DSA 2011
Hi, I would like to know if any one hear from ASCI after the HAST ? Will there be interviews conducted? Also, any one apply to DHS, any news from them as well?
LangMum:
Hi, I would like to know if any one hear from ASCI after the HAST ? Will there be interviews conducted? Also, any one apply to DHS, any news from them as well?
Hi, for DHS, heard that some talent test are going on for music domain and the school is still in the process of sending out the email for those shortlisted applicant on other domain. -
Maisu:
OrangeJuice:
OrangeJuice wrote:
Hi, wonder if someone could help me here?
I understand some girls who sat for GAT test in June at RGS have been called up for 2nd round test/interview. My child sat for hers on 9 Jul, when shld I expect to hear from the school ? Or does no news = bad news?
Also my child also sat for NYGH GAT and she told me it is identical to the one at RGS. In such a situation, how do the schools decide which test to use as a shortlisting criteria ? do they compare notes or just the the results of the test taken at their own respective school ?
thank you !
Hi orange juice,
My DD took RGS GAT end June, attended selection test on the 9 July. Since yr DD GAT is on the 9 July, it should take a couple of days more. The NYGH GAT is indeed the same. RGS GAT = same amount of questions but 20 mins without paper to work on, NYGH= same questions but 60 mins with paper to work on. Come to look at it, RGS prob looking at speed and accuracy (my DD did not finish all questions) NYGH gave more time, so more students will have the chance to think better, hence do better? Prob more will pass given the time and they will choose the \"higher passes\"??

OrangeJuice!
My Gal did Similar tests.
RGS specifically say that they will not accept other GAT test results. Only RGS ones.
Thank you KiasuGrandmaster III for your reply to my query !
But wouldnt that be unfair ? In my girl's case, since she sat for RGS first and then NYGH, she'd perform better for the latter. This wldnt be fair for other girls who hasnt taken the test before rite ?
Thks to everyone who replied, actually i made a typo error, DD sat for RGS GAT on 5 Jul not 9 Jul (that was for NYGH). I sent email to RGS asking abt status but no reply. So just waiting now .... -
LangMum:
ACS(I) DSA to IP programme do not required interview. Only personal statement and HAST required. Interview only when necessary. -
ngbrdad:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:TwaTau:
[quote=\"hexagon\"]
Told DS to choose his best uniform (the one with least stains), comb his hair (something foreign to him, go to school looking like a mad scientist every morning...sigh) and sit up straight during the interview (was glad the nagging works, he said he didnt slouch). It also helped that there was a desk in front of them.
You seems to know MY DS well, describing him to the dot! He seems to have sensitive scalp of some sort, no comb is allowed near him! We decided to visit Bibi-Baba during the June school holiday, not to buy the next year's uniform, but to get a new set of his current school uniform, his present set non of which 出得了厅堂.
Mine keep losing his name tags.
Current batch is don't know 4th or 5th set since P1 already (comes in set of 3).
Just collected after the June Holidays.
Already lost 1 so far.
Now I'm keeping the other 2 and only give it to him for occasions like interviews etc.
Must keep one for PSLE orals.[/quote]
LOL - it is so nice to know there are more boys out there like my son (even really bright ones like your sons). I will be less harsh on him for his less than exemplary appearance from now on
OrangeJuice:
Thks to everyone who replied, actually i made a typo error, DD sat for RGS GAT on 5 Jul not 9 Jul (that was for NYGH). I sent email to RGS asking abt status but no reply. So just waiting now ....
My DD classmate oso took the RGS GAT on 5 Jul & she has already rec'd news fm them tink it's last Fri tat she did not get into the 2nd round...Dun noe if it's thru phone call or email...Guess they notify those unsuccessful candidates first....so no news may mean gd news....btw she is fm the mainstream.. -
Not automatic exemption. They have to pay $50 to sit for the first round. If they make it thru, then it will be refunded and camp fee waived. If not, no refund for the $50 fee.[/quote]
So what qualified them for ein club in the first place :? Was it thru NMOS ?[/quote]
-----------------------------------------------------------------
NMOS Special Round -> top 30 students go for Ein Club -
pinky88:
This is a bit unusual as those who shortlisted for this coming 23 July half day selection test will be informed.OrangeJuice:
Thks to everyone who replied, actually i made a typo error, DD sat for RGS GAT on 5 Jul not 9 Jul (that was for NYGH). I sent email to RGS asking abt status but no reply. So just waiting now ....
My DD classmate oso took the RGS GAT on 5 Jul & she has already rec'd news fm them tink it's last Fri tat she did not get into the 2nd round...Dun noe if it's thru phone call or email...Guess they notify those unsuccessful candidates first....so no news may mean gd news....btw she is fm the mainstream..
For this case, it is no news = good news ?
Cheers,
Belle. -
ngbrdad:
Mine keep losing his name tags.
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:TwaTau:
[quote=\"hexagon\"]
Told DS to choose his best uniform (the one with least stains), comb his hair (something foreign to him, go to school looking like a mad scientist every morning...sigh) and sit up straight during the interview (was glad the nagging works, he said he didnt slouch). It also helped that there was a desk in front of them.
You seems to know MY DS well, describing him to the dot! He seems to have sensitive scalp of some sort, no comb is allowed near him! We decided to visit Bibi-Baba during the June school holiday, not to buy the next year's uniform, but to get a new set of his current school uniform, his present set non of which 出得了厅堂.
Current batch is don't know 4th or 5th set since P1 already (comes in set of 3).
Just collected after the June Holidays.
Already lost 1 so far.
Now I'm keeping the other 2 and only give it to him for occasions like interviews etc.
Must keep one for PSLE orals.[/quote] :rotflmao: Maybe that's why some schools have sewn on name tags - cannot lost!!! :rotflmao: -
ngbrdad:
Ok, 700+. The registration number ends at 700+. Also happened to meet a school admin and she informed me this year is more than last year as they received over 700 applications.
Only 700 ?
By my own estimation the afternoon session should have easily 500 liao.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.