Throwing Tantrum

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    130 Posts 35 Posters 40.9k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

:? 17mths old still cannot eat ice-cream and gummies?

I also started giving my son creamy ice-cream like Mcdonald's when he was 1+ yr old

momoshop

smurf:

.......when he can't get what he wants, such as ice cream, sweets, toys,etc, he throws tantrum. and he can scream and shout at the top of his voice, stomps feet, beats people, and throw things. and he can throw thing until the thing break. :!:

momoshop:
        For things that he wants, e.g. ice cream etc, I always pre-empt by bringing an acceptable snack when we go out so that I pre-empt them by saying, I know you want ice-cream, but I have this, your fav gummies. What colour do you want?
        Ice-cream & candy given at young age? :!:

oops.. probably not at 17 mths, though like tankee, I started them on some licks ice cream. Alternatives like yougurt can be used, cheese sticks, cheese cubes, cereal, dreid fruits. all healthy and should work.. sugar free gummies are ok as well, if the kids know how to chew.

I think the key is also to pick your battles. You can't win all the fights..
        So strategise on the ones that matter.

It is also impt to have enjoyable moments with the kids, rather than to have to fight all the time.

smurf

Hi Momoshop,

good advice. I read that book how to talk so kids will listen already. It's a very helpful book. I can't type a lot more, cos my laptop keypad has been spoilt by DS2 (he plucked out one by one when I wasn't looking.):(

DS2 also will cry and run around until he found something to distract him.haha.

although it is very frustrating cos he can throw tantrum many many times a day, but can be very cute leh.haha.

can't imagine a small and tiny baby can have a nasty temper that is so explosive! :shock:

Hi Buds,

yah. no choice, when someone (cousins, etc) eats ice-cream, he will want a bite too. not a good thing, but as I dun thnk a bite or 2 is harmful, so just give little bit lor. :oops:

momoshop

smurf:
            I can't type a lot more, cos my laptop keypad has been spoilt by DS2 (he plucked out one by one when I wasn't looking.):(

although it is very frustrating cos he can throw tantrum many many times a day, but can be very cute leh.haha.

can't imagine a small and tiny baby can have a nasty temper that is so explosive! :shock:
            Smurf, you know, I think my no. 2 is very similiar to your DS2. He also plucked out many of my laptop alphabets and place them back in the wrong place! hahaaha..

And yes , when he was younger, initially I was very terrified by his tantrums.
            And When I told my friend last Christmas that in one of his tantrums, He pulled down our Christmas tree, my friend asked if it is the miniature one on tabletop and I had to laugh, and replied that it was a full sized one.

I am glad that I have time to understand him better now that I am SAHM for a while, and helped to established the \"rules\" and helped him manage the tantrum. So you should feel lucky that you are the one to help- to be there to correct the act when it occurs. It may be worst if you have to be working & have less contact with him 🙂 I know that on the really \"horror\" days it is hard to look at it that way.

And yes, like you said, they are really cute most times. And The good news is - once they speak, it will get better!! 🙂

smurf

Dear momoshop,

felt great to hear that our kids are similar. at least I know that I;m not alone.:)

Sometimes, it's tiring and energy draining, cos he seems to have so much energy to expel at this age that I can't keep up with him. just hope that he doesn't sleep when its time to attend sch!haha. 🙂

sometmes I lose my temper on him, scolds and beats his hand for touching electricity, etc, but of cos, regret after that. feel lousy that I'm not a good mum. 😞

usually I would explain to him why cannot do this or that, but at 17 mth, dun thnk he will remember, instead he will cheekily smile and run off to do that again. :x

I think just have to have lotsa patience patience.:)

• E Offline
                evemel

Original Title: Anger Management

Recently I received a call from my kid's (8 yr old) teacher. Telling me that she was crying loudly 😢 and screaming non stop for at least half an hour in school after she was scolded by her teacher. Her teacher suggested that she has poor anger management which I think is quite true. Would somebody be kind to provide me with some suggestion that could help her? :?:

fussyMummy

P - Praised
                  A - Attention
                  C - Care/Communication
                  E - Encourage

I always keep this "4 letterwords" in my mind…

My 9 years old daughter is a super crybaby… Fight with her brother also cry… Eat those foods she dislike also cry… and always show me her "black face"… And yet I always scold her for it…

I change my "pattern" recently… I try to talk to her, even she doesnt want to answer me but show me her crycry face or black face…

I told her how I felt and explain to her and teach her how to deal it if what what situation happened… encourage her and praised her if she does so…

Dont expect she will become good in 1 day time, not even 1 week… I tried for about 3 months, just a little improvement…

Gosh… no choice, she is my dear girl girl… Must be patience with her lah…

• E Offline
                    evemel

Thanks for your advice.

After this incident, I did not scold her but talked to her nicely and explained to her that why she should not behave that way. She agreed to apologize to her teacher on Friday but did not and gave an excuse that she felt embarassed to tell her.

I told her to do an apologize card, she agreed and made one over the weekend. But did not give it to her teacher today and this time her excuse is she wanted to add more drawings onto the card.

Both my husband and I could no longer tolerate her excuses, we scolded her and now I am still crossing my fingers that she could tell her teacher "Sorry".

I am thinking of sending her for hypnotherepy, but not sure if it works and if there will be side effect. (sight!).

smurf

Do you have hot temper child? My boy keeps shouting at me for no reason. I think he has a problem managing his emotion. For minor minor thing, for example, if I didn't give him food on time, he will shout at me, why I didn't give him food, etc. He will lose his temper and grumble.

This morning, he was doing his art homework, after finishing it, he waited for the glue to dry, but I ask him to shower. Immediately, he raised his voice and shouted, \" No need to dry is it?! \" I haven't even say anything or shouted at him! This is just one minor incident. There are many many more.

When I asked him do something, such as eating, shower, etc, he will shout back, ' then what about blah blah blah?!'

I dun usually shout or scold him unless he does something dangerous or silly. So i dunno why he behaves this way. In fact, I talk to him nicely before all these nonsense.

When he is doing something and he can't get it done, he will cry. He will not be patient to try and try again. He will just lose his temper and throw the thing.

In school, he is very mild and soft spoken (I assumed coz he would tell me that his school friends do mischievous things, etc and he didn't).

Anyone got any advise? :?:

leo

smurf:
                        Do you have hot temper child? My boy keeps shouting at me for no reason. I think he has a problem managing his emotion. For minor minor thing, for example, if I didn't give him food on time, he will shout at me, why I didn't give him food, etc. He will lose his temper and grumble.

This morning, he was doing his art homework, after finishing it, he waited for the glue to dry, but I ask him to shower. Immediately, he raised his voice and shouted, \" No need to dry is it?! \" I haven't even say anything or shouted at him! This is just one minor incident. There are many many more.

When I asked him do something, such as eating, shower, etc, he will shout back, ' then what about blah blah blah?!'

I dun usually shout or scold him unless he does something dangerous or silly. So i dunno why he behaves this way. In fact, I talk to him nicely before all these nonsense.

When he is doing something and he can't get it done, he will cry. He will not be patient to try and try again. He will just lose his temper and throw the thing.

In school, he is very mild and soft spoken (I assumed coz he would tell me that his school friends do mischievous things, etc and he didn't).

Anyone got any advise? :?:
                        Does anyone in the house raise his/her voice like that?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 13