Aristocare
Zann:
I suspect so. I've this book and it looks fine. The various methods are actually taught in schools but the teacher may not have put them in a book, and categorised it as \"Branching method\", \"Cross multiplication method\", etc.
Most likely his book is not writen by him also since his a con king.phtthp:
before allowed to close down his agency just like that, did those parents who had signed up & paid up thousands of $$$ - request for refund ? They should ! don't know whether he'll refund or not.
\"kiasumum\" said he speak broken English:-
http://everythingalsocomplain.com/2012/07/29/aristocare-founder-not-very-sure-if-he-was-from-gep/
his book
http://sapgrp.com/shop/images/pdf/9789812747617_Preface.pdf
Parents, one thing to remember is that, there are many methods to do a problem sum. Dont restrict your child to use only one method. Therefore, if you have this book, use it as a guide. Honestly, a good book.
hahaha.... may be this book is written by someone with a Math major from NUS. Perhaps everything in the book is correct except for the name :evil: -
Lynn2010:
if \"kiasumum\" said Ong speak broken English to her child in class inside that cramp bedroom - why didn't it ring a bell in her mind alert her that Ong may not be gifted in English after all, and could be a scam instead ?
Alamak!! \"Engrish not Powderful\" can earn so much money as a tutor??
http://everythingalsocomplain.com/2012/07/29/aristocare-founder-not-very-sure-if-he-was-from-gep/
where got Teacher teach pupils inside a bedroom ? first time hear of -
Zann:
He must be very happy that there is no law can charge him. Isn't there a loop hole?Daddy

I read that he was conducting his lessons from home... Like that also can considered tuition agency and charge so high?
May be because he did not register his business, thereby no need to pay income tax. With this they can also charge him rite.
Lynn2010:
I suspect so. I've this book and it looks fine. The various methods are actually taught in schools but the teacher may not have put them in a book, and categorised it as \"Branching method\", \"Cross multiplication method\", etc.
Most likely his book is not writen by him also since his a con king.Zann:
[quote=\"phtthp\"]before allowed to close down his agency just like that, did those parents who had signed up & paid up thousands of $$$ - request for refund ? They should ! don't know whether he'll refund or not.
\"kiasumum\" said he speak broken English:-
his book
http://sapgrp.com/shop/images/pdf/9789812747617_Preface.pdf
Parents, one thing to remember is that, there are many methods to do a problem sum. Dont restrict your child to use only one method. Therefore, if you have this book, use it as a guide. Honestly, a good book.
hahaha.... may be this book is written by someone with a Math major from NUS. Perhaps everything in the book is correct except for the name :evil:[/quote]Maybe he plagiarized from other books and compiled into his own? -
Have lah.... one can provide tuition from their home in both HDB and private houses. In HDB, i think you can provide up to 4 kids at one go. For private, may have lesser restrictions. Bedroom can turn into classroom as long as it is properly furnished i think. That is, not sitting on a bed [errrrr..... single bed can sit at least 10 kids lengthwise + breadth can sit 3 skinny kids - wow that is 26 kids !!! ..... :slapshead: ]
if \"kiasumum\" said Ong speak broken English to her child in class inside that cramp bedroom - why didn't it ring a bell in her mind alert her that Ong may not be gifted in English after all, and could be a scam instead ?Lynn2010:
where got Teacher teach pupils inside a bedroom ? first time hear of
When i was doing my A levels, i remembered attending an Eng/GP tuition class in a katong house. The tutor claimed to be a writer/journalist. I must say he is quite good, mark your essays and teach. BUT.... many levels can run at the same time. I found out when i went to the toilet.
This is how he run - eg. 2 to 3.30pm Sunday slot can be for Sec 1, Sec 2, Sec 3, Sec 4. All different classes (different rooms, kitchen, living, bedroom, etc). So, you must be wondering how he split himself into 4. First, he will teach the first class for about 5 min or so (while the other levels sit around waiting for the class to start). Then he asked the first class to start practising on the writing style he taught, there was also \"worksheet\", then he proceed to the 2nd class, using the same way, then 3rd class, then 4th. He will then come back to the first class and walked around and mark on the spot.
He was fine, but the attention given to each class is less than 1.5hr, he charged about $100 per student per month (probably 20 yrs ago), there were about 10 to 15 students in one class. Do the Math yourself, how much he earned a month!!
