Trapwithin

Sensitive qn here. Are you open to GEP training in order to increase chance of being selected? Hope I don't invite a flood of opinions on this one.
      If the kid do not have the ability to understand, you can train all you want and they will still not understand. For example, one parent says my P1 kid can do P2 stuff ... The parent would not know if they never tried it out on the kid. That's why I always says keep teaching so long they can absorb. If you do not teach, even when they can absorb or understand ... you will never know. If you teach them more stuff and they find it tough, then we should pull back. If the kid can understand way ahead ... Then they have a gift in the particular area.

What is High IQ? It is when they can understand stuff beyond their age.

What is GEP? It is to train those that has the ability to understand higher level stuff. It is training them for the future. That's why their program is different.

So though I believe in training ... not all can be trained. In fact, I think MOE has quite a good screening test for GEP. Majority of the kids that went in is able to cope with advance learning. I have also encountered very bright kids that did not get in and later in their secondary sch years will discover that GEP is not suitable for them. These non-GEP still goes to good school like RI, RGS, NYGH, HCI, etc and go on to perform well in life. It is just that they probably could not understand faster or better beyond their age during the GEP screening and selection. That does not equate to unsuccessful. It is just a different matrix in measuring \"gifted\".

JRLam

Trapwithin:
        Parents who bother to do PV and move house to near a popular schools usually are parents that bother about their kids education. So they would bother to get involved and monitor their kids progress in general. So naturally results will improve.

Caveat .. I belong to the school of thoughts that gifted child also need to be trained and monitored. Just like the Olympiad sportsman .. clearly they are gifted in their respective areas and cream of the crop .. but if they do not want to work hard and train ... the result will not be there.
        Maybe this is also linked to why my son managed to be transferred to PH at end P2 (from a neighborhood sch) despite last min application - 1) similar logic as Trapwithin - parents who bother to apply to be transferred to 名校, usually are those who are more bothered, and more kiasu, so can 'assist' the sch to train up a better-result child = boast sch's PSLE results :lol: (cavest : so long as the kid's results from ex-sch is above average lah) 2) to 'replenish' the inevitable loss of GEP at the end of P3 with these bunch of kids of kiasu-parents! Ha!

Actually, not sure about other schs, I think PH really has quite a lot of transferred students, even at upper levels... and most of them are 黑马 hor! Not so much for my son though... haha. Think that's quite a good strategy from P :lol:

Happy Mama

Well-said, trapwithin! :celebrate: :celebrate:

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

Trapwithin:
            If the kid do not have the ability to understand, you can train all you want and they will still not understand. For example, one parent says my P1 kid can do P2 stuff ... The parent would not know if they never tried it out on the kid. That's why I always says keep teaching so long they can absorb. If you do not teach, even when they can absorb or understand ... you will never know. If you teach them more stuff and they find it tough, then we should pull back. If the kid can understand way ahead ... Then they have a gift in the particular area.

For GEP, I see it more of exposing them as much as possible, instead of training them. During these times, sustain their interests, don't exasperate. If a child enjoys the process, you have succeeded in keeping the interest going. If not, the child will give up, then you've lost him. You can tell whether the child is interested by his/her approach and attitude towards learning, they continue to spur themselves on in the face of difficulty. They inspire you so you are motivated to teach more. Thus, they learn more. It takes two hands to clap. Win-win. 😉

hl124273

Hi, Hope you don't mind me joining in this discussion. I am curious about GEP and often wonder if parents do send their kids for GEP prep training.

Just to share - my brother and cousin were GEP students from RI 20+ yrs ago. No training or prep work, they were selected. They are now working adults, earning regular pay just like anyone else ( bro works in IT field, cousin is a lawyer) and my another non-GEP cousin is a lawyer too (was on scholarship). My neighbour's son (who was in neighborhood school prior to GEPdays) is in GEP too, and no prep or training given as he was naturally smart (my neighbor herself told me that as a parent, she can't teach as she herself is not highly educated and often fail her exams, and neither did she prep him).

Trapwithin:

Sensitive qn here. Are you open to GEP training in order to increase chance of being selected? Hope I don't invite a flood of opinions on this one.

What is GEP? It is to train those that has the ability to understand higher level stuff. It is training them for the future. That's why their program is different.

