there was plenty of
                      room for her and that she cud stay however long she liked, without so
                      much so of .... informing hubs. But how to not incur hubs' anger and get
                      this plan in motion? It was to tell me.

We weren't even exactly on talking terms that time. ILs called me into
                      their room, which was even more strange. They told me nicely a relative
                      was coming to visit and that they had promised her already she could
                      stay over. They wanted me to tell hubs. :shock: And may i add... cajole
                      him to agree to the arrangement and that they were counting on me...

I asked, where she wud sleep. ILs said, in the kids' room la. I said where
                      got spare bed? They said one kid can sleep with us.. be nice. She's a
                      guest. I said but it's exam week, they need their room to work on their
                      school stuff, and it would be inconvenient. Then they said, if it's sooo hard
                      that i cannot compromise, they will leave the house so she could stay over.

I was like :whut:? I have to put my family's convenience and order of
                      priority first!! And how awkward would it be to have a still single lady
                      in the house? On those days hubs works nites, i usually go over my
                      parents' place to stay and de-stress and avoid the ILs.. does that mean
                      i have to allow her to be alone with hubs should he come back while i'm
                      at my folks? ILs said, she's a relative.. it's nothing what. I mean like yah..
                      and she is still single.. duh. And last i heard, she asked hubs if he remem-
                      red her father's death wish...

End of story, they ticked me off for being so calculative and chided me for
                      not even considering their face since they already promised the girl. End
                      of story they said, it was decided that they'd chill over BIL's house while
                      she cud take their (ILs) room. Apparently, they oredi asked BIL and he
                      said straight to his mother's face... it is inconvenient for them cos they
                      dun reali know her that well since we grew up and that his wife wud be
                      very uncomfortable with the arrangement of having someone in the
                      house.. Wow, BIL sure worked fast boy! And so it was like the problem
                      was planted onto my shoulders and that i should make it work.. 😞

I didn't know what to do. So when hubs asked what was the issue they
                      couldn't involve him with, i just teared up and told him what transpired in
                      the earlier behind closed doors discussion.

Never have i seen him so angry than ever before apart from the time MIL
                      tried to intrude in his disciplinary actions over the children. This time it was
                      beyond anger.. it was like pent-up frustration. He felt so bad for me.. that
                      i was even told to put it to him nicely so that he'd agree to her staying
                      over. I just said this is not my house so i got no say. That he and them
                      would have to decide on the eventuality of it.

MIL screamed that she cud promise what she liked since it was her house
                      and said that since she didn't mind giving up her room to her niece, that
                      it shouldn't bother us four at all. Hubs argued that they would have to
                      give her a set of keys to go for her biz appointments and back and care
                      for her meals and well-being while she was around. He added that we
                      were busy enough caring for then two kids who were unwell and with
                      exams round the corner as well. Hubs said no. The screaming match
                      escalated when MIL called hubs names like proud ass... dun remember
                      your roots and how people helped us and all that... Hubs got riled up..
                      Hubs said the day he helped lay his uncle to rest was the day he had
                      repaid his uncle for everything. MIL reminded him how hubs didn't keep
                      his promise to care for the girl before he died. At that he hollered at her
                      that he did not make such a promise.

She accused that she presumed i was the one who was insecure.. and
                      didn't let hubs agree to the arrangement. The last straw for hubs
                      eventually was when MIL stood up and yelled in his face..

\"If you don't have any feelings for her anymore then why are you so
                      afraid for her to be here... to be around you?!?!?!! Why are you so
                      scared??? Only if you still harbour special feelings for her then you
                      would be doing this.. Admit it! You have feelings for her isn't it? That's
                      why you disagree to even have a harmless visiting relative around da
                      house. This is MY house! I can choose to have her over without even
                      telling you about it. So what!! You forgot how she and her family was
                      there for us and all.. you forgot?! You're being ungrateful now that
                      you're successful. JUST ADMIT IT that you love her! Admit it! Why?
                      Scared your wife wud be angry? Be a man and own up!!! Just say
                      that you have feelings for her!!\"

Hubs turned red in the face.. I sat kneeled behind the door with my girls
                      in fright at the drama unfolding.. I cried at MILs attempt to bring the
                      house down with her insistence and definitely conniving plans.. I just
                      couldn't stop crying.

Hubs turned to MIL and said to her face. \"Soooo... it's my house your
                      house thing you're playing now huh? FINE! My final answer is NO and
                      if anyone still dares to bring her into the house, the minute she leaves
                      i want my name outta this house. You guys can start finding a place to
                      stay! I've had it with all the nonsense! And no i don't have feelings for
                      her. Never did!\"

Once hubs closed the door to our room, he just leaned on the wall at
                      the back of the door. His eyes red with anger... and tears flowed down
                      his cheeks... his back slowly slided downwards and as he sat with his
                      knees propped up, i noticed he was shivering. He said, \"I've never felt
                      this angry and sad at the same time in a long time...\" And he just cried
                      there and then.

After he cooled down, he hugged me and assured me that if she did
                      come over despite the confrontation that just occured, he asked if i
                      could ask my dad's permission for us to check into their place a couple
                      of days till his cousin went back to her hometown.

I met up with daddie the following day.. he was bursting with anger &
                      said of course we were more than welcome to stay there as long as we
                      wanted.. and he said this time if hubs didn't stand up for me... he would.

Daddie said he would for once hafta intervene and fight for his dotter's
                      plight. And he sent me back with much worry. He said, if hubs is a good
                      husband, he will take care of it. And that i wud be in his prayers. Indeed
                      hubs did.

And that folks... was the last straw i cud ever swallow.

I knew from then on, MIL's mission to break our marriage was still in
                      motion and would not stop at any cost to fulfil it... at any cost. :scared:

I knew there was no way ever i cud live in harmony with such a deceitful
                      person in the near future. There was just no way...

And to this day, i'm praying we'd get out of this rut. Like treenymph said,
                      for the sake of our dignity, sanity and happiness... we need to get our
                      own place no matter how big... no matter how small... as long as we are
                      all together. If he still wants us that is..

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

And to this day, i'm praying we'd get out of this rut. Like treenymph said,

for the sake of our dignity, sanity and happiness... we need to get our
                        own place no matter how big... no matter how small... as long as we are
                        all together. If he still wants us that is..
                        Hugs to you.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 77 / 529