DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      ApronMama

Afterall, they shouldn't just state an 85% there just like that. At least for GEPpers, the 75% is standardised, right? But for mainstream, some schools' 85% is not equal to other schools' 85%. So then, it's really not fair to those from more competitive schools whose exam standards are set rather high. So a student from that school with 80% might be at similar standard or even better than a student from a school with lower standard but with 85%.

In any case, can see they just want the GEPpers, lah
      For mainstreamer DSA, school results is not their first cut, else why they need to take GAT? Besides they also look for specialties, such as sport or talent in language or Maths ..etc. School result is just a guide as sec is aware of pri school setting their own exam papers thus standard may be different. You can also attach the school exam result statistic for their reference.

vlim

Given that a lot of parents have shared that hardly any GEPpers apply to DHS, I wonder how many actually end up there.

fyi, there are 2 GEP classes in yr 1 (> 50 pupils)
        it doesn't only include Gep pupils , also include partial mainstream pupils with agg score of >270
        only partial, becos there are also pupils >270 allocated in other classes.
        but, the figure for GEppers who were actually offered CO could def higher than the above.

get to know a gep girl who chooses njc as she prefer mix school then girls' school and she is non-chinese. ๐Ÿ˜„

ngbrdad

Had a chat with DS.

His preferred school is one without girls LOL.
          So looks like RI is still his preferred destination. DWโ€™s too since she was from RJC.
          Since we only get a WL for RI, must still work very hard for PSLE to make sure.
          DS is still very relax in his preparation. That has been his attitude through out primary school anyway. Never seen him under any stress during the 3 years of GEP. Maybe that explains his results. Sigh.
          So for NJC DSA results itโ€™s que sera sera.

suecat

ngbrdad:
            Had a chat with DS.

So looks like RI is still his preferred destination. DW's too since she was from RJC.
            DS is still very relax in his preparation. That has been his attitude through out primary school anyway. Never seen him under any stress during the 3 years of GEP. Maybe that explains his results. Sigh.
            So for NJC DSA results it's que sera sera.
            After all the excitement of waiting and going down to open the mailbox umpteen times, it s really a big disappointment to hear abt the rejected not getting notified on the same date as those who were successful. But remembered 1 parent from the year before said that her ds s classmates received co, wl and rejects all on the same day. If only njc informed us that they will send out successful letters 1st then it can at least spare us the agony and waiting . This weekend is ESP a long one and dd only applied for this school as it s her dream school for the longest time .
            She didn't do very well for her prelims so was banging on her to get through this dsa so that we don't get heart attack after psle result. But alas , it was not to be ..... :gloomy: ๐Ÿ˜ข

Funx3

CSN:

Hi pen88n, believe our postal delay will not be this long. Many thanks for your well wishes too. My DS is one of those who take things, incl exams very lightly. Hope the unsuccessful DSAs gave him a very clear message that he cannot bochap anymore. Am praying that he can see the \"light\" now. GB
              Let's Hope it is Postal Delay, For Too Many Holidays this Week ....
              In the Event tt it's Not, just keep encouraging your boy to work his hardest. I'm Sure With his Strength in 3 Subj, he Still Got a Good Chance to get into a Good Sec Sch.

JiaYou!

Funx3

suecat:
                ngbrdad:

Had a chat with DS.

So looks like RI is still his preferred destination. DW's too since she was from RJC.

After all the excitement of waiting and going down to open the mailbox umpteen times, it s really a big disappointment to hear abt the rejected not getting notified on the same date as those who were successful. But remembered 1 parent from the year before said that her ds s classmates received co, wl and rejects all on the same day. If only njc informed us that they will send out successful letters 1st then it can at least spare us the agony and waiting . This weekend is ESP a long one and dd only applied for this school as it s her dream school for the longest time .
                She didn't do very well for her prelims so was banging on her to get through this dsa so that we don't get heart attack after psle result. But alas , it was not to be ..... :gloomy: ๐Ÿ˜ข

Hi suecat, ngbrdad,
                Just Keep your Spirit up and Encourage your Kids to Put in their Best for PSLE ....
                Am Sure tt they Will Be able to get Good PSLE Results to get into a Good Sec Sch of their Choice.

Jiayou!

iFirefly

ngbrdad:
                  Had a chat with DS.

hi ngbrdad, glad to hear that your DS' 1st choice is still RI.. then, to RI he shall go next year (you must have faith in your DS)! my DS also prefers a school without girls (maybe coz his current school is also an all-boys school). actually i also prefer my DS to attend an all-boys school as this mummy here is quite possessive and doesn't want to share her DS with another female so soon leh! :oops:

iFirefly

ngbrdad:
                    hipomum:

That being said, we will have to wait till Monday.... BTW, since MOE guidelines stated that all should be notified by 2 Sep, does that also mean that we have to feedback to NJC and see what the school has to say about not adhering to rules?

They can easily shift the blame to the postal service.

ya lor, so typical of our 'garment'... ๐Ÿฆ† :siam:

Funx3

firefly38:

hi ngbrdad, glad to hear that your DS' 1st choice is still RI.. then, to RI he shall go next year (you must have faith in your DS)! my DS also prefers a school without girls (maybe coz his current school is also an all-boys school). actually i also prefer my DS to attend an all-boys school as this mummy here is quite possessive and doesn't want to share her DS with another female so soon leh! :oops:
                      Ha Ha ....
                      But My Gal is OK be it Mixed or ALL Gal's Sch.
                      In Fact I Think She learn how to handle being Around Mischievious Boys by being in a Mixed Pri Sch.
                      Coz the Form T always placed the Most Mischievious / Talkative Boy to Seat Beside her Many a Times ....
                      Guess She Got a Way to Freeze them up Quite Effectively :roll: :roll:

iFirefly

firefly38:

Ha Ha ....
                        But My Gal is OK be it Mixed or ALL Gal's Sch.
                        In Fact I Think She learn how to handle being Around Mischievious Boys by being in a Mixed Pri Sch.
                        Coz the Form T always placed the Most Mischievious / Talkative Boy to Seat Beside her Many a Times ....
                        Guess She Got a Way to Freeze them up Quite Effectively :roll: :roll:

my DS was from a mixed school near my neighbourhood from p1-p3 but he was transferred to his current all-boys school from p4 onwards due to GEP. he used to be rather popular amongst the girls in his previous school, as he is considered quite smart and cute-looking (in their eyes), so-called like a korean actor but till now i still dono who :scratchhead:

but after he joins his current all-boys school, somehow he becomes quite shy with girls and even specifies that he will only attend all-boys sec school. that's why he only applied DSA for RI & HCI.

maybe your gal can help \"unfreeze\" my DS1, who is rather shy.. and \"freeze\" my DS2, who just cant stop talking for one second! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 1 / 919