So though I believe in training ... not all can be trained. In fact, I think MOE has quite a good screening test for GEP. Majority of the kids that went in is able to cope with advance learning. I have also encountered very bright kids that did not get in and later in their secondary sch years will discover that GEP is not suitable for them. These non-GEP still goes to good school like RI, RGS, NYGH, HCI, etc and go on to perform well in life. It is just that they probably could not understand faster or better beyond their age during the GEP screening and selection. That does not equate to unsuccessful. It is just a different matrix in measuring \"gifted\".

hl124273

Hi, Hope you don't mind me joining in this discussion. I am curious about GEP and often wonder if parents do send their kids for GEP prep training.

Just to share - my brother and cousin were GEP students from RI 20+ yrs ago. No training or prep work, they were selected. They are now working adults, earning regular pay just like anyone else ( bro works in IT field, cousin is a lawyer) and my another non-GEP cousin is a lawyer too (was on scholarship). My neighbour's son (who was in neighborhood school prior to GEPdays) is in GEP too, and no prep or training given as he was naturally smart (my neighbor herself told me that as a parent, she can't teach as she herself is not highly educated and often fail her exams, and neither did she prep him).

Trapwithin:

Trapwithin:

[quote=\"markfch\"]It's a bit though unnerving that I haven't received PH's letter on the abolishment of CA/SA for P1 & 2s.

markfch, let me give you my last warning...ok....don't ever think of abolishing P2 SA2....hahaha.....

It is holiday now ... PH usually sent out such notice by hand through the students. Be patient ..... I am also hoping for SA1 to be scraped. 😉[/quote]Yes Trapwithin...agree with you. Markfch, don't even dream of abolishing SA2...even if you 'escape' at P2, you won't escape from it forever.
                  A friend of mine told me the memo from principal regarding scrapping SA1/2 at P1 will be sent out in the new school term.

markfch

JRLam:

I think PH really has quite a lot of transferred students, even at upper levels... and most of them are 黑马 hor!
                    不管它是黑马或白马,只要是会跑的马就是好马.
                    Trapwithin:
                    So though I believe in training ... not all can be trained. In fact, I think MOE has quite a good screening test for GEP.
                    Interesting perspective there. Some parents in the GEP thread were disparaging the efforts of those who send their kids for GEP training. Ok maybe not as severe as disparaging, but you get what I mean.
                    Yes Trapwithin...agree with you. Markfch, don't even dream of abolishing SA2...even if you 'escape' at P2, you won't escape from it forever.
                    But all I hope for is escape till P2. After that can talk later ....... hehe

So that these 2 years ds is free to just focus on building his foundation w/o being sidetracked by exams. Isn't that good? I know that you pple meant well. It's just that I come from a diff sch of thought on the merits of dishing out exams too early.

Edit: I guess one of the big reasons why I'm comfortable with no exams in P1/P2 is that I work closely with ds; I think I know where he stands better than his Ts who have their attention spread across a class of 30 kids. So I don't need exams to tell me what I already know. But of course if ds fared 'colourfully' at P3, then that time I'll know my folly. But I'm prepared to have a go 😉 .

Trapwithin

E3:
                      For GEP, I see it more of exposing them as much as possible, instead of training them. During these times, sustain their interests, don't exasperate. If a child enjoys the process, you have succeeded in keeping the interest going. If not, the child will give up, then you've lost him. You can tell whether the child is interested by his/her approach and attitude towards learning, they continue to spur themselves on in the face of difficulty. They inspire you so you are motivated to teach more. Thus, they learn more. It takes two hands to clap. Win-win. 😉

GEP is definitely more than exposure. Usually GEP kids are already highly motivated and not the \"lose interest\" kind. They will keep going on and acquire knowledge. If they lose interest in one thing they will move into another, but if it is an examinable subjects, though they lose interest, they will be too competitive to just drop it.

The topics learnt in GEP are very in depth, so technically having some training in basic stuff does help them to have a slight easier life when they get in.

Trapwithin

hl124273:

Let me correct myself ... I am talking about \"in-house\" training, not \"outsourced\". As parents we know the personality and capability of our children so it is easier to \"train in-house\" and pull back when necessary. Outsourced training are force by market forces to \"force drill or train\" which might not be healthy for the kids. Even if some want to outsource ... it is important to work very closely with the teacher to prevent \"burn-out or backfired\"

The \"in-house\" training should be done in a relax manner and the kids must enjoy doing them. Afterall life is short, it is not worthwhile to do it if the kids find it pressuring or \"force into it\".
                        So .. let me clarify LOUD and CLEAR 😉
                        I outsourced enrichment classes in their current level to strengthen their subjects but not other stuff. Just in case I got more \"arrows\" 😉

Look markfch what have you done .... :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 2049

Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79