All About Active Community Leaders

3.3k Posts 266 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      citygirl

oldman123:
      My family and I are staying in my mother's HDB house. Separately, I own another HBD house. Can I serve the RC in my mother's GRC ? It is based on \"place of residence\" or \"place of ownership\" ??

I was raised up in my mother's house and hence would rather serve the residents here than at my own GRC. I am staying with my parents because they are getting old.

If the RC does not mind and I do get the letter of recommendation, does the primary school mind ?

If you are staying at your Mum's house, then your NRIC should reflect that address and you should have no problems volunteering in that RC, as they follow the address on your NRIC. Note then that you will only be allowed to register in Phase 2B in any primary school within the constituency that your Mum lives in.

pirahna

oldman123:
        PIRAHNA WROTE on 25 Aug 2010 22:55

\"What Citygal wrote is right. GRL under RC/NC, 2B will be the constituency you serve. Only in CDC, CCC and CCMC, will your 2B in the constitency you serve and resite. \"

Dear Pirahna

My family and I are staying in my mother's HDB house. Separately, I own another HBD house. Can I serve the RC in my mother's GRC ? It is based on \"place of residence\" or \"place of ownership\" ??

I was raised up in my mother's house and hence would rather serve the residents here than at my own GRC. I am staying with my parents because they are getting old.

If the RC does not mind and I do get the letter of recommendation, does the primary school mind ?

Thanks

:?
        Rightfully, you are not allowed to serve in the RC of the area that is different from the address on your NRIC. My friend was a RC treasurer. Because he moved to Jurong, he has to resign from his RC.

It is not up to the RC but PA. PA has to allow your appointment in the RC. If diffrerent from the area in your NRIC, I guess it would be difficult to get a RC appointment in the Executive Committee.

The primary school only looks that the letter PA gives you when you apply for phase 2B.

• O Offline
          oldman123

Dear Pirahna

Yes, the school is within 1 km to my mother’s house.

I understand that changing the address in the IC is easy as long as you can show any government letter addressed to you can be received at the intended address. Since it is my mother house, I should not have problem. In fact, my IC used to show my mother’s address.

Besides checking aganist the IC, would the school check with other govt. agencies and take issue that I do not own my mother place.

We can easily show that we are staying at our mother place ("place of residence") but we do not own the place ("place of ownership"). We are not sure MOE’s definition of "place of residence" in the primary school application mean ownership or just the place you are staying at the moment. We certainly do not want to run foul of the law.

But honestly, I want to serve in an area that I am familar with (ie the residents) than an area that I have no feelings for and am doing it because just for the school.

PS> If we are rich enough, we would not have this problem. But with property prices sky rocketing, we are unable to buy a house near to my mother’s place.

timtim

pirahna:
            Rightfully, you are not allowed to serve in the RC of the area that is different from the address on your NRIC. My friend was a RC treasurer. Because he moved to Jurong, he has to resign from his RC.

It is not up to the RC but PA. PA has to allow your appointment in the RC. If diffrerent from the area in your NRIC, I guess it would be difficult to get a RC appointment in the Executive Committee.

The primary school only looks that the letter PA gives you when you apply for phase 2B.
            You may still serve in the RC where you did not reside. You will be termed \"Associate Member\". Our RC has such members, they are ex-member but they moved to other GRC but we still keep them as AM. They enjoy the same rights as Exec Member (those who stays within the RC's zone). I believe the only difference for P2B is that you're considered beyond 2km since you're not staying near the Pri Sch, which is also where you served.

• qmsQ Offline
              qms

oldman123:
              Besides checking aganist the IC, would the school check with other govt. agencies and take issue that I do not own my mother place.

During registration, the school checks for the address indicated in the NRIC of parents. It doesn't verify ownership of the property.

Due to this, you also see a proliferation of families renting propserties near the schools just so that they can be in the within 1 km category. Some genuinely stay in the rented property, while others don't.
              oldman123:
              We certainly do not want to run foul of the law.
              oldman123:
              But honestly, I want to serve in an area that I am familar with (ie the residents) than an area that I have no feelings for and am doing it because just for the school.

citygirl

oldman123:
                Dear Pirahna

Yes, the school is within 1 km to my mother's house.

I understand that changing the address in the IC is easy as long as you can show any government letter addressed to you can be received at the intended address. Since it is my mother house, I should not have problem. In fact, my IC used to show my mother's address.

We can easily show that we are staying at our mother place (\"place of residence\") but we do not own the place (\"place of ownership\"). We are not sure MOE's definition of \"place of residence\" in the primary school application mean ownership or just the place you are staying at the moment. We certainly do not want to run foul of the law.

PS> If we are rich enough, we would not have this problem. But with property prices sky rocketing, we are unable to buy a house near to my mother's place.
                Don't worry, you are not running afoul of any laws if you genuinely stay with your Mum and your NRIC reflects that address. MOE defines your residence as where you live, regardless of whether you own that property or not.

Good luck! 😄

citygirl

timtim:
                  You may still serve in the RC where you did not reside. You will be termed \"Associate Member\". Our RC has such members, they are ex-member but they moved to other GRC but we still keep them as AM. They enjoy the same rights as Exec Member (those who stays within the RC's zone). I believe the only difference for P2B is that you're considered beyond 2km since you're not staying near the Pri Sch, which is also where you served.

Just to clarify, Associate members (AM) may enjoy the same privileges as Executive members (EM) such as free parking in the constituency etc. but an AM does not qualify for priority registration in Phase 2B. Only EMs get that perk.

• Y Offline
                    yhsop

hi to all kiasu parents,

I need your advises.

I m aiming Nan Chiau PS in Seng kang west and will move to Sengkang in yr 2011. my new reside place is 1-2km to school and is belongs to Pasir Ris Punggol GRC, while Seng kang west is Ang Mo Kio Yio Chu Kang GRC, which is where I’m staying now…
                    Should I join my current address’ RC or new place(sengkang) RC?
                    but again, if I join the new place

• Y Offline
                      yhsop

Sorry to all,

my msg was posted while I was typing half way thru..

will I be offered to chose NCPS if I'm EM in 2yrs time?

I'm confused.....pls pls advise..which RC/NC/GRC to join in order to get the right refereral letter(as EM for phase 2b for Nan Chiau PS)
                      Thank you in advance!! :lol:

ps:I'm a FTWM..so PV at NCPS is quite impossible(but I will try sending my application), read somewhere in kiasu's forum that they prefer homemaker then working parents as homemaker can offer their time during wkdays..) and I'm not a Hokkien, can't join SHHW.....

b2b3m4

You have no other choice but to PV for NCPS. Is your spouse a Hokkein? He can try that route.

Either way there is no way via the community leader route. If u check past history including this yr. Under phase 2b, 1-2km requires balloting. Anything out of 2km, no chance at all. So even if u stick with your current address and join AMK's RC, u still will have no chance with NCPS due to distance.

If u use your future address, its in the wrong GRC, so no phase2b priority for NCPS.

yhsop:
                        Sorry to all,

my msg was posted while I was typing half way thru..

will I be offered to chose NCPS if I'm EM in 2yrs time?

I'm confused.....pls pls advise..which RC/NC/GRC to join in order to get the right refereral letter(as EM for phase 2b for Nan Chiau PS)
                        Thank you in advance!! :lol:

ps:I'm a FTWM..so PV at NCPS is quite impossible(but I will try sending my application), read somewhere in kiasu's forum that they prefer homemaker then working parents as homemaker can offer their time during wkdays..) and I'm not a Hokkien, can't join SHHW.....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 46 / 330