Letterland
Heyya foreverj,
Not you too!? Heheee.. Your child already settled nicely in her cc
and also doing very well. Don't need enrichment liao. To answer
your question... yes, i do both... whenever the need arises.
I ever mentioned before that i select my classes right?
With both my girls in school same timing, i enjoy my free hours
on my own, be it to catch up on sleep (cos i'm an ol' nite bird),
or go out kai-kai.... or even KSP-ing! Hee! :lol: I do freelance
stints which accommodates some of the free time that i have,
for the fun of it and also helps me to stimulate this stay-home
brain of mine.
I normally run classes for students/parents who really need help.
Usually they have exhausted most means of searching for places
that can honestly help their child improve... other than those kinds
of students/parents, i run classes for students who do not undertake
English language as 1st language, or the parents are both unable to
speak in English. I have since stopped catering to the masses even
though there are requests. I try to allot precious time for the really
'needy' laaah.. When there are requests, i promise i will consider...
The official go-head is case by case.
As for parents' sessions, these are group sessions and are run when
there is demand or special requests. This is usually like workshop
based and can be done at any one of the group member's location
or a venue that i have already pre-determined. Since the programme
can be segmented into modular session topics, it usually can be done
within the day... ie. 5-6 hours.
Buuuuttt....... i dun come cheap....... Wuahahahahahaa! :lol:
There's also in-house staff training and i train teachers voluntarily with
non-profit organizations. Under-privileged children also fall in the non-
profit category. These again, at a time convenient for me lah.. I like my
free time. Heeheehee...
wow buds, u r truly a teacher with a heart (of gold i mean)! :love: true la, if u r blessed with a gift, u might as well use it to bless the weaker students and the less privileged

yes, i feel my dd is well settled in the cc which is well-run and the teachers n other children r loving. plus i lazy n reluctant to change envt for her
. so although its not academic-focused school, i m quite alright with tt since i dun mind teaching her myself or going for enrichment classes (if she shows the interest) since she enjoys going to school n does not find it boring. -
:oops: I very pai-seh now.. :oops:
Uhmmm... not gold yet lah. Didn't
use up all my time for such causes
mah... So will forever be bronze...
Kekekee... :lol: cos like yourself,
i'm lazy too. Hehee! :lol:
I FULLY understand when you
mention child settle in school
already in your post above!
Same feeling for me.. My girls
don't attend enrichment either.
Everything private limited...
with me. Hehee..
Save money for outings better.
Pssst! For teaching aides and
toys too!
That's my biggest fetish..
And i already have a cupboard-full! -
Coco:
hi coco, i remember seeing the distributors before. googled for it and it came up here http://www.letterland.com/distributors/singaporeHi Buds
Able to share where you took up the LetterLand course.
I have been looking around and am unable to know where I can pick up this.Thanks.
Btw, are you home-based? I mean do you teach letterland/montessori?
Rgds,
Coco
hope this is helpful for u. i actually contemplated getting it earlier since my dd is learning this in school n i stopped her from cc for a full month so she could recover from getting sick. ks mummy worried she cannot catch up. but in the end never buy. i only brought her to times bookshop n sat down with her with the letterland book (widely available in major bookstores) and went thru with her the characters she would be missing during the one month. in the end, i heard from the teacher during the june PTC that she also went thru with my dd the lessons she missed (so lucky me). feedback from teacher is tt my dd catches and absorbs things very fast so no prob with the missed lessons. -
aiyah, your dds already so lucky, have full-time enrichment teacher at home, no need enrichment already mah...my dd attends enrichmt la, things like ballet (which i cannot teach cos no background myself), right-brain (which i too lazy to constantly think of new games to play). i c the value of such enrichment cos she likes the challenge of playing with games that require thinking eg. board games u can buy from popular, growing fun etc.:oops: I very pai-seh now.. :oops:
Uhmmm... not gold yet lah. Didn't
use up all my time for such causes
mah... So will forever be bronze...
Kekekee... :lol: cos like yourself,
i'm lazy too. Hehee! :lol:
I FULLY understand when you
mention child settle in school
already in your post above!
Same feeling for me.. My girls
don't attend enrichment either.
Everything private limited...
with me. Hehee..
Save money for outings better.
Pssst! For teaching aides and
toys too!
That's my biggest fetish..
And i already have a cupboard-full!
as for teaching aides n toys, we recently built one new wardrobe in my dd's room to put all the overflowing toys and teaching aides! at least now the room looks neater. my new fetish is this - good books. not sure if u have ever heard of living books in the context of charlotte mason? i m on the hunt for great classics/ literature for young children n building up my home library for my dd :love: this mummy also loves reading thru these marvellous books and both dd n i always enjoy a few good ones before her bedtime! -
Hi Buds
How long did it take for u to complete the phoncis course?
Will it be confusing for yr child to learn the letterland and the montessori phonics?buds:
Heyya Coco,
I took it up at YWCA i think. Location is based on rental of premise lah.
Not a fixed place. I took it when i was still in the industry back then so
many years ago. If i'm not mistaken, it was offered via fax to pre-school
centres/teachers then... so i went to take it up.
Home based as in.... do you mean to inquire whether i teach parents and
whether i teach kiddies, is that right? Hehee..
Not at all!
It's not a matter of mixing the
methodologies or the learning
styles from each ie. Letterland
or Montessori for this case...
into each lesson.
For playgroup children and younger...
the characters attract them to learn..
And they start learning the character
songs... then get to listen to character
stories... get to know everybody so call,
in the land of letters. ie. Letterland.
From these character introductions and
also the vibrant songs available, the children
find the love in learning about the letter people
and they actually do not even know that they ARE
actually learning Phonics for that matter. So, i just
personally find that the Letterland introduction to
single letter sounds more appealing if a parent
were to consider starting their children in a
Phonics programme at a much younger age.
Younger children respond well to music and
stories. Songs are catchy and easy to learn.
Stories are kept short and given repetition,
so children can hear sounds in words more
often. So, even with parents who are super
busy and have no time to read to the children
at home, they are definitely exposed to stories
with Letterland.
The Montessori Phonics part came in during the
blending stage.. Well... at least for my daughter...
Cos you see she joined Tumble Tots for awhile and
they covered Phonics using Letterland.
I was already teaching her the single letter sounds
using Montessori then. I found the songs in Letterland
very nice and fantastic for reinforcement of single letter
sounds learnt.
After single letter sounds, comes the word building and
also the 3-letter phonetic word stage where children are
guided on how to link the single letter sounds they have
mastered into 3-letter words. I personally find the blending
process progressively faster in Montessori Phonics.
And definitely easier to understand with the hands on technique
plus the array of Montessori apparatus available for the introduction
of this area up till completion.
However, just to clarify... my Phonics lessons are all
purely Montessori based; but FUN-ner... ie. more fun!
I don't mix Letterland with Montessori for my private
lessons. Be it for student lessons or adult lessons.
As i have emphasized before, each and every methodology
has its strengths and merits. Comparing each is like having
to compare between our children in the family. So, usually
children in learning centres simply adopt or learn whatever
methodology that is adopted by the individual schools/centres.
Parents should find out more about the centre's programmes
if they're keen to be able to assist children at home with their
work. This way parents too, learn to appreciate the learning
styles used by the centre of their choice and help escalate
their children's interest at home. -
where can we purchase letterland CD/course materials?
I bought mine through Tumble Tots centre.
I bought my Letterland cards and book through ebay.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.