Budget 2013

141 Posts 36 Posters 27.8k Views 1 Watching
      iFirefly

Just curious...do we have any cash from this year's Budget ?

After CNY, wallet a bit empty.
      Wa.. CNY over liao.. You still want to collect Ang Pows ah... :shock: :siam:

firefly38:

Just curious...do we have any cash from this year's Budget ?

From govt lor.

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

pirate:

Or if 2nd hand Japanese/Korean cars not enough face, I recommend buying this

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=205579&DL=1059

COE till 2020 some more... What a steal! ๐Ÿ˜‰
          Think the road tax and petrol would be a killa!

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

pirate:

Aiyo! Just buy a 5-6 year old car lah. Plenty to choose from that are less than $30k. Better yet, buy a 2nd hand off-peak car and pay as you use.

Nobody has yet to explain to me why a family \"who needs a car\" must buy a new car and pay $90k+ just for a COE.
            If the interest is at, say, 2%, then it'll be almost $20k for a 10-yr tenure. Just the interest at $2k per year is already more than what many younger car owners pay for income tax....no wonder our gahman think we are rich!

pirate

pirate:

Or if 2nd hand Japanese/Korean cars not enough face, I recommend buying this

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=205579&DL=1059

COE till 2020 some more... What a steal! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Think the road tax and petrol would be a killa!

Cannot afford road tax and petrol then don't drive lah! :siam:

Ok lah, ok lah. If road tax and petrol too expensive, buy this:
              http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=327221&DL=1000
              If cannot afford to buy or maintain this one, I really recommend taking public transport. ๐Ÿ˜‰

peapot

Pirate, this Nissan march really cheap. I thought my car was quite a good bargain but I guess this one is better. Anyway donโ€™t know much about cars. As long as it doesnโ€™t breakdown right in the middle of expressway, I m happy enough.

• NebbermindN Offline
                  Nebbermind

When the Coe was around $30k, a few of us estimated the actual ysl cost to own a brand new small car is about $12~15k.

If Coe is $80k, then should be around $20k a yr. think most will not spend more than a tenth of that on public transport.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

peapot:
                    Pirate, this Nissan march really cheap. I thought my car was quite a good bargain but I guess this one is better. Anyway don't know much about cars. As long as it doesn't breakdown right in the middle of expressway, I m happy enough.

1996...this is a 17 yr old car leh...

limlim

firefly38:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Just curious...do we have any cash from this year's Budget ?

From govt lor.[/quote]You wrong timing lah.. ang bao from govt is usually b4 election.. not after/during CNY.. :evil:

coolbaby

pirate:

Aiyo! Just buy a 5-6 year old car lah. Plenty to choose from that are less than $30k. Better yet, buy a 2nd hand off-peak car and pay as you use.

Nobody has yet to explain to me why a family \"who needs a car\" must buy a new car and pay $90k+ just for a COE.
                        Now 2nd hand car also not cheap cos the market for 2nd hand car has gone up due to high COE and now with the new policy.

As long as the 2nd hand car doesn't give problem, i'm fine with that too.

I also have 2 primary school kids. They go to student care after school. As a working mother, I need to rush back to pick them before 7pm. I'm already thankful for understanding bosses and colleagues that i can leave slightly early. It's not possible to take walk 10 min, take bus-train-bus to reach school by 7pm. Then still got to walk 15min back home (no direct bus). If I do that, we will only reach home 8pm or later. Then still need to shower and eat dinner. Then my son needs to attend DAS class on Thursday. It's only possible with a car to rush home, shower, dinner, send him to DAS.

Aren't they are encouraging women to go back to workforce? I don't see the need having a maid and I put them in student care so that I know their well- being (lunch, homework, revision) are all taken care while we are at work.
                        We just need a simple car. With the new policy, only the rich can drive. Not even the middle income group.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 3 / 15