Sec 1 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    405 Posts 45 Posters 92.8k Views 1 Watching
      less kiasu liao

Hi 😄

ngbrdad

Hi reporting here for the first time.

Reading from today’s ST, seems like the 3 international schools did quite well for the IBDP last year.
        Considering the students that they have ( at least for the local students) after hearing all the horror stories . for SJI international to have 20% with above 40 points with one perfect score sounds like a great achievement.

ACS international also has 2 with 44 points and 13% above 40.

Or are these top scorers mostly foreign students ?

Anyone able to get the results from UWC as a comparison ?

vlim

MummySTay:
          vlim:

[quote=\"MummySTay\"]
          Was that the sound of the hippo's arrival?

Wah! So loud! Woke me up from my sleep! :rotflmao:

No leopard .. :rotflmao: ....

Zipbra? :rotflmao:[/quote]Ohhhhhh .... U Notti Notti ..... :rotflmao:

MummySTay

less kiasu liao:
            Hi 😄

Hi less Kiasu liao,

Pardon my bad memory.
            Is your DS in CHS?

MummySTay

ngbrdad:
              Hi reporting here for the first time.

Reading from today's ST, seems like the 3 international schools did quite well for the IBDP last year.
              Considering the students that they have ( at least for the local students) after hearing all the horror stories . for SJI international to have 20% with above 40 points with one perfect score sounds like a great achievement.

ACS international also has 2 with 44 points and 13% above 40.

Or are these top scorers mostly foreign students ?

Anyone able to get the results from UWC as a comparison ?
              I dun know the stats, but SJI international does have some bright sparks.
              Friend's DS with mid 260 t-score chose to go there when he could have strolled into RI.

Studying in an international school has its plus points.
              When the DS heard his schoolmates (non-Singaporeans) criticizing Singapore, for the first time ever, he actually felt compelled to defend his motherland. Hahaha...brought out the patriotism he never knew existed. 😉

ngbrdad

MummySTay:

Friend's DS with mid 260 t-score chose to go there when he could have strolled into RI.

When the DS heard his schoolmates (non-Singaporeans) criticizing Singapore, for the first time ever, he actually felt compelled to defend his motherland. Hahaha...brought out the patriotism he never knew existed. 😉
                SJI international is supposed to be the best among the 3.
                Fees should be more than 1k per month right ?
                Cheaper than UWC ?
                At least no need to queue for a place.

MummySTay

ngbrdad:
                  MummySTay:

SJI international is supposed to be the best among the 3.
                  Fees should be more than 1k per month right ?
                  Cheaper than UWC ?
                  At least no need to queue for a place.

Understand that the fee is closer to 2k per month.

Some parents prefer the international exposure...
                  And of course, have the money to throw. :evil:

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

MummySTay:

Understand that the fee is closer to 2k per month.

Some parents prefer the international exposure...
                    And of course, have the money to throw. :evil:
                    If I only have 1 or 2 kids, I might consider. But then I notice most of the activities rather western-orientated. So if it were my for my younger kid - not suitable. Maybe have to look for CCA externally to feed their interest.
                    http://en.calameo.com/read/000202750e890bcc4690e

It's S$1.6k/mth for high school and nearly S$2k for JC levels.
                    http://www.sji-international.com.sg/page.cfm?p=594

But then, before they get into the school, already need to spend S$6k on deposit/registration. Ah...they didn't say can get a Bankers' Guarantee for it either.

stressedoutmummy

After a 3 day outdoor camp followed by CCA auditions, my son i soooo tan.

iFirefly

Lost my direction… Flew to the wrong (old) thread…

Firefly flying-in… & shouts ‘MEEEE’!!!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 41