DSA 2011
jtoh
My kids are classified as ordinary. One thing i know, to get high gpa in RI cannot be just training but must be natural. -
This tuition centre must be good to be able to attract so many IP studentsOtah:
Yesterday, went to help pick up my sec2 nephew from a prominent tuition centre. This is a class cater for IP I guess, since I can identitfy them from their uniform. Did a count , 6-RI, 1-HCI, 1-NYGH, 1-RGS, 1-DHS, 1-?(in home cloth). It seems like RI students need tuition the most. Is it because their courses are tough or they don't really teach (heard from a RI parent). But we are seeing parents rushing for RI every year. Do select school which is most suitable for your kids and not just becos of \"虎父无犬子“ saying or heirtage...
No NJC student? ;D Guess they have no time.
Yeah, I meant a parent during CNY and asked where their very smart girl was. They said at tuition. I was surprised that their RJC girl needed tuition. The girl was from RGS. They said cannot \"not have tuition! How to cope without tuition?!\". Ah....really surprising to me, since I thot kids in Raffles
group of schools would all be able to cope without need
for tuition.
:salute: -
Tresille:
This tuition centre must be good to be able to attract so many IP studentsphankao:
[quote=\"Otah\"]Yesterday, went to help pick up my sec2 nephew from a prominent tuition centre. This is a class cater for IP I guess, since I can identitfy them from their uniform. Did a count , 6-RI, 1-HCI, 1-NYGH, 1-RGS, 1-DHS, 1-?(in home cloth). It seems like RI students need tuition the most. Is it because their courses are tough or they don't really teach (heard from a RI parent). But we are seeing parents rushing for RI every year. Do select school which is most suitable for your kids and not just becos of \"虎父无犬子“ saying or heirtage...
Yeah, I meant a parent during CNY and asked where their very smart girl was. They said at tuition. I was surprised that their RJC girl needed tuition. The girl was from RGS. They said cannot \"not have tuition! How to cope without tuition?!\". Ah....really surprising to me, since I thot kids in Raffles
group of schools would all be able to cope without need
for tuition.
:salute:[/quote]Somwhere located at Bugis junction. Talking about RI, the ambitious RGS and RI students cannot tahan a 'B' in their A-level cert lah. Every subject must be A - full rank points + cca position + good testimonial. -
Edureach:
Didn't know you had kids in RI, Edureach. Those with high GPA in RI are indeed very bright. And also very hardworking.jtoh
My kids are classified as ordinary. One thing i know, to get high gpa in RI cannot be just training but must be natural. -
Edureach:
Pressure!!
Talking about RI, the ambitious RGS and RI students cannot tahan a 'B' in their A-level cert lah. Every subject must be A - full rank points + cca position + good testimonial. -
Otah:
Yesterday, went to help pick up my sec2 nephew from a prominent tuition centre. This is a class cater for IP I guess, since I can identitfy them from their uniform. Did a count , 6-RI, 1-HCI, 1-NYGH, 1-RGS, 1-DHS, 1-?(in home cloth). It seems like RI students need tuition the most. Is it because their courses are tough or they don't really teach (heard from a RI parent). But we are seeing parents rushing for RI every year. Do select school which is most suitable for your kids and not just becos of \"虎父无犬子“ saying or heirtage...
Exactly what I heard from a friend today ie RI doesn't teach and students need tuition. -
Otah:
Hi Otah,
Can you please kindly share which tuition centre is this and what subject it is for? My niece in IP is not doing too well and looking for English & Maths tuition (maybe Science too as her Physics also not too good). Can you please advise as I do not have kids in sec sch so do not know where to go. Thanks. -
Pen88n:
Otah:
Hi Otah,
Can you please kindly share which tuition centre is this and what subject it is for? My niece in IP is not doing too well and looking for English & Maths tuition (maybe Science too as her Physics also not too good). Can you please advise as I do not have kids in sec sch so do not know where to go. Thanks.
Hi Otah
Good to know. Can prepare my DS for next year if you can get into any of the IP/IB school. Can register and queue up first..... -
Edureach:
[quote=\"Otah\"]Yesterday, went to help pick up my sec2 nephew from a prominent tuition centre. This is a class cater for IP I guess, since I can identitfy them from their uniform. Did a count , 6-RI, 1-HCI, 1-NYGH, 1-RGS, 1-DHS, 1-?(in home cloth). It seems like RI students need tuition the most. Is it because their courses are tough or they don't really teach (heard from a RI parent). But we are seeing parents rushing for RI every year. Do select school which is most suitable for your kids and not just becos of \"虎父无犬子“ saying or heirtage...
Yeah, I meant a parent during CNY and asked where their very smart girl was. They said at tuition. I was surprised that their RJC girl needed tuition. The girl was from RGS. They said cannot \"not have tuition! How to cope without tuition?!\". Ah....really surprising to me, since I thot kids in Raffles group of schools would all be able to cope without need for tuition.
Aiyoh! No tuition how to catch up? Anw the small minority with gpa of at least 3.8 are really good academically, hard to beat them even if tried all out. The rest are ordinary.[/quote]Hi
Yes, Yes. No tuition how can? I am not sure of sec school. As for primary school. I knew 2 top GEP girls from NYPS have more then 10 tuition class per week.
Those parents who has DS/DD in NYPS GEP Class will know who I am talking about..
I really admire those top students for PSLE, O-Level and A-Level who appeared in newspaper said that they do not have any tuition at all. With good time management and teachers help they are able to achieve good result and become the top students in Singapore. Some more there was one student last year in RPS, he not only top in PSLE but also able to skip one level. He is real gifted manz!!! -
Blur Dad:
Pen88n:
Hi Otah,
Can you please kindly share which tuition centre is this and what subject it is for? My niece in IP is not doing too well and looking for English & Maths tuition (maybe Science too as her Physics also not too good). Can you please advise as I do not have kids in sec sch so do not know where to go. Thanks.
Hi Otah
Good to know. Can prepare my DS for next year if you can get into any of the IP/IB school. Can register and queue up first.....[/quote]Blur Dad, you do not seem that blur....more 'kiasu' than blur..... :laugh:
Don't be offended hor....we all are kiasu else won't be in KS forum too
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.