Lunch

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.8k Posts 65 Posters 999.8k Views 1 Watching

Desserts:
      Buds, I m on diet leh. Hahaha.. I fixed soba noodles tdy with chicken nuggets and my p1 ds said, wah, mama is the best cook! Ha, if I can cook like you, he won't want to eat outside Nasi lemak anymore. Hahaha.

I used to goreng the sambal Tumis , then spent the whole afternoon cleaning up the kitchen. Now very tired to do it liao. Then my good Malay neighbour gives me little tubs of the sambal now and then.

Eh,your family so blessed to have a good cook at home! And your presentation is so nice! I m very inspired
      Yes, the slow frying of sambal tumis does take a long time and oh my the mess afterwards... :faint:

They sell ready-made sambal at the market. Indian or Malay stalls in neighbourhood markets have it these days. Looks like this pic below.

http://i49.tinypic.com/142dca8.jpg\">

But since your good Malay neighbour gives you tubs now and then, i suppose that's fantastic. Envy. :please:

As for sambal belachan.. if wanna make your own paste.. here's a link.
      http://singaporeshiok.blogspot.sg/2012/06/sambal-belacan-chilli-and-shrimp-paste.html#.UVPjd6WkS-I

If you have FB account, a friend once shared with me that there is this account called 'Warung Makan' that sells the sauces and sambals that you can freeze.

vinegar

TheAnswer:
        vinegar:

my lunch today is watercress,chinese apricot n goji soup.

made pumpkin n meatball porridge for kiddo....

weather very hot....muz drink more \"liang\" soup

How did you get your boy to eat pumpkin? Mine doesn't even touch pumpkin.
        He doesnt like porridge. Prefers heavy flavoured food. Just like DH.

What's Chinese apricot?

i cut the pumpkin into small size,then dump into porridge when it starts to boil. Porridge...imptly is cook the porridge with corn n red dates soup.I soak the rice first wf soup n sesame oil abt half an hour b4 cooking it.

vinegar

buds,

ur sambal vege looks spicy. Like the way u cut the long beans…i can’t do that,no patience

Desserts

Yo buds, thanks for the recipe. Sometimes, if I under fry the sambal Tumis, it turns out bitter . My good nieghbour says must goreng till oil comes out, that means must add quite a lot of oil. They have shifted out, so no more yummy for me :sad:

Your lunch looks so delicious! :drool:
            I tried the buttered fish using cross sectioned ang zor fish, tweaked yr recipe a bit cos I didn't get that nice seasoning you mentioned, think I didn't put enough seasoning, so not tasty enough. Must try the butter fish again;)

Tonight s dinner, tea tree mushroom soup, jap curry chicken, and sweet potato leaves with white baits.

This hot and humid weather is really tak Boleh tahan

vinegar

TheAnswer:
              vinegar:

my lunch today is watercress,chinese apricot n goji soup.

What's Chinese apricot?

sorry,not chinese apricot,chinese almonds((南杏,北杏)

vinegar

these almonds & figs(无花果) r good for dealing with phlegms.

TheAnswer

Can buy ready-made sambal tumis from any indian or malay stalls at the neighbourhood market, add in the veg (tau kwa : diced-cut, tempeh, long beans), optional prawns, sugar, salt and a tinge of ikan bilis stock. 😄 When cooked at home can go for seconds. At the stalls will be quite ex for complete meal. 😞 We are surviving on single income, so it is penny-wise to eat (more) from home.

Where do you keep your laundry when you cook the sambal? Won't the house smell of sambal? The cleaning up also another problem.

TheAnswer

vinegar:
                    TheAnswer:

[quote=\"vinegar\"]my lunch today is watercress,chinese apricot n goji soup.

What's Chinese apricot?

sorry,not chinese apricot,chinese almonds((南杏,北杏)[/quote] :thankyou:

TheAnswer

vinegar:
                      TheAnswer:

[quote=\"vinegar\"]my lunch today is watercress,chinese apricot n goji soup.

What's Chinese apricot?

i cut the pumpkin into small size,then dump into porridge when it starts to boil. Porridge...imptly is cook the porridge with corn n red dates soup.I soak the rice first wf soup n sesame oil abt half an hour b4 cooking it.[/quote]Too much work. I doubt I can afford the time unless it's my off day.

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

My new toy just arrived! 🕺

Waffles for lunch is kinda indulgent huh? Maybe dun eat it with ice-cream or syrup but with curry and stew. :boogie:

Pics please :please:

They toy
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130328_200141_zpsdf61b074.jpg\">

The primary product
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130328_203012_zpsecd71851.jpg\">

The end product
                        http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/20130328_203308_zpsa030767e.jpg\">

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 49 / 180