Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 315.7k Views 1 Watching
      sunflower

sunflower:

When LKY first conceived the “Two is Enough” policy ..

I do hope we do not need to suffer the consequences and deal with another missing part of the equation again.

Has anyone of you wondered why China, after seeing what is happening to Singapore, isn't calling their one-child policy to a halt?

It was reported in the news some weeks back that China was concerned about the aging population. However, I’m not sure whether they see the problem as serious enough to take any action at this point. China has now become richer due to the economic reforms during Deng Xiaoping’s time. Perhaps China has a much bigger base and adequate resources (more can be discovered) to counter it. However, I think there needs to be long term planning to avoid any catastrophic effects.

concern2

sunflower:

[quote=\"sunflower\"]When LKY first conceived the “Two is Enough” policy ..

I do hope we do not need to suffer the consequences and deal with another missing part of the equation again.

Has anyone of you wondered why China, after seeing what is happening to Singapore, isn't calling their one-child policy to a halt?

It was reported in the news some weeks back that China was concerned about the aging population. However, I’m not sure whether they see the problem as serious enough to take any action at this point. China has now become richer due to the economic reforms during Deng Xiaoping’s time. Perhaps China has a much bigger base and adequate resources (more can be discovered) to counter it. However, I think there needs to be long term planning to avoid any catastrophic effects.[/quote]I won't be too sure about that. With urbanization as a Global trend and little/ slow innovation on how to increase food supply, I think a drop in population isn't exactly a bad thing. What's more that we rely so heavily on imports.

sunflower

sunflower:

[quote=\"concern2\"]

It was reported in the news some weeks back that China was concerned about the aging population. However, I’m not sure whether they see the problem as serious enough to take any action at this point. China has now become richer due to the economic reforms during Deng Xiaoping’s time. Perhaps China has a much bigger base and adequate resources (more can be discovered) to counter it. However, I think there needs to be long term planning to avoid any catastrophic effects.

I won't be too sure about that. With urbanization as a Global trend and little/ slow innovation on how to increase food supply, I think a drop in population isn't exactly a bad thing. What's more that we rely so heavily on imports.[/quote]Am a bit confused here…are we talking about Singapore or China? You were asking why China did not stop the one-child policy right? My view is that with China, they are rich now, also have the luxury of space/resources to expand/explore, hence enough resources to boost economy, accommodate the aged and to feed them. With the vast resources available, China can indeed afford to reduce population size (the population is already too big to start with). They may not see the urgency to increase birth rate in order to replace population at this moment. The threshold not reached yet.

As for Singapore, there aren’t any natural resources so need people to boost economy. However, given the space constraint here, there needs to be a balance between economic gains and quality of life/well being of residents. 7 mil in my opinion is a tad too many. The KPIs should not just be a number, but should also consider the intangible effects and results as well.

• O Offline
            octoberbaby

can they just screen these FT first? creating social problems.

Reclaim more land.
            Tanjong Pagar PSA is shifted to Tuas. They are going to built WaterFront something, connecting between the train station and PSA.

pirate

octoberbaby:
              can they just screen these FT first? creating social problems.

Got screen what. You never hear WP rally meh? They screen out the husbands/wives of Singaporeans and the mothers/fathers of Singaporean babies. Then they give the PR/SC to I don't know who.

And this one I know personally - they also screen out the PRC boss of a multinational company whose Singapore subsidiary employs tens of Singaporeans (apparently because he has to fly here, there and everywhere to run his business so not stay in Singapore long enough), and then give the PR to the PRC who...

:mad:

• O Offline
                octoberbaby

Think hor, qing qing cai cai give one lah.

Check the quality of people before giving out PR.

• O Offline
                    octoberbaby

questionable one is ‘study mama’. Don’t think they can afford to stay home whole day with no income. Moonlighting job is very common. Look at one the shopping centres in chinatown basement. Full of spa, massage, etc

octoberbaby:
                      questionable one is 'study mama'. Don't think they can afford to stay home whole day with no income. Moonlighting job is very common. Look at one the shopping centres in chinatown basement. Full of spa, massage, etc

A friend of mine who hails from China told me those 'study mamas' are mostly divorced or separated...most hardly have skills but have to support their kids studying here. Some do part time as cleaners...but not many.

• O Offline
                        octoberbaby

‘study mama’ should be asked to pay non-refundable deposit $50,000 or more.

Those who wants to bring the whole generation, also pay non-refundable deposit for each person.

Imagine bring in 2M in years times $50,000 , rich…rich…can buy more MRT trains.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 150