I stopped after a few lessons as the travelling had taken a toll on me. i lived in the west and this place was east. Bus ride 1.5hr (per way) :siao: [the tutor quite nice looking lah] -
I dont think Kelvin Ong is as "creative" as this journalist tutor right?? He speaks well !!!
Lynn2010:
Have lah.... one can provide tuition from their home in both HDB and private houses. In HDB, i think you can provide up to 4 kids at one go. For private, may have lesser restrictions. Bedroom can turn into classroom as long as it is properly furnished i think. That is, not sitting on a bed [errrrr..... single bed can sit at least 10 kids lengthwise + breadth can sit 3 skinny kids - wow that is 26 kids !!! ..... :slapshead: ]
if \"kiasumum\" said Ong speak broken English to her child in class inside that cramp bedroom - why didn't it ring a bell in her mind alert her that Ong may not be gifted in English after all, and could be a scam instead ?phtthp:
[quote=\"Lynn2010\"]
where got Teacher teach pupils inside a bedroom ? first time hear of
When i was doing my A levels, i remembered attending an Eng/GP tuition class in a katong house. The tutor claimed to be a writer/journalist. I must say he is quite good, mark your essays and teach. BUT.... many levels can run at the same time. I found out when i went to the toilet.
This is how he run - eg. 2 to 3.30pm Sunday slot can be for Sec 1, Sec 2, Sec 3, Sec 4. All different classes (different rooms, kitchen, living, bedroom, etc). So, you must be wondering how he split himself into 4. First, he will teach the first class for about 5 min or so (while the other levels sit around waiting for the class to start). Then he asked the first class to start practising on the writing style he taught, there was also \"worksheet\", then he proceed to the 2nd class, using the same way, then 3rd class, then 4th. He will then come back to the first class and walked around and mark on the spot.
He was fine, but the attention given to each class is less than 1.5hr, he charged about $100 per student per month (probably 20 yrs ago), there were about 10 to 15 students in one class. Do the Math yourself, how much he earned a month!!
I stopped after a few lessons as the travelling had taken a toll on me. i lived in the west and this place was east. Bus ride 1.5hr (per way) :siao: [the tutor quite nice looking lah][/quote]You have given good ideas for those who plan to start low cost tution centers at home!
Charge $100 per hr and have 10 in 2 bedrooms at one time. So $2000 for 2 hours of work.
Just need to work 2 hours a day and can earn $54 000 per month.
Never realise it is such a lucrative business. -
Maybe he plagiarized from other books and compiled into his own?[/quote]is this book still sold at Popular book, MPH or other branches ?
I suspect so. I've this book and it looks fine. The various methods are actually taught in schools but the teacher may not have put them in a book, and categorised it as \"Branching method\", \"Cross multiplication method\", etc.Lynn2010:
[quote=\"Zann\"]
Most likely his book is not writen by him also since his a con king.
hahaha.... may be this book is written by someone with a Math major from NUS. Perhaps everything in the book is correct except for the name :evil:
if Yes, means he's still earning comfortable income from the sale proceeds of this book. -
Horrified when I read about the scam. Now I know giving tuition really makes big bucks, haha… So with a GEP child who is also a level skip pupil + myself an ex sch teacher from a ‘branded sch’… R these good credentials to start giving tuition? Haha…Anyone wanna hv tuition with me?
Nay, no extra time on hand…
Still appalled when I read about Kelvin ong’s case. -
sweetheart:
With a GEP kid and with branded sch teacher label, you will do very well in the tuition business.Horrified when I read about the scam. Now I know giving tuition really makes big bucks, haha.... So with a GEP child who is also a level skip pupil + myself an ex sch teacher from a 'branded sch'... R these good credentials to start giving tuition? Haha....Anyone wanna hv tuition with me?
Nay, no extra time on hand...
Still appalled when I read about Kelvin ong's case.
You frame up the MOE letter that showed your kid was selected for GEP and put it on the front entrance.
Invite all your successful ex students and relatives to provide touching testimonials.
Give a Nice center name with a catchy phrase:
\"SweetHeart Center\": Where we will transform all your sweethearts into geniuses like mine!
There you go, you are on the road to becoming a multi-millionnaire!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.