[Bishan] Primary Schools

1.5k Posts 231 Posters 595.3k Views 1 Watching
      kaimono

reason asked cos if failed for the ballot AT then KCP already not available after 2C...will have deep thoughts then. thks

kaimono:

how about personally do you think st gariel's or kcp ?

St Gabriel good meh? Personally, I think don't think so - not when you already have a choice of Ai Tong and KCP. When looking for a primary school for my children, a strong foundation in Chinese is a must for me. I think Ai Tong and KCP have a higher chance of providing that environment than St Gabriels.

Bishan_Mom

kaimono:
        Hi Bishan_Mom,

I have also thought of KCP - think will go to their open house on Jun.
        Do you stay within 1 km with these 2 school ?

Hi Kaimono,

No...I'm staying next to Catholic, which is outside 1km of both KCP and AiTong, that's why I need to get into Phase 2B in order to secure a better chance of getting into either one of these schools. Since I've already completed my PV hours in KCP, should not hv a problem getting in, furhtermore, there are less than 20 PVs registering this year. Just thot if I'm also given a chance to get into Ai Tong, will it be big mistake if I give it a miss, real kiasu...

Anyway, which part of Bishan are you? If you are within 1km of KCP, then you should be \"safe\", so far, there were no balloting for those staying <1km in phase 2C. But for Ai Tong, it'll definitely be balloting, as Bishan is outside 1km.

I've been to KCP open house last year, so don't think I'll drop by again this year. Ai Tong does not have open house, guess they do not need to either.

Hello Chief,

Thanks for sharing more info. on KCP. I knew they were awarded the SDA and BPA, but didn't find out much about the awards and really don't know how these awards will boost the school's standing.

As for Chinese Language, KCP is not strong in this subject, their emphasis is in the English Language.

putty

Hi Fellow Parents!

We will be registering my gal for P1 this year. I’ll get a chance to register in Phase 2B for both Pei Chun Public, through parent volunteer and for Ai Tong being a HK clan member.

As both are SAP schools, we’ve been struggling on which schools to register.

We would greatly appreciate anyone for any advise on these 2 schools. Thanks.

kaimono

Bishan_Mom:
            kaimono:

Hi Bishan_Mom,

I have also thought of KCP - think will go to their open house on Jun.
            Do you stay within 1 km with these 2 school ?

Hi Kaimono,

No...I'm staying next to Catholic, which is outside 1km of both KCP and AiTong, that's why I need to get into Phase 2B in order to secure a better chance of getting into either one of these schools. Since I've already completed my PV hours in KCP, should not hv a problem getting in, furhtermore, there are less than 20 PVs registering this year. Just thot if I'm also given a chance to get into Ai Tong, will it be big mistake if I give it a miss, real kiasu...

Anyway, which part of Bishan are you? If you are within 1km of KCP, then you should be \"safe\", so far, there were no balloting for those staying <1km in phase 2C. But for Ai Tong, it'll definitely be balloting, as Bishan is outside 1km.

I've been to KCP open house last year, so don't think I'll drop by again this year. Ai Tong does not have open house, guess they do not need to either.

Hello Chief,

Thanks for sharing more info. on KCP. I knew they were awarded the SDA and BPA, but didn't find out much about the awards and really don't know how these awards will boost the school's standing.

As for Chinese Language, KCP is not strong in this subject, their emphasis is in the English Language.

Hi bishan_mum,
            Ai Tong is no chance. I'm staying near junction 8 - so both Catholic & KCP are within 1 km; but there is balloting for C - still thinking whether to take the 'risk'.

You been to KCP and doing PVs, what is your thoughts about the school ?

Bishan_Mom

Hi Kaimono,

Yes…Catholic, you’re likely to get balloting in 2C, but KCP, so far, I don’t
              think balloting is needed in phase 2C for <1km, but for 1k-2km, that’s why I join as PV.

So far, although I have done 40hrs of PV, I have shared the hours with my husband, and only done work in 2 or 3 events, thus interaction is mainly with the PV support group commitee. From what I’ve heard and know, academic wise, its average or slightly above, not really sure as they do not publish their PSLE results. However, I’ve not really noticed any "hooligan-type" kids there. And the school organises regular "meet-the-Principal" session for the parents. Also, one thing I like, is that the school’s CCAs are conducted during regular school hours, not after school. Every Monday, after Assembly, they have their CCAs until 9:30 a.m., then they start their regular school lessons. It is a missionary school, so it teaches christian values.

Also, it has affiliation with Kuo Chuan Secondary but the secondary school is not really that good lah.

