All About SAP Schools

584 Posts 121 Posters 403.0k Views 1 Watching
      daisyt

tamarind:
      caroline3sg:

Hi all

On one hand, seems no tuition cannot survice coz nowadays we know schs don't really teach or even they teach, is not enough to tackle exams.
      Thank you

Hi caroline,
      I am quite concerned when I see this statement.

Is this typical of all schools in Singapore now ? Or only the top schools ?

Hi, sorry to bring out this old discussion. I was somehow a bit bored and reading through some old postings and got to see this.

Hi caroline, hope you still remember me 😄

I am quite puzzled by this statement. :? So far, for my girl's case, the teachers did teach and even gave extra remedial lessons during P6, to teach them how to tackle questions. When my girl faced difficulties, she would ask the teachers and they did explained to her. And my girl had no tuition in the entire primary school life and no too, in Sec 1 now.

• E Offline
        ellehcim

Hi mummies, wanna check with you, did your P1 kids have any compo for SA papers? Me recieved the SA schedule and format for his subjects liao and surprised to see got so call paper 1 for compo (picture description) type as compo leh... :?

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

My P1 had it last year for english written expression. Then for SA2, they also have chinese compo.

But this year, they seem to do away with the written expression for P1 for SA1. Which was a relief. I know they still do it in school but probably not examinable at this stage.

• E Offline
            ellehcim

I was caught by surprised that they will be tested in SA1 loh… lucky no contribution fm SA1 for this yr. Will base on SA2 100% for whole yr performance. Just hope that he don’t fare badly for it, for his compo is horrible.

• MMMM Offline
              MMM

I personally think it’s alittle harsh to test them on written expression on SA1. Even chinese compo for SA2 and I am also… My nephew at Rosyth didn’t have this too. My girl struggled with the written expression. Eg. she could have scored better results but it was pulled down by her written expression score that constitute 10%. For them SA1 and SA2 results are all considered in FY. Can’t remember if it is 50% or slightly lower for SA1.

However, I do see some of her friends who are able to write perfect sentences (grammatically perfect and great sentencing) for P1 SA1!!! So it’s probably voice down to their exposure. This is probably something I am targetting for my nursery in the future too.

• E Offline
                ellehcim

hi MMM, i do agree with you. We got to look at the kids on the whole. If some of them are bad in their sentence structures or what, then their written compo will pull down their marks, not to mentioned they will do badly in their compreh in paper 2 also. For those kids who are exposed more on these areas are of course score much better. they should be tested on what they had learnt in school. For the compo, only lately I've noticed my child bring back some worksheets to do, but not sure if the teacher got teach them how to constuct the sentences or not... they are left to do themselve at home leh! So guess parents contribution or tuition is required then. 😓

san76

ellehcim:
                  Hi mummies, wanna check with you, did your P1 kids have any compo for SA papers? Me recieved the SA schedule and format for his subjects liao and surprised to see got so call paper 1 for compo (picture description) type as compo leh... :?

Dearest Elllehcim,

Yes, my son had his CA1, May will be SA1.
                  Not all school are having CA1 CA2 and SA1. They will have small test instead. Most schools will have SA2.

For us, we will call the \"picture description as composition\". Now they call it \"creative writing\". Did the school give your boy \"picture description\" as homework?

You can find books like picture and compo from popular. It caters to different Pri level. Let him read some to have an idea of it. Very simple, but spelling is very important. Ususally the kid can describe but cant spell the words, so ask him to write simple english and short sentences. My school only requires him to write 2 paragraphs with 10sentences.
                  caroline3sg:
                  wrote:
                  Hi all
                  On one hand, seems no tuition cannot survice coz nowadays we know schs don't really teach or even they teach, is not enough to tackle exams.

daisyt:
                  I am quite concerned when I see this statement.

I am quite puzzled by this statement. And my girl had no tuition in the entire primary school life and no too, in Sec 1 now.
                  Dear Daisyt,
                  You are very lucky to have such a gal. Most parents will choose to send the kids to tution is not that the kids do not know their work, parents in gerneral wants the kids to know their work and when they reach school, the school teachers teach again is like polishing (enhance) them up. There are many types of parents, some will send their kids for enrichment to enhance is also call tution.

some kids need tutors because, there is no one in the family to guide them. Cases like both parents are working.

I am also the kiasuparents, I dont want my son to lose out. He need not be first in class but he must know his fundamental very well. I can teach and guide him, but he prefers a real teacher to sit by him and teach him. He can pick up very fast. What choice do I have?

You really really very lucky, can save the tution cost!!!!

• E Offline
                    ellehcim

ya, my boy has topical tests and no CAs for his school. SA not counted but they have to sit it as if they are real. from his homework, I've seen the picture description consists of 3 pictures which forms a story. the kids need to write few sentences with the helping words given to each picture. Not sure if the teacher did advise the kids to write with the words given or not, because my boy likes to use his own words and construct sentences which are very 'chinese' sentence structure, and totally wrong... :oops: Now got to 'saiko' him to use the words given, if not he very KEH KIANG one :lol:

As for tuition, I've been sending him to classes, because I find myself no patience in teaching him. everytime teach he sure will kana yelled or scolding from me... I rather let others teach him, let him enjoy his work, rather then me teaching, which might ended up cause him to have phobia to his school work. :oops:

daisyt

hi san76, agree with you about the many types of parents.

That day, I asked my girl, who is having some difficulties in Science, I found a tuituion center recommended by a mum from this forum and if she would like to attend this Science tuition. She answered me, \"Why ? I can ask my teacher and once they explain, I can understand. Why must I attend tuition ?\" This was what i have been telling her since she was P5 and now, she is telling me that ....... I felt a bit :oops: after hearing her saying that. Then I started to do some reflections and thinking. The conclusion is I have been reading too much from this forum and beginning to turn kiasu. hahahaha !!! 😄

Picolo

daisyt:
                        hi san76, agree with you about the many types of parents.

That day, I asked my girl, who is having some difficulties in Science, I found a tuituion center recommended by a mum from this forum and if she would like to attend this Science tuition. She answered me, \"Why ? I can ask my teacher and once they explain, I can understand. Why must I attend tuition ?\" This was what i have been telling her since she was P5 and now, she is telling me that ....... I felt a bit :oops: after hearing her saying that. Then I started to do some reflections and thinking. The conclusion is I have been reading too much from this forum and beginning to turn kiasu. hahahaha !!! 😄
                        Ha ha diasyt, can't agree more. I have been quite a relaxed mum in the past years and after coming into this forum, I start to feel more tense. Also, always check the 'milestones' of other kids who attend enrichment classes so as not to lag behind. I do not send my P1 & P2 kids to any tuition/enrichments, just swimming and piano lessons and any non-school subjects related sorts of activities during school holidays. My sis-in-law's eldest daughter without any tuition from P1 - P6 and can still get into the top girls' sec school last year. So, it's not impossible without tuitions. Having said that, it's kind of stressful to be on my toes to watch my kids' progress, so that when external help is needed, I will still consider sending my kids for enrichment classes. My sis-in-law's daughter also commented that some of her classmates have tuition classes everyday!!!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 59