MPM Maths - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    542 Posts 189 Posters 414.6k Views 1 Watching
      Busymom

Wondering if anyone has made a comparison between The Learning Lab and MPM? Between the two, which one will you go for, given a choice?

LTStars

Hi, for those who are interested in MPM Maths, I would like to share my own experience after my child had gone through the program for one year.

First and foremost, the MPM materials is excellent! They have incorporated critical thinking, IQ questions, various angles and perspective in understanding a specific concept. The materials also go hand in hand with MOE syllabus. The colourful printing and additional materials also make it interesting for the children.

Next, the down side of the program. Though it promotes independent learning, the children will stil require the teachers’ help from time to time. I have a feeling that not all the teachers are trained to explain the concept to the children well enough for them to understand. So it ended up the kids might be able to do the worksheets as the questions are repetitive. However, they do not truly understand the concepts and why are they doing it in that specific way. This leads to potential problem of not been able to apply what they have lerant in MPM in their school works, especially in upper primary.

This is my personal experience. If you are looking at signing up your kid, please try to avoid the Khatib branch whereby the teacher may not be up to the job. Thank you!

singapore45

LTStars:
          Hi, for those who are interested in MPM Maths, I would like to share my own experience after my child had gone through the program for one year.

First and foremost, the MPM materials is excellent! They have incorporated critical thinking, IQ questions, various angles and perspective in understanding a specific concept. The materials also go hand in hand with MOE syllabus. The colourful printing and additional materials also make it interesting for the children.

Next, the down side of the program. Though it promotes independent learning, the children will stil require the teachers' help from time to time. I have a feeling that not all the teachers are trained to explain the concept to the children well enough for them to understand. So it ended up the kids might be able to do the worksheets as the questions are repetitive. However, they do not truly understand the concepts and why are they doing it in that specific way. This leads to potential problem of not been able to apply what they have lerant in MPM in their school works, especially in upper primary.

This is my personal experience. If you are looking at signing up your kid, please try to avoid the Khatib branch whereby the teacher may not be up to the job. Thank you!

Are there any other branches you recommend?

luvmum

Intend to sign both my children for the MPM program. Went there last weekend as i'm scouting for maths enrichment class for my elder girl who will be going to p1 next yr. Went to a few centres and pretty more or less the same, ie typical classroom based taught by MOE teachers.

However, when I went to MPM, initially to be frank I wasn't impressed with the teacher cum owner of the franchise who explained the program to me as she is not speaking that well though it's not that worst afterall too. It's only when she brought me inside the centre and showed me the materials, tool set and workbook that I find it impressive and convincing. Yes, I didn't see the typical whiteboard. I like it that children get to play with 'tools/model' while grasping the concepts. Workbook is a good mix of varying concepts which they will change each month...so instead of learning number bond this lesson and forget the next, theirs will be reviewed again in subsequent lessons.

As we talked abt it, she also introduced Jelic program meant for preschoolers which I certainly felt veri suited for my small boy who liked to play and stack...instead of paper and pencil kind of writing.

So I'm gonna signed both up. Really hope that it is a good investment as school fee is steep thought, plus mine is x2... :?:

BTW any mummies here have any review on Bangkit branch?? :love:

janice_0950

MPM in Tapines Branch?

Anyone enrolled here @ Tampines CPF building in 3rd sty?

Kindly please share with me more about MPM. How impress or …?
              Sigh!

THanks in advance!

singapore45

luvmum:
                Intend to sign both my children for the MPM program. Went there last weekend as i'm scouting for maths enrichment class for my elder girl who will be going to p1 next yr. Went to a few centres and pretty more or less the same, ie typical classroom based taught by MOE teachers.

However, when I went to MPM, initially to be frank I wasn't impressed with the teacher cum owner of the franchise who explained the program to me as she is not speaking that well though it's not that worst afterall too. It's only when she brought me inside the centre and showed me the materials, tool set and workbook that I find it impressive and convincing. Yes, I didn't see the typical whiteboard. I like it that children get to play with 'tools/model' while grasping the concepts. Workbook is a good mix of varying concepts which they will change each month...so instead of learning number bond this lesson and forget the next, theirs will be reviewed again in subsequent lessons.

As we talked abt it, she also introduced Jelic program meant for preschoolers which I certainly felt veri suited for my small boy who liked to play and stack...instead of paper and pencil kind of writing.

So I'm gonna signed both up. Really hope that it is a good investment as school fee is steep thought, plus mine is x2... :?:

Can you explain more about this tools, do they get to play with a lot of manipulatives? What is the jelic programme and what are the school fees like? Thank you very much, I am urgently needing help, kumon does not work for my child anymore so looking for something else.

blueblue

what abt the branch in Toa Payoh? Is it good? My son is 4. Does Jellic or MPM suit him more?

kiasume

luvmum:

Hello luvmum, I am sure you will like it there. My boy loves Jelic alot. At a start, he keeps asking for more. But I only allows him to attend once per week. BTW, he attends at the Toa Payoh branch.

kiasume

blueblue:
                      what abt the branch in Toa Payoh? Is it good? My son is 4. Does Jellic or MPM suit him more?

Hello blueblue, my boy is at Toa Payoh branch. I must say Toa Payoh branch is good. When I say good, it means the teachers and person-in-charge are good. You must go there and see for yourself. Like what luvmum mentioned, some of them do not speak fantastically. To me it is not about posh english, it is about the ability to get the child likes what they are doing on maths and hands-on manipulatives. Personally I feel that they are genuine.

My boy started Jelic very young. Now that he is 4 yrs old, I requested the teachers and person-in-charge to speed up his Jelic activities, so that he can complete the Jelic programme (not a must but I want that lah) and then moves on to MPM (which is for age 5 yrs onwards). The teachers and person-in-charge were at first rather adamant about it. However after hearing my concerns, they came up with a plan capped for my boy only. Today I am very happy with this arrangement. I am very happy that they are open to my ideas and also my boy's capability to slowly edged him to pace faster.

As you can see......they are not out to eat parent's $. :lol:

Personally, since you are looking for enrichment on maths and since you started so early in your search, it is good that the child starts early and that means the Jelic programme as it is a precursor to MPM. From what I know, MPM only admits children at a min of 5 yrs old (calendar year).

Busymom

luvmum:

:hi5:

For me, I was initially looking at the Jelic program for DS at Toa Payoh branch, when they were still at HDB Hub. In the end, didn't follow up as the branch was due to move. Still, I was pretty interested in the program and eventually went to another branch to try it out. Ended up signing DD for the MPM program too. Was initially planning to do it for just one term to try out the last part of K2 syllabus, but have since decided to let DD continue this term with the P1 syllabus. By the way, is anyone here doing both MPM and The Learning Lab?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 55