The school has small intake, last year was 270, I heard they may reduce the number of classes again this year, but I have not verified this piece of info. yet.

If you want to register in Catholic, until it is time to register, take a look at the number of places available in your eligible phase, no need to register on 1st day, wait till the last day and see how many places are available. Check with the school during that time, they will advise you how many people within 1km have registered and your chances, if there 30 places and 31 people who registered, sometimes, they will just take in all rather than ballot, or even if they do ballot, the chances are still high.

immimei

Hi, My sister gave me dis website because she knows how desparate I am. I have a daughter due for P1 next year. I live in Bishan. I wanted a co-ed school because I have a younger boy. Wanted Aitong all along, but too lazy to volunteer bec they don't guarantee a place even if you volunteer. I am very desparate now. I live within 2km from Aitong, may not even have a chance to ballot. I am old gal of MGS, but MGS is so far, at blackmore drive. Marymount Convent seems nearer. MGS is a good school. Marymount is more convenient. Where should I put her? I am considering putting my son in Catholic High if I put my daughter in a girls' school. I am within 1km of Catholic High. :roll:

immimei:
                  Hi, My sister gave me dis website because she knows how desparate I am. I have a daughter due for P1 next year. I live in Bishan. I wanted a co-ed school because I have a younger boy. Wanted Aitong all along, but too lazy to volunteer bec they don't guarantee a place even if you volunteer. I am very desparate now. I live within 2km from Aitong, may not even have a chance to ballot. I am old gal of MGS, but MGS is so far, at blackmore drive. Marymount Convent seems nearer. MGS is a good school. Marymount is more convenient. Where should I put her? I am considering putting my son in Catholic High if I put my daughter in a girls' school. I am within 1km of Catholic High. :roll:

You should have just volunteered. Although they say they don't guarantee a place, normally, the parent volunteers are given some priority in borderline cases, especially those that really contributed to the school.

2km from Aitong will likely land you in Phase 2C. We do not know yet what your chances will be at that stage, since the 2009 cohort size is not yet released.

Here's http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=415 of parents talking about schools in AMK. Seems like that's a pretty hotbed of parents with 6yo kids 😄 . Why not consider http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/school/kuo-chuan-presbyterian-primary-school, which excels in aesthetics and athletics, and a mixed one too? Also, don't forget http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/school/chij-st-nicholas-girls-school which is a very strong academic school.

Jeremy

immimei:

Hi there

For Ai Tong, 2Km might not be eligible to go for balloting. I'm putting up a Bishan too, i manage to put my son in CH at phase 2C Balloting. (all wiithin 1KM) I know some volunteers in CH fail to ballot a seat during phase 2c so chances all boils down to luck.

Can consider Kuo Chuan during phase 2c chances are higher.

kaimono

Thanks for sharing your tips : )

Bishan_Mom:
                      Hi Kaimono,

Yes...Catholic, you're likely to get balloting in 2C, but KCP, so far, I don't
                      think balloting is needed in phase 2C for <1km, but for 1k-2km, that's why I join as PV.

So far, although I have done 40hrs of PV, I have shared the hours with my husband, and only done work in 2 or 3 events, thus interaction is mainly with the PV support group commitee. From what I've heard and know, academic wise, its average or slightly above, not really sure as they do not publish their PSLE results. However, I've not really noticed any \"hooligan-type\" kids there. And the school organises regular \"meet-the-Principal\" session for the parents. Also, one thing I like, is that the school's CCAs are conducted during regular school hours, not after school. Every Monday, after Assembly, they have their CCAs until 9:30 a.m., then they start their regular school lessons. It is a missionary school, so it teaches christian values.

Also, it has affiliation with Kuo Chuan Secondary but the secondary school is not really that good lah.

The school has small intake, last year was 270, I heard they may reduce the number of classes again this year, but I have not verified this piece of info. yet.

If you want to register in Catholic, until it is time to register, take a look at the number of places available in your eligible phase, no need to register on 1st day, wait till the last day and see how many places are available. Check with the school during that time, they will advise you how many people within 1km have registered and your chances, if there 30 places and 31 people who registered, sometimes, they will just take in all rather than ballot, or even if they do ballot, the chances are still high.

Mum2Gals

My hubby is alumni in Ai Tong so we can get in at Phase 2A. But everyone in my family is against it because of the distance (6km). There are good schools within 1 km of my area but all needs balloting this year.

Can I register in Ai Tong first, then in Phase 2C, check it out whether there will be confirmed balloting in the nearby school, then decide what to do ?
                        Will the neighbourhood school be able to tell me if I am likely to end in ballot?
                        Will I end up like a headless chicken ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 148