2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
I didn't understand that al all... lalalalalala... hmmmmm.... hmmmmm.... hmmmmm.... :imanangel:
I'm sure it does!!!Chenonceau:
No lah... I need to give hubby a hard time when he gets home tonight. That always makes me feel better for some reason. :evil: :evil: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Its a mommy thing, the daddies dont get it
Here is what gets said around my son these days...Sun_2010:
Only I was paranoid :frustrated: . Watched like a hawk over what she ate , avoided crowds and every ride we went I was on my toes to protect DD from accidents...even repeatedly warned DD, that if she were to fall , NOT to use her right hand to break the fall.
Refused to let DD fly the MegaZip too much to DD's disappointment.
- Gasp! You sniffed! Are you falling sick?!
- Don't eat too much cake, sugar reduces body immunity.
- Drink this herbal tea, it will keep stress away.
- Don't go out in the rain, your father will get the car and bring it here.
- Stop digging your nose, flus get transmitted that way. No nose digging until after PSLE.
- That person sneezed. Don't walk into his cloud of sneeze.
- I just sneezed. I can't put you to bed till I feel better.
- Let's take the escalator, not the lift. Too many germs float about in the confined space of the lift.
The worst was when I said to my son...
- That man does not look healthy.
Even my husband gave me a strange look.
And you are doin the right thing by building up the immunity.
Sleep and sunshine and healthy food are important
Not to scare all you paranoid mums but at the end of it , I was glad I did what I did.
Based on DD's experience, there were a few with runny nose and sneezes during the PSLE exams on Day 1 .The air con environment not only worsens it , it helps to spread this to others too. By the last exam many more got it. Even DD has slight fever on the day before Science.
Just dont go over board though , otherwise your well meaning DHs will take you to IMH :rotflmao: -
Am NOT going to let hubby see all these.
Last night, he held my hands, looked deeply into my eyes. Hmmm, he hasn't done that for years.
He said : \"Mommy, PSLE is just 3+weeks away. Can you dun be so relax & make sure our son is studying hard & do well?!?! Can you make sure they drink lotsa water, make honey water daily & get well quickly so that you dun spread to the kids?!?!\" :slapshead: -
Sun_2010:
Hmmmm... thanks for the heads up. Now I know I need to take ermmmm... some measures.
Based on DD's experience, there were a few with runny nose and sneezes during the PSLE exams on Day 1 .The air con environment not only worsens it , it helps to spread this to others too. By the last exam many more got it. Even DD has slight fever on the day before Science. -
I didn't understand that al all... lalalalalala... hmmmmm.... hmmmmm.... hmmmmm.... :imanangel:[/quote]
I'm sure it does!!!Nebbermind:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
No lah... I need to give hubby a hard time when he gets home tonight. That always makes me feel better for some reason. :evil: :evil: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Yes, yes! Gotta make sure our children do not fall sick during the PSLE.
Share with you a story...this was when I was still teaching in school...
There was this boy who was 2nd in level for both SA1 and prelims...
Expected to get nothing less than 260.
Alas, he fell sick just before PSLE and had a fever throughout the examination period.
When the results were released, he was nowhere near the top 10 positions.
He had scored 240+ only...dun :pokeeye: me hor!
I put 240+ only because he was expected to breeze into RI based on his track records over his 6 years of education.
So to get 240+ was a huge blow to him.
Moral of the story? Dun play play with your children's health.
Hope I did not make some parents even more paranoid than before.
But many forget it’s the stress that really brings down the immunity. So need to de-stress regularly by going outdoor, stretch the muscles…helps to circulate the blood a little after long hours at the desk. Best if u r in a condo and can pop into the pool anytime…just float on the water and watch the skies…and relax!
But many forget it's the stress that really brings down the immunity. So need to de-stress regularly by going outdoor, stretch the muscles...helps to circulate the blood a little after long hours at the desk. Best if u r in a condo and can pop into the pool anytime...just float on the water and watch the skies...and relax!
Yes... this is true. Stress reduces immunity. -
MummySTay:
Oh dear... poor poor thing!!Yes, yes! Gotta make sure our children do not fall sick during the PSLE.
Share with you a story...this was when I was still teaching in school...
There was this boy who was 2nd in level for both SA1 and prelims...
Expected to get nothing less than 260.
Alas, he fell sick just before PSLE and had a fever throughout the examination period.
When the results were released, he was nowhere near the top 10 positions.
He had scored 240+ only...dun :pokeeye: me hor!
I put 240+ only because he was expected to breeze into RI based on his track records over his 6 years of education.
So to get 240+ was a huge blow to him.
Moral of the story? Dun play play with your children's health.
Hope I did not make some parents even more paranoid than before.
Need some advice. Does anyone have any idea what happens if kid is unwell and cannot take the PSLE? My #2 is down with HFMD now. Worried it will pass to #1 who will be taking PSLE.
Apart from honey, vitamin C, cooling water, disinfecting the house daily (am doing this personally to ensure it is done properly - cannot rely on maid as do not know where she cuts corner), leaving the fans on to ensure good ventilation, separating them, any other recommendations?
Also anyone giving kids DHA/fish oils to improve brain function/focus? Do you find it helpful?
Thanks in advance.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.