Saving Gaia song
vlim:
Heheheeee ... 'nothing better to do' mah hahahaaafirefly38:
[quote=\"vlim\"]Alamak , if stalking, how can I tell u where I am ... :evil:

vlim, where have you been??? Thot you have abandoned us and migrated to other swamps.. Then in the middle of the nite suddenly jumped out like that.. gave me a shock.. but a pleasant shock indeed
Ya, I love the song.. DS1 says it is ''quite nice'', and his ''quite nice'' is actually very nice, as he is rather stingy with his praises.. DS2, on the other hand, is sooo proud to spot a few of his friends on TV, and keeps crooning ''save my world.. save my world..'' in his out-of-tune voice..
Ya can understand how your ds2 feel to be able to spot his friend there!... Nice sound indeed!.. I tot your ds2 involve too
[/quote]I wished he was, but not good enough lah..
DS1 and a few of his Choir friends at RI ''re-arranged'' the song and sang it (casually only).. Wow, it was splendid!!! But i still prefer the pure, innocent, natural, beautiful voices of the younger ones :love: ... -
The singing is very raw, some parts seem a bit out of tune and weak vocals.
But take a look at the kids' faces. They look so proud and happy, singing and dancing away in costumes. They look like they are very serious in putting on their best act.
Thumbs up. -
Namie:
So glad to see at least a few positive comments on this! When I saw the first few posts, I was like,\"er... But I like leh.... So sad, why you all don't like....?\"The singing is very raw, some parts seem a bit out of tune and weak vocals.
But take a look at the kids' faces. They look so proud and happy, singing and dancing away in costumes. They look like they are very serious in putting on their best act.
Thumbs up.
Sure, the whole presentationsaws not professional, nor was it perfect. But look at the kids who performed! I would be so proud if my child was one of the kids, even if he's the one that some folks describe as \"lame\", \"lifeless\", \"pitch less\"... They are kids, not seasoned pros, remember?
My child was very attracted to it. Whenever it was played, he would try to sing along and watched those scenes closely and started asking qns later. Perhaps this production is not meant for adults. It could be aimed at the younger generation, to inculcate the idea of conservation and ways to save our earth from further destruction.
Remember our children's art work when they were in preschool? They are not perfect right? But we applaud their effort and we pin them up somewhere as a form of encouragement. How come we are not doing this for this production? Because it is produced by mediacorp and therefore we expect a lot more? Ok then, just forget it and think of it as a school production. Feel better now?
Yes, we must give credit to the kids for being so enthusiastic about the song. It may have been better if only one choir sang the song instead of getting two different choirs to join forces. Hard to blend the different styles maybe?
I applaud the children for their courage to be filmed singing.

Does anyone else cringe when they hear this song? http://savinggaia.sg/
I am going to be brutally honest. Whenever 'save my world' is played on tv, my DS n I dash for the remote to save our ears. The solos are just too painfully insipid. The arrangement really isn't fit for repetitive public broadcast. Listening to it once is more than enough. Tks v much. -
tuition_czar:
After reading tuition_czar's post, I happened to catch the it again. I don't feel that the kids are coerced but yes, they looked expressionless. But my take is, they are concentrating on singing the song well. For those who had learnt from the pro would probably know - doing it via ktv is much easier than doing it in the studio where things are totally different. No tv to cue you on when to start singing. It's totally on catching the moment to start while listening to the music.cherrygal:
Yes, we must give credit to the kids for being so enthusiastic about the song. It may have been better if only one choir sang the song instead of getting two different choirs to join forces. Hard to blend the different styles maybe?
I beg to differ. The kids behaved as if they were coerced. Can't see the enjoyment on their faces during the recording session. Only smelled the reluctance. -
naggo-nitemare:
Everyone can voice their opinion and I think most members here will agree with me - we value honest posts the mostjtoh:
Does anyone else cringe when they hear this song? http://savinggaia.sg/
I am going to be brutally honest. Whenever 'save my world' is played on tv, my DS n I dash for the remote to save our ears. The solos are just too painfully insipid. The arrangement really isn't fit for repetitive public broadcast. Listening to it once is more than enough. Tks v much.
Naggo-nitemare's post reminded me of how I felt when I first watched it-eeeeee..... The singing er... Is less than um nice. The second time I watched it, my child was with me (that was his first time). He literally dropped all he was doing and listened. Watched. I was surprised by how mesmerized he was. As he glued his eyes to the tv, I observed my little prince. Through him, I began to appreciate the music video (ha, if I can call it mv). Call me biased (my child like so I like) but thereafter we would watch it together and talked about the scenes. That's why I thought the original target audience could be the younger generation - to nurture the idea of cherish and conserve. -
No MP3 version…? don’t feel like installing quicktime juz for this song…
I like the whole performance and the song seems to be circling in my head. I sing it to entertain myself. I’m no child, but can see it through a child’s eyes (or hear it in this case). If you look at it as an adult, you won’t understand. The song is so pure and innocent and such soft pleas coming from the children : "save my world" Unless you become like a little child …
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.