Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
      teh_oh

schweppes:
      teh_oh:

To my knowledge, hospitals allow payment by installment for financially-tight patient. No worries.

:thankyou: teh_oh for clarifying šŸ˜‰

Hi schweppes,
      No worries. I have briefly read the link provided earlier and it did state in the reply letter from \"If you have difficulties in settling your hospitalization expenses, you may wish to approach SGH Business Office … for consideration of financial assistance or to work out an affordable payment plan.ā€ I believe the government is still humane enough not to leave any patient untreated due to inability to pay bills.

tutormum

Talking about house robbery, heard this story from my friend who is a property agent. One of her clients (I thnk) bought and renovated their new apartment. The contractors who renovated their flat were foreign workers. Imagine their shock when on the day they moved in, they found that not only their newly delivered furnishing and appliances missing, their new sofa which must be too heavy for the burglars to carry, was slashed. Apparently, these people were so envious to see such wealth that whatever they couldn't take they rather destroy than let you enjoy. :slapshead: Their main suspects of course are the foreign workers. :rant:

Busymom

:goodpost: MummyThreeStreams

MummyThreeStreams:
          Oppsgal:

But currently how many Singaporeans are jobless too :?

On a seasonally adjusted basis, 57,100 locals were unemployed in Mar 2011. This corresponds to a resident unemployment rate of 2.7%, which is pretty much full-employment (full employment does not mean zero unemployment, as there will always be people in between jobs and looking for jobs). (Data from MOM, http://www.mom.gov.sg. It's actually the lowest since 2001.

The recent number that I saw is the one written here - 1.9%. Not sure how to interpret the difference between this and the one quoted as resident unemployment rate of 2.7%.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/singapore/unemployment-rate
          MummyThreeStreams:
          If the government now decides to pull back on access to foreign workers, then we must accept that there may be lower, slower growth. This is the trade-off.
          Agree. I think what the voters have conveyed through the recent GE is that they do not want to have high economic growth. Something in the region of 2-4% is good enough maybe, so that everyone could still have some space to enjoy life a little...

However, Singapore being the small country it is with nothing except its people and infrastructure, risks being left behind when other bigger countries surrounding us finally get their act together. This is probably what our current leaders are most afraid of. Just look at what has happened to Dubai in the context of its other resource rich neighbours such as Abu Dhabi, which although started opening up and developing later, is posing a real threat to Dubai's very existence.
          MummyThreeStreams:
          We can't have our cake and eat it. In fact, MOM did announce changes to the foreign worker levy earlier and businesses were very unhappy about it. I think some businesses would argue that our labour market has not been open enough. I hear complaints about how MOM won't allow them to hire enough foreigners and that they can't find workers in Singapore. But strangely, I did not hear them speak up for keeping our labour market relatively open when there were anti-foreign worker sentiments expressed during the elections.
          This is the exact same point that I was wondering back in the pre-GE thread. Either people chose not to speak up for fear of šŸ¦† , or they are indeed forgetful.
          MummyThreeStreams:
          It's all about finding the right balance.
          That is the million dollar question. :lol:

Busymom:

Maybe the local ones are getting paid more than $12k without having to be uprooted... or maybe the wifey objected to the husband going there :evil:
            you are right. see who is more hungry lor. the competition for jobs and opportunities is global, no more local. the local applicant prefer to be jobless

the company saved 40% on expat cost.

Busymom

AceTutors123:

i've come across so many fresh graduates who cannot find any jobs and resort to being full time tutors. Granted they can earn a decent amount every month.
              I think this depends on the year in which they graduate. From memory, certain years like during 1987, 1998/1999 (Asia financial crisis), 2004 (SARS), 2009 (global financial crisis), the graduates have it harder.

MummyThreeStreams

Busymom:
                MummyThreeStreams:

On a seasonally adjusted basis, 57,100 locals were unemployed in Mar 2011. This corresponds to a resident unemployment rate of 2.7%, which is pretty much full-employment (full employment does not mean zero unemployment, as there will always be people in between jobs and looking for jobs). (Data from MOM, http://www.mom.gov.sg. It's actually the lowest since 2001.

The recent number that I saw is the one written here - 1.9%. Not sure how to interpret the difference between this and the one quoted as resident unemployment rate of 2.7%.

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/singapore/unemployment-rate

1.9% is for the total labour force, but the resident unemployment rate of 2.7% refers to unemployment among locals. Total labour force includes foreign workers, e.g. work permit holders, S pass holders, Employment pass holders etc. Resident unemployment will be higher because most of the foreign workers will leave the labour force (go home) when they lose their jobs. I chose the resident unemployment rate because it was more relevant to the discussion, but usually people refer to total unemployment. Regardless, the figure is really low.

There's quite a lot of labour market data on the mom website. can go take a look if you are very free!

Busymom

dunnoleh:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]...

this is not speculative

they have been persuaded to move fund management to singapore

i was at their geneva office

what! you brought them here?
                  somebody asked you to jack up our GDP, issit? GRRR..... :mad:

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: i where got powder to bring them here ? if I have, I won't be a keyboard warrior here liao.....

happen to visit their geneva office..... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote] At least you are rich enough to be visiting their office... šŸ†’

Better dun pray pray with verykiasu2010 :nunchuk:

Busymom:

At least you are rich enough to be visiting their office... šŸ†’

Better dun pray pray with verykiasu2010 :nunchuk:
                    :rotflmao: :rotflmao: ooii, i was begging at their office .... šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜‰

Strparent

Oppsgal:
                      http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/final-tally-votes-cast-ge2011-released-171354318.html

from the article above, noted the comments made by a Tampines resident. I simply dont understand all these people. IF they are so unhappy, why so many still only voted for a reputable proven formula, but which regularly under-perform ? Why stick to a devil that you know, then to try out an unknown entity ? :siao:
                      defintely many ksks people in Sg. :imconstipated:
                      http://i52.tinypic.com/14xjuom.jpg\">

Strparent:
                        Oppsgal:

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/final-tally-votes-cast-ge2011-released-171354318.html

from the article above, noted the comments made by a Tampines resident. I simply dont understand all these people. IF they are so unhappy, why so many still only voted for a reputable proven formula, but which regularly under-perform ? Why stick to a devil that you know, then to try out an unknown entity ? :siao:
                        defintely many ksks people in Sg. :imconstipated:

:offtopic: u are mr yam's fan #1 ??

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 66 / 133