Cedar Primary
I will be registering in P1 this year. I am deciding between Cedar Primary and Canossa Convent Primary.
Like to check from the parents here, are there really improvement in Cedar Primary under the new principal?
Can anyone share the good and bad of the school?
And can anyone share the PSLE result for 2014? -
Tzuke:
Correction! Cedar is one of the very few school to offer Higher Chinese at P2 level not P3.
I understand Cedar offers higher Chinese in P3, hence probably the need to move pupils around. I think having new classmates can be better with greater diversity. Children will learn to accept changes and adopt to new changing environment. Adaptability is one of the key motto of Cedar.ahkeong:
my son is p3 this yr
one thing i dun like abt the school is, they will switch the students around
end up this yr will see classmates from other classes last year -
da_bin:
Between the two, Cedar is more popular based on the number of places left after Phase 2C. Cedar is also the choice for most parents who were not successful registering their children in Maris Stella and St Andrew.I will be registering in P1 this year. I am deciding between Cedar Primary and Canossa Convent Primary.
Like to check from the parents here, are there really improvement in Cedar Primary under the new principal?
Can anyone share the good and bad of the school?
And can anyone share the PSLE result for 2014?
Most of the pupils from Cedar are residing within the private Sennett Estate itself and the smaller Joo Seng estate. The rest are mainly from Potong Pasir and Bartley area.
Canossa Convent is affiliated with St Anthony Canossian Sec if that matters. Academic wise both are about the same. -
Thanks Tzuke. Actually I am staying in Joo Seng Road. I like canossa convent because of its affiliation. But I will prefer a co-ed school for my girls. So, now trying to find which is a better school. I am having a headache now. hahaha. anyway thanks for your feedback.
da_bin:
Thanks Tzuke. Actually I am staying in Joo Seng Road. I like canossa convent because of its affiliation. But I will prefer a co-ed school for my girls. So, now trying to find which is a better school. I am having a headache now. hahaha. anyway thanks for your feedback.
If I were you, I will go with Cedar because the school has a lot more space for children to play. There are more choices in CCA compared with CCPS which is very much restricted to the art. When the new Bidadari estate is ready in the next few years, Cedar will very popular just like some other popular heartland schools. -
Tzuke:
when new Bidadari HDB estate open :da_bin:
If I were you, I will go with Cedar because the school has a lot more space for children to play. There are more choices in CCA compared with CCPS which is very much restricted to the art. When the new Bidadari estate is ready in the next few years, Cedar will very popular just like some other popular heartland schools.
Cedar primary school and Cedar Girls' Secondary, will be popular
and more traffic, at Woodleigh MRT station
Cedar primary Cca
http://www.cedarpri.moe.edu.sg/pupil-de ... activities
Canossa Convent primary Cca
http://www.canossaconventpri.moe.edu.sg/ccps/pupils/cca -
Kamsy, why transferring out from Machpherson primary school? I look at the last year listing and it seemed that I have no choice but only macpershon primary school. I will be under phase 2c this year and my son is pr
for Phase 2C Supplementary :
50% occupied : the remaining 50% vacancies will be occupied by foreigner kids from Korea, Thailand, Mymmar, China, India and other international community
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/geylang
In this school, there are also some China students, Thailand students, Hongkong students, or foreign students aged 13 or 14 (of Secondary school age), but studying P5 / P6 here.
Some of them (eg : Thai students, China students, Hongkong students, etc)
although they are of Secondary school age (aged 13, 14 or 15) : but because their English foundation is weak, so MOE ask them to study P5 / P6 first, before can move onto Secondary schools, next.
But these China students : their Chinese very powerful, and some of them are very hardworking. They have no problem with Maths, only English is their biggest obstacle
Some of the Thai students aged 13 or 14, they are top in their respective schools in Thailand. Only English is a struggle for them, they come over to do P6 PSLE, before proceed to Secondary schools -
when new Bidadari HDB estate open :Tzuke:
[quote=\"da_bin\"]Thanks Tzuke. Actually I am staying in Joo Seng Road. I like canossa convent because of its affiliation. But I will prefer a co-ed school for my girls. So, now trying to find which is a better school. I am having a headache now. hahaha. anyway thanks for your feedback.
If I were you, I will go with Cedar because the school has a lot more space for children to play. There are more choices in CCA compared with CCPS which is very much restricted to the art. When the new Bidadari estate is ready in the next few years, Cedar will very popular just like some other popular heartland schools.
Cedar primary school and Cedar Girls' Secondary, will be popular
and more traffic, at Woodleigh MRT station
Cedar primary Cca
http://www.cedarpri.moe.edu.sg/pupil-de ... activities
Canossa Convent primary Cca
http://www.canossaconventpri.moe.edu.sg/ccps/pupils/cca[/quote]Cedar Primary has no affiliation with Cedar Girls, otherwise it would have made my choice much easier.
Cedar Girls has always been popular, but their cut off point is also quite high, so dun tink there will be an influx juz coz of the housing that is coming up. -
m0m0k0:
Given your case, Geylang Methodist Primary being a co-ed school with affiliation would appear to be a better choice.Cedar Primary has no affiliation with Cedar Girls, otherwise it would have made my choice much easier.
Cedar Girls has always been popular, but their cut off point is also quite high, so dun tink there will be an influx juz coz of the housing that is coming up.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.