2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
MY DS has a dream school. He even took a copy of the school info himself and stuck it in front of his study table. Looking at it everyday. But he somehow has this thinking that things will just magically happen. Wonderland thinking lor. His chances for DSA are less than 50% hor.
Every time must kena hit the wall real hard than can wake up a bit. But even then, the wake up call don’t last very long. He is very quick to forget his mistakes! DH say boys are like that and I can’t understand 'cos I’m a girl!! Aiyo… -
Hello,
I am first time PSLE parent, mine is a dd. Only child. She too has a dream school - NYGH .... tough. But no matter which school she ends up in, I will cheer her on. She has a right attitude but is very busy with CCAs and competitions. I'll be her cheerleader :rahrah:
JiaYous, all PSLE daddies and mummies! -
Talking about "dream schools"… I want to ask, when did yout child start havig one? Has it been the same school?
Am asking because my DD seems to change her mind every other month! And no, it’s not because she wants to go where her friends are going.
But am more amused than anything else since we’re going to make the final choice after PSLE results anyway. -
elkniwt:
same here! dd spent a lot of time on CCA. Being a timid child, dd is also very scared to approach the teachers if she has problems understanding the lessons. Told teacher about it during parent meeting session and he encouraged me to write him an email. I just did and teacher responded very quickly and said my dd actually spoke to him during recess. whew.....she has changed....maybe aiming to get into her dream school.....Hello,
I am first time PSLE parent, mine is a dd. Only child. She too has a dream school - NYGH .... tough. But no matter which school she ends up in, I will cheer her on. She has a right attitude but is very busy with CCAs and competitions. I'll be her cheerleader :rahrah:
JiaYous, all PSLE daddies and mummies!
Jiayou! -
Peony:
Mine started thinking about it last year. But this year she seems more firm on her choices but still thinking which is her first choice.Talking about \"dream schools\"... I want to ask, when did yout child start havig one? Has it been the same school?
Am asking because my DD seems to change her mind every other month! And no, it's not because she wants to go where her friends are going.
But am more amused than anything else since we're going to make the final choice after PSLE results anyway. -
Peony:
My DD set upon her \"dream school\" since she is P4. Ask her why she chose that school then, she said because her best friends were all going there. :faint:Talking about \"dream schools\"... I want to ask, when did yout child start havig one? Has it been the same school?
Am asking because my DD seems to change her mind every other month! And no, it's not because she wants to go where her friends are going.
But am more amused than anything else since we're going to make the final choice after PSLE results anyway.
So when she was in P4, we brought her to some open houses including her dream school. Till now, she is still \"fixed\" to go there but now with more understanding of the culture of the school and environment after asking those existing students questions.
She collected some stickers and portfolio of the dream school and pasted it on the front page of her diary. I guess that is her motivation to push herself further.
Am hesitant to visit open houses… as I see it as akin to property open houses - marketing strategy. Prefer to hear from other parents and existing students.
But I do see a value in going for open houses after receiving feedback. -
elkniwt:
Hi elkniwt,Hello,
JiaYous, all PSLE daddies and mummies!
I am like you - \"I am first time PSLE parent, mine is a dd. Only child.\" :hi5:
And yes, we all need to be our pillar of support and strength to our DD and DS ! :rahrah:
Fighting ! :stompfeet: :nunchuk: -
DD was in 2009. Though stressful (first timer) things were more in control. We could plan time table and schedules together and DD will try her best to follow them. She knows what she wants and what is needed to get there with very little reminders.
Which year did your DD do PSLE? What's different?Drama Mama:
We must appreciate and acknowledge that every child is unique and not one rule nor strategy work for all. I have a DD and a DS and preparing for PSLE this year with by DS is a whole new ball game all together.
I thought I would be experience enough after having gone thru one pretty comfortably....but I was proven wrong.
DS also knows what he wants but is less willing to put in the effort. He wants to take short cut all the way, hoping for the same results. DD a lot more focus whereas DS gets distracted very easily. For DS I also try to work out a time table but it is a struggle to make him keep to it. A lot more tiring and stressful working with DS this year. But I guess the experience with DD does help a bit. -
Peony:
in ways you are right - the extent school go to say I am the best, is kind of putting off.Am hesitant to visit open houses.... as I see it as akin to property open houses - marketing strategy. Prefer to hear from other parents and existing students.
But I do see a value in going for open houses after receiving feedback.
But this is also an opportunity for your DD/DS to visit there dream school, take in the atmosphere to motivate them . A concrete thing to see and feel and aspire to than just a slip giving the T-Score.
IMHO dont go running around to all , but select 1 or 2 , and walk around ...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.