MPM Maths - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    542 Posts 189 Posters 414.6k Views 1 Watching
      Busymom

kiasume:

Yes autumnbronze is correct on the location of Growing Fun.

As for the logico, it is not sold at Growing Fun. I can't remember which retail carries this. I think popular has this (I think I saw this a few ago). There is this online store carries this which is http://www.sgshinekids.com/index.html and this is not a true version but a copied ones from China. But it is good enough.

There are many different version (english and chinese and even Indonesian Malay). It doesn't matter which one, coz it is quite straight forward. The adult do not need to read the instruction as it is quite straight forward. As for kids, parents must guide them through.

If you have the time, try to find preloved (if you can) coz I noticed quite a number of parents just give up on this and did not pressed on for the completion. So some of the preloved are quite good in quality. You just need to be patient. Otherwise just put up a post on WTB section will help lah. That is only my advise. šŸ˜‰

As in buying Right Brain stuff in Taiwan, don't go to the shop. šŸ˜‰ Go to those temporary stall at the street. They are very cheap. Off hand, I can't remember which particular street that is popular for children stuff.
      Wow, thanks for the Taiwan tips... will find out more if I go to Taiwan again. šŸ˜‰

Also, learn something new today. Never heard of logico set until you mentioned it. Is this something similar to what the kids do in Jelic?

• laughingcatL Offline
        laughingcat

Hello Busymom,

Here is the website on logico. There are different levels of the logico.

http://www.logico.mn/logico-english/whatislogico.htm

Although it does not have the beautiful and variety of manipulatives at Jelic/MPM, but the concept of critical thinking skills are the relevant ones that needed to tackle before embarking onto mathematics foundation. Logico covers from age 3-12 yrs of age.

Do take a look. If I am not wrong, the new set is priced at $139 at bulk purchase price.

There are a lot of similar types such as Fun Thinkers and Luk. But the range of ages are far shorter as compared to Logico.

Luk is selling in Singapore and it is far more expensive than Logico in terms of amount of stuffs it covers. Fun Thinkers are available at Amazon and it is much cheaper than Luk.

If you ask me which one to get, I will say go for Logico and Fun Thinkers.

Busymom

:thankyou: laughingcat

Interesting, although I must admit I am still quite clueless what Logico and the rest are meant to teach. :oops: I think I need to see one sample to truly understand it... Have you come across Noddy Fun Book? Is Logico or Fun Thinkers something like that? The Noddy Fun Book that we have cost about $130+. How much does Fun Thinkers cost?

By the way, do you have Logico or Fun Thinkers at home? How do you find them and do your kids like to do the activities?

• laughingcatL Offline
            laughingcat

hehehehe.... I have the noddy set as well. The Fun Thinkers almost the same as noddy set.

I don't remember how much I paid for the Fun Thinkers. :lol: I guess I bought too much from Amazon liao.

All of which (Fun Thinkers, Noddy set and Logico) have the same concept on right brain critical thinking bah.

Don't know how to explain leh......best if you can see the logico set in person. If I am not wrong, I do it at book warehouse sales and Grolier do carry them. šŸ˜„ That way you can get your child to try it on the spot. šŸ˜‰

Busymom

laughingcat:
              hehehehe.... I have the noddy set as well. The Fun Thinkers almost the same as noddy set.

I don't remember how much I paid for the Fun Thinkers. :lol: I guess I bought too much from Amazon liao.

All of which (Fun Thinkers, Noddy set and Logico) have the same concept on right brain critical thinking bah.

Don't know how to explain leh......best if you can see the logico set in person. If I am not wrong, I do it at book warehouse sales and Grolier do carry them. šŸ˜„ That way you can get your child to try it on the spot. šŸ˜‰
              Ah... Same as Noddy. Guess it is starting to be a bit clearer to me now.šŸ˜‰

Which book warehouse sales you been before were selling the logico?

learningstore

you can find some of the manipulative used like pattern blocks and more in http://www.learningstore.sg.

currently there is a 10% discount for all purchase.

Prettydol

My son is in K2 and I am considering to start him on MPM program in Jan 2011. Does anyone has any good recommendation on centres around Hougang area?

luvmum

Last sat brought my girl to MPM for the diag test and I find that the qns posed by MPM indeed requires a lot of thinking skills. Unlike the typical qns asked in those assessment book, I find those at MPM a lot more indirect, evaluative and analytical in nature which I like. My girl was not too used to the qns asked though she can do it...she needed more time than usual. :love:

But still can't stand the English used by the teacher. She told my girl 'faster do' and I was disgusted hearing this a few times from her. Had an inner urge to correct her man. :rubhands:

Connection

Prettydol:
                      My son is in K2 and I am considering to start him on MPM program in Jan 2011. Does anyone has any good recommendation on centres around Hougang area?

Hi Prettydol,

There is a new MPM Centre opening soon at Blk 211 Hougang St 21. You may want to check it out. The banner at the Centre which is under going renovation listed the contact No. 9641 5032.

Cheers

• 2 Offline
                        24hr-mum

any one tried this new hougang branch?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 55

kubetecoK
                        kubeteco