dsmoo:
Can i chk is PHPPS celebrating Racial harmony day tomorrow? R e students suppose to wear traditional costume?
School website states 22 Jul but my younger kids' childcare/enrichment centres are all celebrating today so I am wondering too...anyway, too late now to inform ds1 even if it is today.
Oh yea, I also want to ask, are there 2 vice principals.. very confused.. Son previously told my the 'new' vice principal spoke to them, when I asked what happened to the 'old' one, he said still there..IJJ:
Who is PH disciplinary mistress? Mrs Chang?
I don't know what's her name...only she is a sweet-looking lady.
Saw her twice for the past 2 mornings. When son told me she is discipline mistress, I was surprised...will students be afraid when they see her ? So gentle leh.
the discipline master when I was schooling was a very sweet looking, fatherly man.. until when u break a rule... :yikes: -
dsmoo:
Can i chk is PHPPS celebrating Racial harmony day tomorrow? R e students suppose to wear traditional costume?
I called the admin office to check and was told there was no circular given about the celebration so it is up to the students if they want to wear ethnic clothes to school tomorrow.
Can other parents here advise what was done in the past years?
Thanks. -
notabox:
it is not compulsory...so up to the parents and their kids...many will wear school attire...dsmoo:
I called the admin office to check and was told there was no circular given about the celebration so it is up to the students if they want to wear ethnic clothes to school tomorrow.
Thanks. -
notabox:
My DD told me few days back hv to wear costume on friday.. also PHPPS website calendar indicate 22 Jul is Racial Harmony Day... but no official circular lor.. so not sure hv to wear or not.. dun wanna her being the odd 1 outdsmoo:
Thanks. -
dsmoo:
My DD told me few days back hv to wear costume on friday.. also PHPPS website calendar indicate 22 Jul is Racial Harmony Day... but no official circular lor.. so not sure hv to wear or not.. dun wanna her being the odd 1 out[/quote]The announcement on whether to wear ethnic costumes was usually made at the hall. When my dd1 was in P1, no announcements, I called up school to check, they had no idea then, so she didn't wear. Last year, there was an announcement, so she wore. This year, there were no announcement for the am session, so she won't be wearing. Anyway, there'll be P3 Sci Practical test tomorrow so unlikely they'll be celebrating for the am session. They were told to make a bookmark though.notabox:
[quote=\"dsmoo\"]Can i chk is PHPPS celebrating Racial harmony day tomorrow? R e students suppose to wear traditional costume?
Thanks.
Since an announcemnt was made to the P1s n P2s, then most likely, the kids are encouraged to wear the ethnic costumes. -
it is not compulsory...so up to the parents and their kids...many will wear school attire...[/quote]Thank you php and E3 for your reply. Like dsmoo's dd, ds also told me that he needs to wear ethnic clothes on Racial Harmony Day but he can't remember which day is that.notabox:
[quote=\"dsmoo\"]Can i chk is PHPPS celebrating Racial harmony day tomorrow? R e students suppose to wear traditional costume?
Thanks.
Since it is not compulsory, will let ds decide himself. -
drickymummy:
Hi Drickmummy, I am an ex-PHPPS parent. My dd (sat for it last year) said that she cannot remember the 1st screening test but I remember her saying that the Math Paper is quite tough while the EL paper is easy. All the topics should have taught in school but not the Olympiad type of qn.Hi parents,
I am just curious abt the coming GEP for P3
Usually what kind of questions r being tested on? For math, how different is it from exams or math olympiad kind of questions? R the papers MCQ?
:thankyou:
Ok, for the selection test, there is an EL paper follow by a GA paper. Then a Ma paper follow by a GA paper. EL paper consists of MCQ and short question. All the GA papers and Math Paper are MCQ. The EL paper consists of long passage (tiny words) of 1 to two pages. Can't remember how many passages. For the Math, they are rather challenging as my dd find it tough. The Math GA is mainly consists of puzzles, logic, picture (differences), patterns etc. Might be useful to expose kid to oly. type of qn. Who know they might include more of these qn in the test.
In my opinion, the tests are getting harder and harder each year. -
Oh yes, I forget to mention. There are two threads "All about GEP" and "2010 GEP screening test date" that you might be interested in. Happy reading!
notabox:
Neighbour told me that she won't be letting her P1 grandchild wear the ethnic costumes as he has to change to PE attire subsequently. Too troublesome.
Thank you php and E3 for your reply. Like dsmoo's dd, ds also told me that he needs to wear ethnic clothes on Racial Harmony Day but he can't remember which day is that.
Since it is not compulsory, will let ds decide himself.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.