2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
fifiyeo:
[quote=\"concerned_of_PSLE 10\"]My mum was like, see!you also cannot get into some sec sch.i feel really bad about it,she says she hav no confidence at all.she don have, i have even lesser
I am sad that your Mom says such things to you. It is important that you tell yourself that you are worth a whole lot than what others say. Ideally, parents should not put their kids down. Sometimes, a parent's confidence and belief is all that keeps a child's head above the water.
You must NEVER believe anyone who tells you that you are of little worth.
NEVER.
The worst that can happen (and I don't think it will) is that you do poorly at the PSLE... and go somewhere other than the top 30 schools. It STILL doesn't matter my dear... my carpenter has education only up to Sec 2... went to VITB... learnt carpentry. Today, he employs a team of workers... owns a workshop last valued at $9 million, drives a huge car, is married to a simple lady who loved him since he was nothing at all and loves him still. His children are filial AND he loves his job.
Not every child has parents who are loving, encouraging and supportive. If you have little emotional support from your Mom, then you must find the strength within you. Now you may not do well but in future, when you are grown... and are stronger... and have matured ... and have more personal resources than you have now, you will succeed.
You must believe it, then it will happen. Don't grow up into one of those who require constant affirmation and likes to put people down. Grow up into one who GIVES affirmation and who will build people UP. For that, you must NOW learn to be strong and not let yourself be bedeviled by negative thoughts.
What happens when other family members are the ones waiting to put the kid down and condemn the parents when he doesn't do well enough for the top few schools?[/quote] :snuggles: :snuggles: ***sayang***
To deal with school teachers who put down my kids... I tell my kids that I am their mother and I know them better than anyone else. Hence, it doesn't matter what anyone else says. It only matters what I say. This draws up a psychological firewall around their psyches.
To deal with family members, I will tell my kids the same thing... and then separately, I will deal with my family members. If I need to, I will reduce contact between my kids and those people... until they stop being negative. Different family members needed to be dealt with differently but by now... all know better than to put down my kids. I don't get angry but my expectations are made known and most are nice enough and respect me enough to cooperate, especially when my skills are motivating also help THEIR kids.
The more difficult issue is when one child puts down the other. Not with words but with action. My son used give up easy because his sister won him in every thing so easily. He learnt he was a loser by the time I realized... I had to undo some damage. -
fifiyeo:
I still haven't received the booklet on secondary school selection. Are teachers giving them out or we have to collect it from somewhere?
Call/Email the school to enquire...most would have collected that book by now...it's issued in kids' schools. -
fifiyeo:
[/quote]My no. 1 has never been independent...but #2 is. She prefers to get things done by herself. Where homework is concerned, she will take it out to do...but I don't remember my son ever doing that when he was in P2 :slapshead:
It's so low morale looking at no.2's work and still have to push on. Actually I'm not fair to no.2. Expect him to do better than no.1 but hardly ever coach him. But no.1 is so NOT independent.janet_lee88:
[quote=\"fifiyeo\"]Sigh...am I the only one feeling like that?
No, you are not the only one.
I'm 'recovering' slowly...still have to coach #2 bcos she has SA2...do what we can. Just don't have high expectations. Her FT advised me to go easy bcos she is slow. Telling myself, SWITCH FOCUS...she is going to P3 next year. There will be Science !!!
I tell hubby and myself NOT to have high expectations bcos she is slow...and I'm really out of brain juice. Age must be catching up. -
I will probably do the same. Reduce contact or stop contact for the time being until Chinese New Year. All kids have different abilities, even twins. Why should we compare them with other kids & put them down? As long as our kids have put in their best, we should encourage them to keep up with it. Most top O & A level scorers are not top PSLE scorers. Don't let others negative comments affect you & your kids. After all, we are the kids' mummies & we know our kids better than anyone else. :snuggles:fifiyeo:
What happens when other family members are the ones waiting to put the kid down and condemn the parents when he doesn't do well enough for the top few schools? [\\quote]
To deal with school teachers who put down my kids... I tell my kids that I am their mother and I know them better than anyone else. Hence, it doesn't matter what anyone else says. It only matters what I say. This draws up a psychological firewall around their psyches.
To deal with family members, I will tell my kids the same thing... and then separately, I will deal with my family members. If I need to, I will reduce contact between my kids and those people... until they stop being negative. Different family members needed to be dealt with differently but by now... all know better than to put down my kids. I don't get angry but my expectations are made known and most are nice enough and respect me enough to cooperate, especially when my skills are motivating also help THEIR kids. -
PSLE marking day is next Monday onwards. I feel it's important to pray for our DCs during this period too. Pray for reasonable teachers marking our DCs' papers. I understand there are two markers and they must both agree unanimously to the student's answers.
Heard that if your paper gets marked towards the end of the day, the teachers tend to get tired and so be more lenient, especially for compos, so will not be so strict to deduct marks?
mommylow:
This is true...that teacher friend of mine told me to hope and pray son's compo is marked towards the end of the marking days. Bcos they are tired after intensive marking on the first 2 days.PSLE marking day is next Monday onwards. I feel it's important to pray for our DCs during this period too. Pray for reasonable teachers marking our DCs' papers. I understand there are two markers and they must both agree unanimously to the student's answers.
Heard that if your paper gets marked towards the end of the day, the teachers tend to get tired and so be more lenient, especially for compos, so will not be so strict to deduct marks?
Was telling hubby the exam papers are locked all this while...come Monday, they will be taken out
Janet, bring kopi or ginseng tea for the teachers marking our DCs' papers. Maybe they award more marks to our kids. Haha......just kidding lah! :rotflmao:
mommylow:
Janet, bring kopi or ginseng tea for the teachers marking our DCs' papers. Maybe they award more marks to our kids. Haha......just kidding lah! :rotflmao:
of course you are kidding...if i know which teacher(s) are marking son's scripts, maybe i bring manuka or birds nest soup :rotflmao: wait, CANNOT bring ginseng lah...make them more alert leh. -
mommylow:
Ha..ha.. Good suggestion. Can you help us to find out who are the markers so that we can bring Kopi or ginseng tea? I think all the parents will buy you bird nest as well. :rotflmao: -
All this while, the exam scripts were marked by own school teachers…now they are marked by other teachers.
Marking is so stringent…they have to report to centers at 8am, put their belongings in a locker including mobile. Lunch/tea break provided. Then back to marking again. Teachers only know the school code and index no…but son told me names are printed on scripts.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.