P3 Exams

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 3
    181 Posts 36 Posters 98.5k Views 1 Watching

My DDs usually bring home compo corrections. Compo is done in school at least one topic a week. The teacher goes thru creative writing skills.. paragraphing.. editing.. etc. sometimes the topic is done in fun grp work where each student in a grp takes turns to write one sentence on the same piece of paper n continue to make a complete compo piece by end of lesson. Each grp edits compo n then final editing done by teacher. After which they all publish the final piece. All drafts n compos before editing process will be photocopied n filed in as well do we know how the writing transformation went about. πŸ˜„

christopherchen

P2 to P3 is truely a jump. Especially when there was no Science in P2 and Science in P3. To make things worse, although the topics tested in P3 Science are few, but the process skills tested are plenty! Not many pupils can handle questions that require observing, comparing, explaining, deriving conclusions, understanding charts and graphs, fair tests,… and so many more skills are tested in P3! I’m currently trying to compile a set of notes for these essential skills and share them with fellow kiasuparents free. Kudos for the spirit of sharing!

Puzz.06109.06109.06109zzle

Is the school education now work on Teach Less Learn More?? Didn’t see much study notes , homework from school. Very little grammar training for Eng. Look at the Science Text Book, so thin and so little information. The kids learn so little in school, yet they were tested on such difficult questions . Expect parents to Pay More To Learn More from tuitions.

so wonder is it a need to have tuition for all subjects and can’t just depend on school teacher anymore?

auntieM

Puzz...zzle:
            Is the school education now work on Teach Less Learn More?? Didn't see much study notes , homework from school. Very little grammar training for Eng. Look at the Science Text Book, so thin and so little information. The kids learn so little in school, yet they were tested on such difficult questions . Expect parents to Pay More To Learn More from tuitions.

so wonder is it a need to have tuition for all subjects and can't just depend on school teacher anymore?
            My DS's Science textbook is still as good as new, and as much as DH like to take things easy... It seems that nothing much had been taught, and we are suppose to 'get help outside' if needed. Those that scored fairly well for Science mostly tutored... 🀷

HAPPYH

HAPPYH:

My best friend's DD needs to do assessment books soon after the exams (last Friday afternoon itself) and the intensity stays the same. According to her, all these should be routine. :yikes: She is very strict and also her DD is co-operative.

I don't have that kind of stamina. I need my break too. DD will appear very co-operative oso. I ask her to do she will do. Anyhow do. Which will make me :stompfeet: :frustrated: :mad: , then I will :rant: :nunchuk: :spank: her and she will 😒 :gloomy: :sad: .

Really don't have that kind of energy.

Same here. :hi5:

But my DD is not co-operative. must give her enough breaks and sweet talk a bit, then she will be ok.

peapot

Finally last paper for my gal today! Can u imagine she still has homework yesterday when today she still having exam?

Anymore children here still having exams?

Monster Mummy

My Child also have journal writing while having exam. End up he anyhow do the homework and I have to ask him to redo.

Bunbun

peapot:
                    Bunbun:

[quote=\"auntieM\"]Bunbun.. πŸ˜„ ,

Let's hope this round motivates them instead of scaring them, like what Funz said..
                    For me now ish bracing for the Science results.. .. πŸ˜“ πŸ˜“

Agreed. My dd even asked me, \"do you still love me???\". It took me the whole weekend to ensure her again and again that I'll love her no matter what happens. She's in one of the top classes. It must have been quite a blow to her. 😞 Yeah same same. Waiting for Science results today ... Hope you receive good news too!! :xedfingers:

Aiyo!! girls are usually more insecure. Poor thing. Try to hug her and kiss her alot. And then say things like \"no matter what happen, mummy still loves you.\" This seems to work on my girl.

But I may have given my girl too much attention that she comes up with funny answers for her test papers.[/quote]Thanks for the advice. πŸ™‚ Yap I think girls are a bit more emo ya? Need constant assurance which I am happy to give any time unless I also emo myself lor. There are days she emo, I also emo. Combine together, it is normally quite disastrous ... lol ...

Bunbun

auntieM:
                      My DS survived the Science paper.. πŸ˜“

Teacher marked him incorrect for listing 'silverfish' as an insect...
                      Will check with teacher tomorrow and see if can squeeze a point out of that... πŸ˜‚
                      :rahrah: Hooray your DS survived the science paper. Nice! πŸ™‚ My dd told me science paper marks (at least she wasn't as disappointed as she was with her Maths paper). Haven't seen the actual paper yet. The teacher will only return the hard copy today. Really amazed that some of her classmates can achieve 19/20 for the OE section lor. My dd isn't one of them lah, but I really take my hat off to those pupils who did. Even if I took the paper myself, I think I cannot even score near 19! :sad:

peapot

Hi Bunbun, Have u ever cry I infront of yr children? I did and I realize my gal can’t handle it.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 19

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo